Yesterday on MtGCardsmith, Arena. Yestermonth on MTGO.

Sol Ring should be banned. Bite me.

Please login to comment

U just got fockin' schooled, m8. Hoisted by your own petard.

Burn spells are granted lifelink by Radiant Scrollwielder's static ability. As long as it's not on the battlefield, those spells don't have lifelink. It only matters as the spell resolves, and what you controlled as you cast it first doesn't matter.

Conversely, if you had a creature that read "Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, it gains lifelink", then cast Earthquake, your opponent would need to counter that triggered ability (or the spell of course) as opposed to removing the creature with that triggered ability.

May 26, 2022 6:59 p.m.

They're both triggered abilities that trigger at the same time. If you control both Tergrid and Planar Void, you control both triggers and can order them as you wish.

May 26, 2022 8:27 a.m.

Your opponent can perform actions before or after the card from your graveyard has moved to the stack. If you announce that you're casting a Brainstorm from your graveyard, your opponent can't destroy Lier in response before you get a chance to do so.

If the spell cast from the graveyard is on the stack, it'll continue to resolve even if Lier is removed. It won't go away just because the source of the ability to cast that spell has been removed; it's already been cast.

May 25, 2022 11:15 a.m.

Said on If a creature …...

#4

Okay mate, fair enough.

May 22, 2022 9:24 p.m.

Said on If a creature …...

#5

Triggered abilities always use when/whenever/at. The hypothetical creature in my question has a replacement effect, like Draugr Necromancer.

As Delphen7 pointed out, if something would be exiled until a second something (like Lumbering Battlement) leaves the battlefield, but the second thing that would do the exiling leaves the battlefield before its trigger resolves, then the first thing doesn't leave the battlefield at all, even for a flicker.

Which is why I would expect that only the hypothetical creature would die, because it would replace the destruction of the other creatures with an "exile until CARDNAME leaves the battlefield" that doesn't work because the hypothetical creature would already be gone?

In regular Magic, I don't know that there's actually any way to actually make the source of the "exile until" leave at the actual same time that it would apply to the thing that it'd exile.

I did a rudimentary search but haven't found anything that uses "exile until" as a replacement effect. It's not impossible that the rules don't properly cover this because it's something that can't currently actually happen.

May 22, 2022 8:54 p.m.

Said on If a creature …...

#6

I'm not sure that there are real cards that can produce this situation.

A creature called has the text "If another creature would die, instead exile until this creature leaves the battlefield."

Somebody casts Damnation.

Does only the first creature die?

May 22, 2022 9:12 a.m.

Yes. Galvanic Iteration and similar spells won't grant their benefits to the next spell cast unless the Galvanic Iteration-esque spell finished resolving. If you cast another spell while Galvanic Iteration is on the stack, that new spell will resolve as normal, then Galvanic Iteration will resolve, and then the next instant or sorcery spell you cast this turn will get copied.

May 22, 2022 5:09 a.m.

Said on How does Kestia …...

#8

There are plenty of examples of both cases, but in this case it's four separate triggers. If you're only copying one trigger, you'd only get to draw 1 extra card.

Kestia is worded "Whenever an enchanted creature ...", which means that it triggers individually per attacking creature. Some cards are worded like Ancestor Dragon (whenever one or more creatures you control attack/whenever you attack with one or more creatures) and trigger only once, but still gain the benefit from the number of attacking creatures.

May 20, 2022 8:04 p.m.

The front side won't matter because it didn't represent the creature on the battlefield. If you chose to exile the card, whether it's a creature card or not, you'll get a 1/1 Nightmare with no name, no colors, no mana cost, and no abilities.

Edit: However that token will be face-up, in case it should matter for something like Ixidron.

May 20, 2022 6:15 p.m. Edited.

You got it, gurl!

May 19, 2022 1:12 p.m.

No worries!

And yep, they'll still have to discard and sac a land.

I was just recently looking to animate enchantments for a janky Falco Saga deck. Unfortunately, options for animating enchantments are quite limited. There's also Dance of the Manse and Starfield of Nyx, but that's pretty much it unless you want to dip into turning them into artifacts and then animating them as artifacts. It's an extra step but there are a chunk of extra options.

May 19, 2022 12:11 p.m. Edited.

Haha, that's wonky. I love it.

Yes, Assault Suit will prevent the Vortex from being sacrificed for any reason. However, this doesn't force your opponent to pay the cumulative upkeep cost. For the resolution of the cumulative upkeep ability, a player can choose to not pay the cost, then will attempt and fail to sacrifice the Psychic Vortex, then move on with their life.

Notably though, cumulative upkeep is a trigger that triggers at the beginning of its controller's upkeep, and Assault Suit triggers at the same time. So if you're planning on donating the Psychic Vortex to an opponent for their turn with Assault Suit, they will only gain control of the equipped creature after their 'beginning of your upkeep' triggers have already triggered. They won't get a chance to use Psychic Vortex to draw cards that turn.

May 19, 2022 7:05 a.m.

That's correct.

Noteworthy though is that while "Food token" seems to be evergreen ATM (that is to say, something can just say "Create a Food token", and it intrinsically means create a Food), those rules aren't dependant on the permanent actually being a Food once it's on the battlefield. So if Gingerbrute (or a regular Food token) stops being an artifact, it loses its Food subtyping, but you will still be able to sacrifice it to its own ability to gain 3 life.

May 19, 2022 6:42 a.m. Edited.

Seems like the answer would be obviously no, but I wanna double check.

If a Glowering Rogon of mine dies while I control a Myrkul, and it returns as a noncreature enchantment, can I reveal anything as it enters?

May 18, 2022 7:09 a.m.

Said on Is mana spent …...

#15

Thanks. Thought I was going mad for a moment.

May 16, 2022 1:56 p.m.

Oh jeez, I just realised that I completely misunderstood what you were trying to do.

Yes, if you are constantly flickering your own The Beamtown Bullies as part of a Worldgorger Dragon combo, you can respond to the Woldgorger exile trigger to tap Beamtown Bullies to reanimate a Bronze Bombshell under you opponent's control. Your opponent will be made to sacrifice the Bombshell before your Worldgorger flickers everything again, and then you can rinse and repeat this.

In-colour for Beamtown Bullies as a commander, you could do this with Emergence Zone, Necromancy, Vedalken Orrery, or Vernal Equinox.

May 16, 2022 9:18 a.m. Edited.

That works. You control both abilities, and they both trigger at the same time so you get to choose in which order they are put onto the stack and resolve. You can choose to have Druid of Purification return to your hand (and forgo the blitz card draw) or you can choose to sacrifice it first.

May 16, 2022 7:40 a.m.

I'm afraid there are many issues here even if you control something like Leyline of Anticipation.

You can't reanimate a creature under an opponent's control with Animate Dead.

If your opponent cast Gather Specimens that turn, the Worldgorger Dragon reanimated with your Animate Dead would enter under their control and they'd be obliged to exile their other permanents, but they don't control Animate Dead so it wouldn't be exiled.

So unless your opponent both owns and controls the Animate Dead, the combo doesn't work. But also, as long as your opponent owns and controls the Animate Dead, they always get the choice of which card in a graveyard that it enters the battlefield enchanting. As long as there's at least one other creature card in a graveyard, they'll have the option to not loop Worldgorger.

Worldgorger returns the exiled permanents to the battlefield under their owner's control. As long as you own Bronze Bombshell, it'll return to the battlefield under you control and not trigger again. Unless that opponent cast Gather Specimens again.

The controller of a permanent is the controller of its triggered abilities on the stack. As long as your opponent controls all triggers being put onto the stack simultaneously, they get to choose the order they enter the stack, and so could sacrifice Bronze Bombshell before exiling it to Worldgorger trigger. (I'd actually like somebody else to confirm whether this part is true; do state-based triggers of permanents you control that enter the battlefield at the same time as another permanent with an ETB trigger both trigger at the same time? I think so but am not 100%.)

Finally, Bronze Bombshell will only deal damage to its controller if it is sacrificed. If it's exiled and returned to the battlefield in response to its trigger, it'll trigger again and eventually sacrifice when you stop exiling it, but all the other Bombshell triggers will resolve to do nothing since its controller can't sacrifice the source of that ability.

May 16, 2022 7:32 a.m.

Sorry, I don't understand. Who owns and who controls the Bronze Bombshell? If you both own and control it, which is the only way you could constantly flicker it with Animate Dead & Worldgorger Dragon, its ability won't trigger at all.

May 15, 2022 7:10 p.m.

Said on Is mana spent …...

#20

I control a Vazi, Keen Negotiator. My opponent controls an Omniscience and casts Into the Roil without paying its mana cost, kicked by sacrificing two Treasures and paying that mana only on the kicked cost.

Does Vazi's ability trigger?

May 15, 2022 7:02 p.m.

Specialties

Casual - Naga, Unformat - Just a second, Commander / EDH - Rabbit

Decks

In edgeways.

Commander / EDH* Yesterday

SCORE: 3 | 2 COMMENTS | 288 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Fuck my life.

Commander / EDH* Yesterday

SCORE: 8 | 4 COMMENTS | 457 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Drawing the short straw.

Commander / EDH Yesterday

18 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Finished Decks 293
Prototype Decks 227
Drafts 0
Playing since Journey into Nyx
Points 2538
Avg. deck rating 3.65
T/O Rank 12
Helper Rank 134
Favorite formats Pre-release, Commander / EDH
Suppressed formats Standard
Cards suggested / good suggestions 55 / 43
Venues Gamer's World
Cards Added/Fixed 51
Last activity 2 days
Joined 6 years
MTGO Username Yestermonth