Darksteel Plate

Darksteel Plate

Artifact — Equipment

Darksteel Plate is indestructible.

Equipped creature is indestructible.

Equip

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (2) gildan_bladeborn , Azdranax
Want (7) PooChooTrain , Wingstar22 , rmurda , cubedchristian , Combatmunkee , Grenchorne , Kroxloq

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Duel Decks: Elves vs. Inventors (DDU) None
Mirrodin Besieged (MBS) Rare
Mirrodin Besieged: Mirran (MBM) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Darksteel Plate occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.06%

White: 0.56%

Red: 0.27%

Black: 0.2%

Darksteel Plate Discussion

Monomanamaniac on Balan and instant speed equipment

1 day ago

So I have Balan, Wandering Knight in my command zone and 6 mana. I cast the commander and opponent goes to interrupt by countering my commander. In response I activate Balan, giving him Swiftfoot Boots and Darksteel Plate. My thoughts are that those get equipped and whatever counter or destroy target effect just fizzles. The part I'm confused on is can I activate his ability while I'm casting him and can an equipment be placed on a creature while it is essentially still a spell

griffstick on Atraxa "pandemic" themed deck

3 days ago

Throw in Darksteel Plate while you're at it.

Profet93 on High Risk, Higher Reward (Needs Help!)

1 week ago

With regards to cuts, you can cut more than I'm recommending, but I figure I'd start it off

Seeker of Skybreak - Does nothing by itself

Skyshroud Ranger - Bad without lands

Spearbreaker Behemoth - Doesnt stop sac, exile, board wipes for your elves, etc... It's nice to give your commander indestructible, but I would rather just have Darksteel Plate

Sylvan Messenger - Eh, I just don't personally like it. Can whif, put important cards away, only hits elves. Just an eh card for me

Taunting Elf - Bad

Uktabi Wildcats - Even worse

xaarvaxus on Bestest boy Voltron

1 month ago

No Pir, Imaginative Rascal? I know you don't get 100% value because you can't include Toothy but more +1/+1 triggers seem good.

After spending so many resources building up tokens on your creatures, I think some more protective spells, especially instant speed ones like Heroic Intervention and Blossoming Defense could be good includes because Plow effects will not care about the stuff that grants indestructible that you've built in plus its nice to have instant speed backup in case someone hits your Darksteel Plate with Krosan Grip or the like.

The Spikes work well with your commander as well, especially Spike Feeder and Spike Weaver. Fertilid adds some extra ramp.

dingusdingo on Shadowspear & Darksteel plate interaction ...

1 month ago

Yeah if we reeeeeeeeally want to dive into it

  • 613 Interaction of Continuous Effects
  • 613.1. The values of an object’s characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object. For a card, that means the values of the characteristics printed on that card. For a token or a copy of a spell or card, that means the values of the characteristics defined by the effect that created it. Then all applicable continuous effects are applied in a series of layers in the following order:
  • 613.1a Layer 1: Copy effects are applied. See rule 706, “Copying Objects.”
  • 613.1b Layer 2: Control-changing effects are applied.
  • 613.1c Layer 3: Text-changing effects are applied. See rule 612, “Text-Changing Effects.”
  • 613.1d Layer 4: Type-changing effects are applied. These include effects that change an object’s card type, subtype, and/or supertype.
  • 613.1e Layer 5: Color-changing effects are applied.
  • 613.1f Layer 6: Ability-adding effects, ability-removing effects, and effects that say an object can’t have an ability are applied.
  • 613.1g Layer 7: Power- and/or toughness-changing effects are applied.

Specifically

Both effects are handling indestructible, which is handled at layer 6

  • 613.1f Layer 6: Ability-adding effects, ability-removing effects, and effects that say an object can’t have an ability are applied.

And the further relevant rules

  • 613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with a later timestamp.
  • 613.6a A continuous effect generated by a static ability has the same timestamp as the object the static ability is on, or the timestamp of the effect that created the ability, whichever is later.
  • 613.6b A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability receives a timestamp at the time it’s created.
  • 613.6c An object receives a timestamp at the time it enters a zone.
  • 613.6d An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification receives a new timestamp at the time it becomes attached to an object or player.
  • 613.6e A permanent receives a new timestamp at the time it turns face up or face down.
  • 613.6f A double-faced permanent receives a new timestamp at the time it transforms.
  • 613.6g A face-up plane card, phenomenon card, or scheme card receives a timestamp at the time it’s turned face up.
  • 613.6h A face-up vanguard card receives a timestamp at the beginning of the game.
  • 613.6i A conspiracy card receives a timestamp at the beginning of the game. If it’s face down, it receives a new timestamp at the time it turns face up.
  • 613.6j If two or more objects would receive a timestamp simultaneously, such as by entering a zone simultaneously or becoming attached simultaneously, the active player determines their relative timestamp order at that time.

FURTHER specifically

  • 613.6d An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification receives a new timestamp at the time it becomes attached to an object or player.

  • 613.6b A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability receives a timestamp at the time it’s created.

And one more rule to clarify it all

  • 613.8. One continuous effect can override another. Sometimes the results of one effect determine whether another effect applies or what another effect does.
  • Example: Two effects are affecting the same creature: one from an Aura that says “Enchanted creature has flying” and one from an Aura that says “Enchanted creature loses flying.” Neither of these depends on the other, since nothing changes what they affect or what they’re doing to it. Applying them in timestamp order means the one that was generated last “wins.” The same process would be followed, and the same result reached, if either of the effects had a duration (such as “Target creature loses flying until end of turn”) or came from a non-Aura source (such as “All creatures lose flying”).
  • Example: One effect reads, “White creatures get +1/+1,” and another reads, “Enchanted creature is white.” The enchanted creature gets +1/+1 from the first effect, regardless of its previous color.

Tying it all together

Granting indestructible from Darksteel Plate is happening on Layer 6. Removing indestructible from Shadowspear is also happening on Layer 6. The static ability of Indestructible is granted to the creature with a timestamp of when the equipment was equipped. The timestamp of the removal of the static ability Indestructible is granted when the ability of Shadowspear is activated. If the Darksteel Plate was already equipped before the Shadowspear activation, Indestructible will be removed from the permanent. If you are able to equip the Plate AFTER the activation (say from something like Brass Squire), then Indestructible will be granted to the creature. Do note that your opponent could then simply activate Shadowspear again to apply a more recent timestamp and remove the Indestructible.

TL;DR

Most recently done thingy is correct. If you equip after the shadowspear active, you have indestructible. If you activate shadowspear after equip, you don't have indestructible.

dingusdingo on Shadowspear & Darksteel plate interaction ...

1 month ago

Howdy partner. We have an entire section of the website dedicated to rules interaction questions. In the future please utilize this section of tappedout for rules questions.

https://tappedout.net/mtg-questions/

Let's look at the rules. You can gloss over this part, but I linked the entire static abilities section for your convenience.

  • 604 Handling Static Abilities
  • 604.1. Static abilities do something all the time rather than being activated or triggered. They are written as statements, and they’re simply true.
  • 604.2. Static abilities create continuous effects, some of which are prevention effects or replacement effects. These effects are active as long as the permanent with the ability remains on the battlefield and has the ability, or as long as the object with the ability remains in the appropriate zone, as described in rule 113.6.
  • 604.3. Some static abilities are characteristic-defining abilities. A characteristic-defining ability conveys information about an object’s characteristics that would normally be found elsewhere on that object (such as in its mana cost, type line, or power/toughness box) or overrides information found elsewhere on that object. Characteristic-defining abilities function in all zones. They also function outside the game.
  • 604.3a A static ability is a characteristic-defining ability if it meets the following criteria: (1) It defines an object’s colors, subtypes, power, or toughness; (2) it is printed on the card it affects, it was granted to the token it affects by the effect that created the token, or it was acquired by the object it affects as the result of a copy effect or text-changing effect; (3) it does not directly affect the characteristics of any other objects; (4) it is not an ability that an object grants to itself; and (5) it does not set the values of such characteristics only if certain conditions are met.
  • 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.
  • 604.5. Some static abilities apply while a spell is on the stack. These are often abilities that refer to countering the spell. Also, abilities that say “As an additional cost to cast . . . ,” “You may pay [cost] rather than pay [this object]’s mana cost,” and “You may cast [this object] without paying its mana cost” work while a spell is on the stack.
  • 604.6. Some static abilities apply while a card is in any zone that you could cast or play it from (usually your hand). These are limited to those that read, “You may [cast/play] [this card] . . . ,” “You can’t [cast/play] [this card] . . . ,” and “[Cast/Play] [this card] only . . . .”
  • 604.7. Unlike spells and other kinds of abilities, static abilities can’t use an object’s last known information for purposes of determining how their effects are applied.

The rule that most interests us is:

  • 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.

Particularly, look at

Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to

The Darksteel Plate is granting the static ability of indestructible to the creature it is equipped to. Notice on the wording for Darksteel that it says "Equipped creature has indestructible". Indestructible is a static ability granted to the creature object.

When an opponent activates Shadowspear, your Plate will lose indestructible, and the creature it is equipped to will also lose indestructible.

Grahamatica on Shadowspear & Darksteel plate interaction ...

1 month ago

Say I have a creature that has Darksteel Plate equipped. An opponent has Shadowspear and then activates the second ability to remove hexproof and indestructible from my permanents. I know it will remove it from the Darksteel plate but will it remove indestructible from the creature I control since the Darksteel plate is giving the creature the ability as a constant/static effect?

Azeworai on Alesha 2.0

1 month ago

Ah, a beloved commander of most. I myself toiled with a list for quite some time, so I have some recommendations, as well as menial ones.

For the ones unrelated to the deck, you have a typo of "probably" in the deck description, as "probaly." I merely point this out. My other note on formatting is that you may add a space to category titles. A athwart to "SacOutlet," try "Sac_Outlet." You also have two Karmic Guides, and Magus of the Wheels. And Ravenous Chupacabra. And Yawgmoth, Thran Physician... How did you do that?

As for the decklist, there are some cards in profuse I would at least try.

Protector of the Crown allows for many politics and defense, warding off much attacking due to the high toughness. Paired with cards such as Darksteel Plate, it can be difficult for some decks to interact with.

For looting/rummaging, Anje Falkenrath, Deal Broker, and Smuggler's Copter are all fantastic. True delectation to meticulously sculpt a perfect hand.

False Prophet is awesome. It comes back, with your profusion of sacrifice outlets is easily controllable, and leaves your board-state in the graveyard to inevitably return.

I don't much enjoy spells such as Thrill of Possibility or Cathartic Reunion, for they require cards in hand to do anything. If you don't have any, they are a horrible top-deck. I'd recommend Ransack the Lab in their lieu.

Selfless Spirit. I shall say no more.

Having additional reanimation outside of your commander is a cruciality above most. When Alesha starts costing, five, even seven mana, it's difficult for this deck to get back on its feet. Dread Return and Unburial Rites are great, even if they are to be milled over. Animate Dead is just powerful, Restoration Specialist pulls her weight, and Phyrexian Reclamation often keeps the deck going by itself. Lastly, Sun Titan is ridiculous. It recurs what is a necessity, does so immediately, can be cheated out with a reanimation spell. It is the best backup commander one could ask for. Best off, it does go infinite with Gift of Immortality and effects such as Goblin Bombardment. Bye-bye table.

Now, gaining life is important, and Gray Merchant of Asphodel is splendid.

With rummaging effects, self-mill becomes easy with Dredge cards. Stinkweed Imp and Golgari Thug are both lovely. One self-mill effect I've enjoyed is Shard of Broken Glass. A 4/2 first strike is difficult to block prosperously.

Categories and cards to consider ablating:

You have seven sacrifice outlets, most of which are easily brought back, but they don't stack well, whereat multiple in one given game are typically useless. Of these, Blood Bairn seems the most lacking. If you aren't to fain to cut one, you should know that Bloodthrone Vampire exists.

Black Market is a VERY slow card. It's five mana, doesn't do anything immediately, and requires additional stuff to happen to make it function. I don't enjoy it too much, but your choice.

Ravenous Bloodseeker has you discard a card without replacing it. Games of commander require cards in hand to proceed, and, as such, I don't believe this to be very powerful.

You have a lot of removal. A Lot. Whilst they are all great, I have a gripe with but one. Utter End is four mana to kill one thing. Sure it's an instant and sure it's exile, but it's a lot of mana. If you want to keep all of the removal, I'd at least try other options. Despark is fine, Chaos Warp hits all permanents with a cheaper cast, and Generous Gift is arguably more prominent than Vindicate.

If you would pardon the long comment, that is all of my input. Have a lovely day and happy reanimating!

Load more