|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
Combos Browse all
- Are cards in exile (suspend), considered permanents?
- Can you activate a creatures ability with no actual target?
- Can instant-speed sacrifice effects be used on creatures that enter the battlefield with 0 toughness?
- Does paying a card's cost to activate an ability resolve before the stack is triggered?
Creature — Vampire Shaman
Sacrifice Vampire Hexmage: Remove all counters from target permanent.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (10)||ironax , ericalt91 , Lucretian , sonnet666 , raymaverick97 , saj0219 , Crimson6 , Swamy , MoJoMiXuP , abby315|
Vampire Hexmage Discussion
10 hours ago
Anointed Procession Doubles your token creation.
Vampire Hexmage kills +1/+1 strategies and planeswalkers outright and since the deck has white it can be blink'd.
Any of the Sorins work.
Falkenrath Noble goes crazy, forget the humans, indestructible flying is still a terror.
Stensia Masquerade is a cool enchantment and a terrifying one if you get a lot of flyers.
Vampire Nocturnus for actual flyers.
That's about it for ideas that i currently have, i will buy this one as well.
1 week ago
I like the commander, love the vampire theme. I just don't understand how the deck is supposed to win in a multiplayer format. Ultimately this all comes down to your playgroup and how competitive the deck is, what the meta is, all that good stuff. Most vampire decks to date have done Exquisite Blood + Sanguine Bond / Defiant Bloodlord. Or stealing opponents stuff with Olivia Voldaren in the late game. Or even Vampire Hexmage + Dark Depths. In my experience, very rarely are you going to be able to overwhelm all of your opponents with vampires that have had time to grow and get fat. Heavy creature decks that also generate tokens are huge Wrath of God magnets.
You may want to consider some more removal if you plan on keeping the win condition brute force: Merciless Eviction, Austere Command, Tempest of Light, Utter End, Oblation, Red Elemental Blast, Grave Pact, whatever. Otherwise, you fall victim to a huge variety of defensive measures: Propaganda, Ghostly Prison, Sphere of Safety, Copy Enchantment, Moat, Crawlspace, Avacyn, Angel of Hope, No Mercy, Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite, etc.
Finally, it's hard for me to say what I would cut without knowing your meta, but I'll give it a go: Confusion in the Ranks, Harsh Mercy, Insolent Neonate, Olivia, Mobilized for War, Attrition, Urge to Feed. These cards are either too finite, or have circumstantial value. Other than that, I challenge you to look at your creature base, I know you want to get a lot of value out of Edgar Markov but the creatures themselves need to bring a lot to the table too.
1 month ago
Hapatra's Mark, Vizier of Remedies, Vampire Hexmage are a few options. Anything with Undying will not be able to die permanently if you have -1/-1 counters on it. But you might just be better off beating him/her before they can put any counters of any kind on your creatures, or by using Cancel and the like to prevent those spells from resolving.
1 month ago
I love the deck, Ayli is awesome.Have you considered Oketra's Last Mercy as a means for regaining what you use for card draw shenanigans? Drop real low, then swing back? Also, Athreos, God of Passage do anything for you? I would remove Authority of the Consuls to make room for itVampire Hexmage is hilarious for planeswalkers.
1 month ago
1 month ago
1 month ago
In the case of World Queller you can respond to the sac as it is taken as a resolution of an ability. In other words, your opponent activates the ability of World Queller and from there priority passes to you and you are able to respond to the sac trigger. If the sac happens via something like Vampire Hexmage as part of a cost then you would not hold priority as the ability resolves.
Essentially think of the stack like this: your opponent activates the ability of World Queller, priority then passes to you, here you may chose to flicker, if you don't the ability resolves and you must chose a permanent to sac, because World Queller doesn't target Eerie Interlude is a good work around to it.
With Vampire Hexmage you sac as a cost and once you activate the ability you no longer have priority and if your opponent passes priority the ability resolves without giving you the option to respond.
I have attached the comprehensive rules on priority below:
- Timing and Priority
116.1. Unless a spell or ability is instructing a player to take an action, which player can take actions at any given time is determined by a system of priority. The player with priority may cast spells, activate abilities, and take special actions.
116.1a A player may cast an instant spell any time he or she has priority. A player may cast a noninstant spell during his or her main phase any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty.
116.1b A player may activate an activated ability any time he or she has priority.
116.1c A player may take some special actions any time he or she has priority. A player may take other special actions during his or her main phase any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty. See rule 115, Special Actions.
116.1d A player may activate a mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment (even in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability).
116.2. Other kinds of abilities and actions are automatically generated or performed by the game rules, or are performed by players without receiving priority.
116.2a Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including while a spell is being cast, an ability is being activated, or a spell or ability is resolving. (See rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities.) However, nothing actually happens at the time an ability triggers. Each time a player would receive priority, each ability that has triggered but hasnt yet been put on the stack is put on the stack. See rule 116.5.
116.2b Static abilities continuously affect the game. Priority doesnt apply to them. (See rule 604, Handling Static Abilities, and rule 611, Continuous Effects.)
116.2c Turn-based actions happen automatically when certain steps or phases begin. Theyre dealt with before a player would receive priority. See rule
116.3a. Turn-based actions also happen automatically when each step and phase ends; no player receives priority afterward. See rule 703, Turn-Based Actions.
116.2d State-based actions happen automatically when certain conditions are met. See rule 704. Theyre dealt with before a player would receive priority. See rule 116.5.
116.2e Resolving spells and abilities may instruct players to make choices or take actions, or may allow players to activate mana abilities. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving. See rule 608, Resolving Spells and Abilities.
116.3. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules:
116.3a The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases, after any turn-based actions (such as drawing a card during the draw step; see rule 703) have been dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step have been put on the stack. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually dont get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 514.3).
116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.
116.3c If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.
116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that players mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.
116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.
116.5. Each time a player would get priority, the game first performs all applicable state-based actions as a single event (see rule 704, State-Based Actions), then repeats this process until no state-based actions are performed. Then triggered abilities are put on the stack (see rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities). These steps repeat in order until no further state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the player who would have received priority does so.
116.6. In a multiplayer game using the shared team turns option, teams rather than individual players have priority. See rule 805, Shared Team Turns Option.
116.7. If a player with priority casts a spell or activates an activated ability while another spell or ability is already on the stack, the new spell or ability has been cast or activated in response to the earlier spell or ability. The new spell or ability will resolve first. See rule 608, Resolving Spells and Abilities.