Diregraf Colossus

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Heirloom Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Casual Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Shadows over Innistrad (SOI) Rare

Combos Browse all

Tokens

Diregraf Colossus

Creature — Zombie Giant

Diregraf Colossus enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each Zombie card in your graveyard.

Whenever you cast a Zombie spell, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

SOI

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Diregraf Colossus Discussion

Funkydiscogod on modern mono black zombies

4 days ago

What's your opinion on Nameless Inversion?

I can kill most of the same things Lightning Bolt can kill. It's more expensive, but Undead Warchief makes it cheaper, and Lord of the Undead can pull it back from the graveyard to your hand, and Diregraf Colossus will recognize it as a zombie spell. I guess in a pinch, it can be used to pump one of your dudes.

dlaxw7 on [[Primer]]-God of the Rising FULL Moon! Butts Up!!

4 days ago

I know it seems a little underwhelming, but have you considered Sedraxis Alchemist? It combos really nicely with Rooftop Storm to give you infinite casts in a turn, exploiting Diregraf Colossus and Altar of the Brood, and can help you bounce obnoxious enchantments in a pinch (Rest in Peace and Leyline of the Void come to mind). With the amount of counter magic you're running it could be a pretty reliable enchantment removal tool. Plus, if it happens to wind up in your graveyard you can hit it with The Scarab God at instant speed.

redknight44 on mono black zombies

5 days ago

I like all of those options. The only things I don't have much use for would be Zombie Apocalypse (none of my friends use humans), and Zombie Master (Regeneration doesn't appeal to me, I may in fact want some in the graveyard for synergy with other cards).

Diregraf Colossus would be a great option, to have a high power / toughness guy out there, and I like the low mana cost on him, as well as creating 2/2 zombies. The problem is, this deck is already pretty fast as it is, so I don't have a good opportunity to get a lot of zombies into the graveyard. Any black (or colorless) sorceries / instants / enchantments that allow me to throw away a lot of cards?

krestofu on mono black zombies

5 days ago

Hmmm... how about x2 Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx to ramp into an Army of the Damned? Honestly you could drop 2 swamps and 1 other thing. Also from my experience, Curse of Shallow Graves has been amazing. I run 4 in my old zombie deck and it did some serious work with Attrition on the field. I also run Liliana's Reaver and theres good synergy with Attrition there too (Gravecrawler and Attrition is good too).

As for Stromgald Crusader, he could actually be a good finisher for your deck if you run Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx. Give him flying and then just jump over your opponent's stuff and hit for a bunch because you've got all that sweet devotion mana.

Noxious Ghoul is a beast too, if you run Endless Ranks of the Dead, he wrecks the board every turn.

Other fun zombie cards... Zombie Apocalypse, Corpse Harvester, Diregraf Colossus, and Zombie Master.

Rev_Lycan60 on Zombie Deck Lord

1 week ago

I considered mono-black to use Dark Ritual, but from what I am seeing there seems to be a direction toward Diregraf Captain and Undead Warchief.

Gravecrawler and Diregraf Colossus were the only zombies so far.

Zhorus_The_Bauqret on hardhitta71194

2 weeks ago

I'm willing to trade the 3 Diregraf Colossus's for 1 Inquisition of Kozilek. Just let me know what set it's from.

Neotrup on I have a card: Diregraf ...

3 weeks ago

Because Diregraf Colossus triggers on cast you definitely get the zombie token before Sidisi, Undead Vizier resolves. If they both triggered on the creature entering rather than being cast you would get to stack the triggers in either order, so you could stack them such that you got the token before sacrificing a creature anyways.

mox40 on I have a card: Diregraf ...

3 weeks ago

Unsure of whether this token would trigger before Sidisi, Undead Vizier reaches the battlefield (allowing exploit to occur). I would think it does because of the way Diregraf Colossus is phrased. Utilizing the word "cast" instead of it being a triggered ETB effect. Clarification of ruling and my general understanding greatly appreciated.

Load more