|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Magic 2015 (M15)||Common|
|Dark Ascension (DKA)||Common|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Zombie Cat
When Black Cat dies, target opponent discards a card at random.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (8)||ironax , Fiolek , Yawkcorb , corys , nakni , XxCataclysmiCxX , NorthernCrow , n8dm|
|Want (4)||aessen , DracoIris , mini_tb , named.theorem|
Black Cat Discussion
5 days ago
for starters you could cut down on creatures like: Aether Poisoner, Child of Night, Daggerdrome Imp, Deathgaze Cockatrice, Farbog Revenant, Feral Abomination, Fetid Imp, Flensermite, Giant Scorpion, Hand of Silumgar, Hired Poisoner, Markov Patrician, Maze Abomination, Moonglove Changeling, Moonglove Winnower, Nirkana Assassin, Queen's Agent, Rancid Rats, Ruin Rat, Scrounger of Souls, Sidisi's Pet, Skittering Heartstopper Vampire Champion and replace others for: Black Cat, Burglar Rat, Cadaver Imp, Liliana's Specter, Ravenous Rats, Twisted Abomination, Gurmag Angler but would compite with Shambling Attendants for the gy. some usefuls spells you might replace or add cound be: Blessing of Leeches, Sadistic Glee, Soul Channeling, Ashes to Ashes, Evincar's Justice, Shred Memory, Dark Bargain, maybe Crypt Incursion. im out of ideas for cards, for now, and you could add more artifact ramp or artifact that can be creatures like Guardian Idol, Wayfarer's Bauble is in every deck i play, Relic of Progenitus and Nihil Spellbomb are always good gy hate.
1 month ago
Looks pretty good.
A few thoughts on updating it:
Swap out Diabolic Tutor for Mastermind's Acquisition.
I almost always run 1-2xBojuka Bog/Scavenger Grounds in pretty much all my decks; since you're filling up your opponent's graveyards, it's probably an extra good idea here. At 23 lands, if you ran 1x, you could swap it out for Haunting Echoes if you're worried about those cards conflicting - I think your mana-base would still be stable. 1xBuried Ruin might also be useful. Other less-great lands worth a second of consideration: Cabal Stronghold and Mortuary Mire.
I think 16 creatures tends to be a little inconsistent, regularly seeing games in which only 1-3 creatures ever hit the battlefield. (a problem for Infect decks) I see value in good blockers, but I also think added removal/discard spells may be just as effective. For example, Wrench Mind or even Dimir Machinations may prove a better spell than Black Cat.
2 months ago
Additionally, while Lazav, the Multifarious retains its Legendary status when it copies, the Dimir Doppelganger ability doesn't specifically state that, and thus your commander will be a non-legendary copy of Black Cat, meaning Mirror Image won't invoke the "legend rule" when it enters as a copy of your Black Cat commander.
After the first round of copying, your commander will be a 0/2 blue and black Legendary Shapeshifter creature named "Lazav, the Multifarious" with the Dimir Doppelganger's copy ability and Lazav, the Multifarious's ability.
After the second round of copying, your commander will be a 1/1 black non-Legendary Zombie Cat creature named "Black Cat" with the abilities of the Black Cat and Dimir Doppelganger but not Lazav's abilities.
In both cases, it will still retain its "commanderness," and still have a color identity of blue and black because that is a property of the card and not its current state as a permanent.
2 months ago
No, a card that begins your game as a commander will always be that, "comanderness" is bestowed upon the card itself at the start of the game and it never loses it.
The described situation does not impact your ability to deal commander damage or your ability to produce either black or blue mana with Commander's Sphere.
Yes to the additional question, Mirror Image will be a Black Cat and opponents will discard a card at random when it enters the battlefield. Additionally, it will have the ability of Dimir Doppelganger, because that is a copiable characteristic.
2 months ago
One more addition to this question. What would happen if I played a Mirror Image and had it enter as a copy of the Black Cat that was previously my commander? Is the Mirror Image simply a Black Cat with Dimir Doppelganger's ability?
2 months ago
Alright, if I've got Lazav, the Multifarious as my commander and I copy Dimir Doppelganger out of the graveyard and then procede to use the ability of Dimir Doppelganger to copy yet another card from a graveyard, let's say Black Cat, where does that leave the card?
Is it now named Black Cat, and therefore no longer my commander? Is it still my commander as well as being a Black Cat? Can it still deal commander damage? Is my commander's color identity now only black, and affecting cards such as Commander's Sphere?
2 months ago
Through the Breach seems sub-optimal here. Maybe to stick out a Steel Golem for instant blocking, but that's the only card you'd do that with. If you want to splice it onto Desperate Ritual, you need six mana to start, since you have to pay the splice cost when you cast the ritual rather than after it resolves. Through the Breach does help you get Dralnu, Lich Lord out there, but if you're paying five for it you might as well put Chromatic Sphere/Star in that spot since it serves the dual purpose that Manamorphose does. In general I think that a lot of carefully chosen removal, sweepers and draw spells would better suit the offering combo than mana acceleration.
Dralnu's jank payoff seems meager with lightning bolt. Suppose he's your offering and your opponent doesn't play Duress, Inquisition of Kozilek or Hymn to Tourach. Three timely land drops, exile SSG, cast Desperate Ritual, Manamorphose and Dralnu. Don't want to block with him. If he doesn't get bolted while under your control, turn 4 mountain, resolve Harmless Offering and then Lightning Bolt. Opponent sacrifices Dralnu and two of their smallest losses, one of which could have been Black Cat. The transaction cost you five cards, but cost the opponent only two cards or Spirit tokens. Path to Exile in response to your lightning bolt in that scenario would just suck. I would add Shivan Meteor if I was intent on harmlessly offering the Lich Lord.
Criticism always sounds so negative so I want to add that there's a lot I like about the deck too. I'll hand it to you for trying out a tricky style, I'm starting on a similar one.
3 months ago
Activating Brain Weevil's ability will sacrifice it so it won't be around to sacrifice to Westvale Abbey Flip. If you sacrifice it to Westvale Abbey Flip it won't be around to sacrifice to it's own ability.
You never trigger Brain Weevil. It has an activated ability which requires paying a cost (denoted by the use of a colon). A triggered ability starts with At, When, or Whenever. If it were a triggered ability, such as the one Black Cat has, it would indeed trigger when it died being sacrificed for another ability.