Black Cat

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Magic 2015 (M15) Common
Dark Ascension (DKA) Common

Combos Browse all

Black Cat

Creature — Zombie Cat

When Black Cat dies, target opponent discards a card at random.

Set Price Alerts

Have (16) Vergil_Redgrail , thekingpinBR , Doom_of_Valyria , techneil , mziter501 , XxCataclysmiCxX , hippienproud , ExaByteOctopus , bpiser95 , itheoryz , Chrisnoants , Azdranax , bakeraj4 , MagnaAura , jhTheMan99 , Forge
Want (118) BringerOfStorms , Markwiz , SavageGamer1123 , baconater , relzek , Coopenhagen , doonmeister , kovellen , TheRealClyde , Jblade , xpsychovampx , Wurstwassergott , twospires , Synchlor , MementoMuffin , TehMagicPrimordial , mitchellx7 , IsaacX28 , thefinalstair , CryAll , Gypsyhatten , WhipJr , mtchllclffrd , mini_tb , beefx , SlickWizard , Mikitta , zn.tportlock , Supremespeed , timothysavage1 , sleepy104 , JasonD , marsp44 , bbtancakes , Dk1997 , Fullmetalmage , IngisKahn , Zidon , imapuncha , JBert , HKLives , RaberSaber , khepri33 , notsaying , Franck8666 , Psycheretic , ostiarius , legioncult13 , mrfab13 , SaniTheCat , aramlet , RazortoothMtg , sj007 , Thotny , itheoryz , Orbrunner , anamiac , Mai , Viper_3000 , Joeeap , RetrovirusX , punchedprospects , NobleSlay3r , curvedlines , oswrick , Erneyyy , thegreatj03 , Roccovsky , djnewellmit , dackodack , Siegmeyer245 , Warxuaroz , 101011 , jondy1212 , keudhor , duffman24 , RoninH3RO , rco , TheBossferatu , Magus_of_the_Brothels , Hakira , mrnking57 , Aerosquid47 , Omen124 , InfiniteMartyr , fargoleaf , mazrimtaim , nullination , Cobthecobbler , Undamagedbkpro , king0fclubs , zgriffin1989 , The-Poor-Boi , Lord987 , EDWlNNING , Sharks_Six , flyinglemu , olivebagel , FlayJay361 , vovoomz137 , Aenderan , Abzkaban , mjh1422 , CuddleSweat , obitus , someone92d , Dakhma , Dr.Spoons , Darthjr , jtaddeo , smsithlord01 , instantBuddha , Toasty_Death , ZypherW , Blue_Otaku_No.1 , mtgfortheboyz , filipaco , Danielj111

Black Cat Discussion

BiggRedd54 on The Caretaker.

2 weeks ago

I think Heartless Summoning has a place in here if the goal is to abuse ETB and ETG effects. You can even run Vedalken Orrery to get the maximum effect out of them to create utter lockdown/chaos. I always had an appreciation for Black Cat +1 from me amigo!

Darth_Savage on The Quest for Hand Disruption

1 month ago

Some pointers...

Liliana's Caress is a strictly better Megrim, since it costs 1 less to cast.

Augur of Skulls (2 cards), Pilfering Imp (evasion / repeatable), Black Cat (random) and Rotting Rats (2 shots) are better discard creatures, however if you want to keep the rat theme you should run Pack Rat.

Inquisition of Kozilek, Blackmail, Mire's Toll and Vicious Rumors are solid additions, better than Despise / Duress.

Funeral Charm is one of the few ways to force discard at instant speed.

Hope this helps, good luck and have fun brewing your deck.

kamarupa on Black Out Smack Down

3 months ago

Looks pretty good.

A few thoughts on updating it:

Swap out Diabolic Tutor for Mastermind's Acquisition.

I almost always run 1-2xBojuka Bog/Scavenger Grounds in pretty much all my decks; since you're filling up your opponent's graveyards, it's probably an extra good idea here. At 23 lands, if you ran 1x, you could swap it out for Haunting Echoes if you're worried about those cards conflicting - I think your mana-base would still be stable. 1xBuried Ruin might also be useful. Other less-great lands worth a second of consideration: Cabal Stronghold and Mortuary Mire.

I think 16 creatures tends to be a little inconsistent, regularly seeing games in which only 1-3 creatures ever hit the battlefield. (a problem for Infect decks) I see value in good blockers, but I also think added removal/discard spells may be just as effective. For example, Wrench Mind or even Dimir Machinations may prove a better spell than Black Cat.

Some utility spells: Sign in Blood, Extirpate, Hero's Downfall, Geth's Verdict, Fatal Push, Dash Hopes, Ratchet Bomb, Elixir of Immortality

Kogarashi on Lazav, the Multifarious commander and ...

4 months ago

Additionally, while Lazav, the Multifarious retains its Legendary status when it copies, the Dimir Doppelganger ability doesn't specifically state that, and thus your commander will be a non-legendary copy of Black Cat, meaning Mirror Image won't invoke the "legend rule" when it enters as a copy of your Black Cat commander.

After the first round of copying, your commander will be a 0/2 blue and black Legendary Shapeshifter creature named "Lazav, the Multifarious" with the Dimir Doppelganger's copy ability and Lazav, the Multifarious's ability.

After the second round of copying, your commander will be a 1/1 black non-Legendary Zombie Cat creature named "Black Cat" with the abilities of the Black Cat and Dimir Doppelganger but not Lazav's abilities.

In both cases, it will still retain its "commanderness," and still have a color identity of blue and black because that is a property of the card and not its current state as a permanent.

Boza on Lazav, the Multifarious commander and ...

4 months ago

No, a card that begins your game as a commander will always be that, "comanderness" is bestowed upon the card itself at the start of the game and it never loses it.

The described situation does not impact your ability to deal commander damage or your ability to produce either black or blue mana with Commander's Sphere.

Yes to the additional question, Mirror Image will be a Black Cat and opponents will discard a card at random when it enters the battlefield. Additionally, it will have the ability of Dimir Doppelganger, because that is a copiable characteristic.

Waffleflappers on Lazav, the Multifarious commander and ...

4 months ago

One more addition to this question. What would happen if I played a Mirror Image and had it enter as a copy of the Black Cat that was previously my commander? Is the Mirror Image simply a Black Cat with Dimir Doppelganger's ability?

Waffleflappers on Lazav, the Multifarious commander and ...

4 months ago

Alright, if I've got Lazav, the Multifarious as my commander and I copy Dimir Doppelganger out of the graveyard and then procede to use the ability of Dimir Doppelganger to copy yet another card from a graveyard, let's say Black Cat, where does that leave the card?

Is it now named Black Cat, and therefore no longer my commander? Is it still my commander as well as being a Black Cat? Can it still deal commander damage? Is my commander's color identity now only black, and affecting cards such as Commander's Sphere?

Load more

Black Cat occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.0%

Black: 0.03%