Knowledge Pool

Knowledge Pool

Artifact

Imprint — When Knowledge Pool enters the battlefield, each player exiles the top three cards of his or her library.

Whenever a player casts a spell from his or her hand, that player exiles it. If the player does, he or she may cast another nonland card exiled with Knowledge Pool without paying that card's mana cost.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) metalmagic
Want (1) Bashiah

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Knowledge Pool Discussion

DarkMagician on Blue players

2 weeks ago

I'm intrigued by the challenge Ramble so I'll bite.

I control Teferi, Time Raveler and cast Cyclonic Rift followed by Knowledge Pool

zAzen7977 on KAALIA'S CATACLYSM - Aggro/Stax [cEDH Primer]

3 weeks ago

Thanks for the suggestions XinZhao, I’m not sold on Knowledge Pool , but Emissary of Serra is definitely going in. Awesome card, almost as good as Iona. Chancellor of the Annex is a good swap, but I like Chancellor’s auto-counter effect for early game. Maybe I can drop something else instead, I’ll think about it. The new Profane Tutor looks interesting as well.

BrassLord on Enter the Random Combo Deck …

3 weeks ago

Hey! Would love to join in on this challenge! I'll try to find time in the next few days!

I got Drannith Magistrate + Knowledge Pool

Prereq: All permanents on the battlefield

XinZhao on KAALIA'S CATACLYSM - Aggro/Stax [cEDH Primer]

4 weeks ago

dont know what could be cut but another good add would be Knowledge Pool as a back up Possibility Storm

1empyrean on Fun Commander

1 month ago

Mcat1999 I've been planning on building Nassari, Dean of Expression , and I feel like the lock ties in neatly enough with many of the cards I was going to run already that its almost more effort to not run it.

Just a heads up, but Possibility Storm interacts with Knowledge Pool in a somewhat more fair way, while working with Nassari even better.

Gidgetimer on Veyran, Voice of Duality, what …

1 month ago

Your first two points are correct, So I am not going to address anything you said in them. I will address the rest of the question in the order the ideas are presented. Though it isn't going to be a nice ordered list, because some of your numbered points are mixing cards that operate differently.

Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind triggers off of drawing cards, not casting spells. The effect of the spell triggered Niv, not the casting of the spell, so Veyran, Voice of Duality has no interaction. Baral is the same. As is anything that doesn't trigger from casting a spell.

No cards in MtG need an extra cost to trigger. They trigger and go on the stack, and then have an optional cost to have an effect. Lunar Mystic and Mirari will trigger twice. You can pay as each trigger resolves to get the effect. You can pay for none, one, or both.

An instant or sorcery that triggers Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm will trigger them twice. Knowledge Pool requires you to exile the spell to have an effect, so only the first to resolve will have an effect, though there will be two triggers. Eye of the Storm doesn't require you to have exiled the spell to get the effect, so both triggers will have an effect.

Primal Wellspring and Pyromancer's Goggles trigger off of casting an instant or sorcery and so will trigger twice and make two copies.

Spellweaver Volute is an interesting case. I will look up the rules to copying objects that have left the expected zone and get back to you on it. My gut feeling is that 2 copies of the instant will be made.

cooknathan on Veyran, Voice of Duality, what …

1 month ago

I'm probably not the only one confused with which triggers Veyran, Voice of Duality works with.

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger condition or event], [effect]. [Instructions (if any).]”

  1. So cards like Guttersnipe or cards with magecraft clearly work (she triggers her own magecraft), cool, no problem.

  2. There seems to be a consensus that cards with prowess and similar ( Stormchaser Mage , Aetherflux Reservoir , Wavebreak Hippocamp ) also work so long as it triggers with an instant or sorcery and not another card type. Ok, so maybe the permanent's trigger condition does not need to say 'instant' or 'sorcery'.

  3. What about if something like Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind was triggered with a Brainstorm ? Does the permanent's trigger condition need to say 'cast' too? What 'causes' the triggered ability to trigger? Is it the casting or the drawing? Same question with Baral, Chief of Compliance .

  4. What about cards that need an extra cost to trigger Lunar Mystic or Mirari ? Do we (or can we, or can't we) pay the extra cost when Veyran triggers it an additional time?

  5. What about cards like Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm which also requires the card to exile?

  6. What about Primal Wellspring or Pyromancer's Goggles do you get two copies?

  7. If Runaway Steam-Kin has two counters and you cast a red instant, does it end up with four counters? Does Aria of Flame or Sphinx-Bone Wand get one or two counters? How about Mizzix of the Izmagnus ?

  8. How does Spellweaver Volute work? DO you get two copies of the same instant?

  9. I think that covers everything. If anyone has any weird edge cases, this might be a good place to post it. Do any of these cards not work for some reason? Sunbird's Invocation , Jori En, Ruin Diver .

Thanks!

Load more