Crested Sunmare

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Dandan Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Judge's Tower Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Crested Sunmare

Creature — Horse

Other Horses you control have indestructible. (Damage and effects that say "destroy" don't destroy it.)

At the beginning of each end step, if you gained life this turn, create a 5/5 white Horse creature token.

legendofa on The more I think about …

3 months ago

Optimator I assume you're referring to the flavor text on Crested Sunmare. As I understand it, story influences flavor text much more often than the other way around (this is where Ghostfire deserves mention), and it's easy enough to interpret this as desperate speculation on Djeru's part rather than an indicator of future events. It's possible that it's simply another desert monster, alongside the cerodons and sandwurms.

Sure, the big horse is there, and it's somewhat out of place both mechanically and flavorfully, but that is literally the only suggestion that anything else might exist on Amonkhet. Even if Djeru is right, and the Sunmare comes from somewhere else on the plane, it would still have the Phyrexian Invasion to contend with. And if this hypothetical horse-land of Amonkhet is isolated enough to survive two separate planar invasions with nobody on- or off-plane being aware of its existence, how much influence can it have?

Crested Sunmare, by itself, is too vague and undeveloped to offer anything more than a kernel of inspiration.

Quartzrockz on

10 months ago

Hey RCD2023,

I see you have a similar one XD those pesky lifegain/counters decks. Your deck looks like a very optimized version of mine.

Lathiel, the Bounteous Dawn doesn't have the same target drawback that Treebeard does, but does have the drawback of happening at the end of turn instead of instant counters like Treebeard's.

Most of your cards are better upgrads too. Old One Eye and Crested Sunmare being great generators. And your stompy creatures, like all of the hydras, would grow into a big threat pretty quickly.

How is your draw like? And do you find your deck relies on your commander a bit? I haven't yet playtested mine (too much work).

I can't I forgot Beacon of Immortality. And I might smuggle in Champion of Lambholt.

DrSnipy on Liesa

11 months ago

Out: Crested Sunmare (No synergy), Mindcrank(No synergy), Kaya, Bane of the Dead (too expensiv), Oketra's Last Mercy (sounds cool, doesnt do much)

In (few budget changes): Soul Warden and Soul's Attendant (ez Lifegain), Suture Priest (Like Soulsisters, but hurts the enemy too) and Dawn of Hope (draws cards and can make lifelinkers)

Main Problem would be the manacurve of the deck

SufferFromEDHD on Kambal's Chunky Life Drain Soup

1 year ago

Excellent deck name!!!

Crested Sunmare, Resplendent Angel or Griffin Aerie for the consistent tokens.

Well of Lost Dreams auto include! S much value in this list.

Gidgetimer on Does Norin trigger Crested Sunmare?

1 year ago

Crested Sunmare has an intervening "if" clause and won't trigger at all unless you have already gained life by the beginning of your end step.

603.4. A triggered ability may read “When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect].” When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn’t true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the “intervening ‘if’ clause” rule. (The word “if” has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an “if” that immediately follows a trigger condition.)

Quickspell on Does Norin trigger Crested Sunmare?

1 year ago

I have Soul Warden and Crested Sunmare on the battlefield, while Norin the Wary is flickering in and out. Norin and Sunmare‘s ability both go on the stack at the beginning of the end step. Can I stack them so that Norin resolves first, triggering Soul Warden, so that when Sunmare‘s ability resolves I get a horse? By that time I have gained life, didn’t I?

Load more