|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Tenth Edition (10E)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Human Nomad Cleric
, : Put target Aura card in a graveyard into play attached to a creature you control. (You control that Aura.)
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Nomad Mythmaker Discussion
1 month ago
Some good cards for this would be Unquestioned Authority, Battle Mastery, Open the Armory, Daybreak Coronet, Sterling Grove, Hero of Iroas, Nomad Mythmaker, Druid of the Anima, Naya Charm, and Temur Battle Rage.
You could also take out some Umbra cards because you have Umbra Mystic.
1 month ago
Sorry nvm that's blue. Still tho, Ancestral Mask, Celestial Ancient, Graceblade Artisan, Greater Auramancy, I might be building Uril EDH, Herald of the Pantheon, Helm of the Gods, Idyllic Tutor, Kruphix's Insight, Mesa Enchantress, Mirage Mirror, Nomad Mythmaker, Sage's Reverie, Sram, Senior Edificer, Sphere of Safety, Verduran Enchantress all interact with enchantments in fun ways. Sphere of safety is especially devastating.
3 months ago
Angelic Destiny i know its good, but it might be a bit much. I don't know how many times Flickerform has disappointed me, i would think of dropping it. Gift of Immortality any indestructible enchantment is better, it removes anything attached to him. Holy Mantle, Eldrazi Conscription are good finishers, but they cost a lot, maybe look at removing one. Open the Armory honestly you have enough search effects, this one seems the weakest. Nomad Mythmaker, Retether these cards seem so good, but they just ended up disappointing me for then i disappointed my dad so many times, they just sit in your hand way to often and not doing anything. (Replenish i like this card as it brings others back.) Also by my count you have 15 ramp spells, boy o boy that seems like quite a bit, maybe drop one or two, Commander's Sphere & Sakura-Tribe Elder seem the worst to me.
6 months ago
Auriel Alright took our Sword of Feast and Famine and Sword of Fire and Ice for Nomad Mythmaker and Retether. I might switch in Replenish when I find one in local stores. Also switched Sword of the Animist for Fellwar Stone. THanks man :D
6 months ago
Gotcha! I just wouldn't commit yourself to one strategy because if Bruna is locked up or killed repeatedly you have all of these good auras that you can't use! Overall I like the idea though! I would for sure include Nomad Mythmaker if you are going that route however!
6 months ago
I have a Bruna deck as well and some cards I find very helpful are Kor Spiritdancer, Starfield of Nyx, Hero of Iroas, Ajani's Chosen, Enduring Ideal, Celestial Mantle, Sphere of Safety is almost a must run until you can get her going, Nomad Mythmaker, Winds of Rath. Bruna can be removed and if she is it's important to have backups!
6 months ago
Not exactly. That's sort of a complicated question. It depends where the the aura is coming from, and when the creature gained protection.
Protection from X just means, "If this permanent would be enchanted by another permanent with quality X, it can't be." The rules get a little more specific on how to deal with how that plays out in different situations:
If the aura is already on the battlefield, and is trying to move to a creature with protection from it, then rule 303.4j says it just doesn't move:
- 303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura doesnt move.
Example: I control a Prison Term attached to a creature. A Black Knight enters the battlefield. Prison Term triggers, and when the trigger resolves I'm allowed to say that I want Prison Term to move to the Black Knight. However, the Black Knight has protection from Prison Term and can't enchant it, so it simply doesn't move.
If an aura is moving from another zone attached to a particular creature. Rule 303.4i states that it stays where it is:
- 303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield enchanting an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone.
Example: I play a Boonweaver Giant in an all-white deck. Its enter the battlefield trigger goes on the stack. In response, my opponent uses their Eight-and-a-Half-Tails to give my Boonweaver Giant protection from White. I only have white enchantments in my deck. When Boonweaver Giant's ability resolves, I can search and reveal a white enchantment if I want to, but it won't be able to enchant Boonweaver Giant, so it will just stay in my library.
The weird part is that players aren't allowed to make illegal choices, so most of the time you're not going to get stuck like that.
Example: I control only a Nomad Mythmaker and a Black Knight. I activate Nomad Mythmaker's ability targeting an Ethereal Armor in my graveyard. When Nomad Mythmaker's ability resolves, Ethereal Armor can't legally enchant Black Knight, so Nomad Mythmaker is the only creature I can pick to attach it to. I can't "choose" Black Knight in order to have Ethereal Armor stay in my graveyard, since that would be an illegal choice. (IDK why you'd want to do this, but I had to make my example work.)
This has less to do with the Protection ability, and more to do with how Auras handle objects they can't enchant. Protection only means what it says it means in rule 702.16, which I quoted for you earlier.
303.1. A player who has priority may cast an enchantment card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Casting an enchantment as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 601, Casting Spells.)
303.2. When an enchantment spell resolves, its controller puts it onto the battlefield under his or her control.
303.3. Enchantment subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: Enchantment Shrine. Each word after the dash is a separate subtype. Enchantment subtypes are also called enchantment types. Enchantments may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3h for the complete list of enchantment types.
303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype Aura. An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is defined by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, Enchant). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.
303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or enchants, that object or player.
303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
303.4d An Aura cant enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. An Aura thats also a creature cant enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owners graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura cant enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Auras controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.
303.4e An Auras controller is separate from the enchanted objects controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesnt change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Auras controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with gains or has), the enchanted objects controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.
303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isnt an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.
303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield enchanting an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone.
303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura doesnt move.
303.4k An ability of a permanent that refers to the enchanted [object or player] refers to whatever object or player that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isnt an Aura.
702.16a Protection is a static ability, written Protection from [quality]. This quality is usually a color (as in protection from black) but can be any characteristic value. If the quality happens to be a card name, it is treated as such only if the protection ability specifies that the quality is a name. If the quality is a card type, subtype, or supertype, the ability applies to sources that are permanents with that card type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not on the battlefield that are of that card type, subtype, or supertype. This is an exception to rule 109.2.
702.16b A permanent or player with protection cant be targeted by spells with the stated quality and cant be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.
702.16c A permanent or player with protection cant be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners graveyards as a state-based action. (See rule 704, State-Based Actions.)
702.16d A permanent with protection cant be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent as a state-based action, but remain on the battlefield. (See rule 704, State-Based Actions.)
702.16e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player with protection is prevented.
702.16f Attacking creatures with protection cant be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.
702.16g Protection from [quality A] and from [quality B] is shorthand for protection from [quality A] and protection from [quality B]; it behaves as two separate protection abilities. If an effect causes an object with such an ability to lose protection from [quality A], for example, that object would still have protection from [quality B].
702.16h Protection from all [characteristic] is shorthand for protection from [quality A], protection from [quality B], and so on for each possible quality the listed characteristic could have; it behaves as multiple separate protection abilities. If an effect causes an object with such an ability to lose protection from [quality A], for example, that object would still have protection from [quality B], [quality C], and so on.
702.16i Protection from everything is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from everything has protection from each object regardless of that objects characteristic values. Such a permanent cant be targeted by spells or abilities, enchanted by Auras, equipped by Equipment, fortified by Fortifications, or blocked by creatures, and all damage that would be dealt to it is prevented.
702.16j Protection from [a player] is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from a specific player has protection from each object the player controls and protection from each object the player owns not controlled by another player, regardless of that objects characteristic values. Such a permanent cant be targeted by spells or abilities the player controls, enchanted by Auras the player controls, equipped by Equipment the player controls, fortified by Fortifications the player controls, or blocked by creatures the player controls, and all damage that would be dealt to it by sources controlled by the player or owned by the player but not controlled by another player is prevented.
702.16k Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent or player are redundant.
702.16m Some Auras both give the enchanted creature protection and say this effect doesnt remove either that specific Aura or all Auras. This means that the specified Auras can legally enchant that creature and arent put into their owners graveyards as a state-based action. If the creature has other instances of protection from the same quality, those instances affect Auras as normal.
6 months ago
As for cards to replace those I would suggest Sol Ring, Ajani's Chosen Windborn Muse Spirit Mantle Sigil of the Empty Throne Journey to Nowhere Oblivion Ring Nomad Mythmaker Day of Judgment Umbra Mystic Eland Umbra Enduring Ideal Starfield of Nyx Ethereal Armor Lifelink Eidolon of Countless Battles Swiftfoot Boots Karmic Guide Battle Mastery Hero of Iroas Winds of Rath Kor Spiritdancer Arrest Celestial Mantle and Three Dreams. Like I said these are just suggestions as it is your deck! This will just allow you to keep your pillow fort and then swing over the top! There's a lot of equipment you can use as well but that's usually the more pricey route