Abomination

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Premodern Legal
Vintage Legal

Abomination

Creature — Horror

Whenever Abomination blocks or becomes blocked by a green or white creature, destroy that creature at end of combat.

chilbi on Screaming Bald Guys Tribal MK2

2 weeks ago

Love it, +1 from me. Abomination (define guy?!), Addle and Vicious Hunger come to mind. Cheers!

trippy_mcfly on Cumly Cube

5 months ago

Introducing Cumly Cube 1.1! 6 months ago, Cumly Cube was launched to resounding approval. However, in response to feedback from fans, several cards in the pool were deemed unplayable, uninteresting, or overpowered. For Cumly Cube's six month anniversary, I have chosen to update the card pool. Here are the changes, provided with brief justifications:

REMOVED:

  • Abomination: too weak in power level
  • Anger of the Gods: while board wipes are an essential part of the game, this card is too simple in effect in comparison to other red board wipes in the card pool
  • Birthing Pod: synergizes poorly with the rest of the card pool
  • Black Dragon: too weak in power level
  • Black Lotus: this card and other "power 9" cards have been removed from the pool to allow players to play with less well known cards
  • Bloodcurdling Scream: too weak in power level
  • Cavalier of Night: too on-theme for a black card
  • Cinderclasm: while board wipes are an essential part of the game, this card is too simple in effect in comparison to other red board wipes in the card pool
  • Dack Fayden: too powerful
  • District Guide: synergizes poorly with the rest of the card pool
  • Dockside Extortionist: too strong in multiplayer games considering the dominance of the "treasure matters" archetype in this card pool
  • Dread Reaper: too weak in power level
  • Edric, Spymaster of Trest: too powerful
  • Eviscerator: too weak in power level
  • Grim Strider: too weak in power level
  • Hypnox: too weak in power level
  • Jungle Creeper: too weak in power level
  • Mind Bomb: too weak in power level
  • Mox Emerald: this card and other "power 9" cards have been removed from the pool to allow players to play with less well known cards
  • Mox Jet: this card and other "power 9" cards have been removed from the pool to allow players to play with less well known cards
  • Mox Pearl: this card and other "power 9" cards have been removed from the pool to allow players to play with less well known cards
  • Mox Ruby: this card and other "power 9" cards have been removed from the pool to allow players to play with less well known cards
  • Mox Sapphire: this card and other "power 9" cards have been removed from the pool to allow players to play with less well known cards
  • Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver: too weak in power level
  • Nix: too weak in power level
  • Obelisk of Alara: too weak in power level
  • Patagia Golem: too weak in power level
  • Phantasmagorian: too weak in power level
  • Prismite: too weak in power level
  • Rootcoil Creeper: synergizes poorly with the rest of the card pool
  • Shattering Blow: too strong of an answer to the artifact archetype
  • Shatterskull Smashing  Flip: MDFCs are interesting cards, but it does not make sense to have only one in the card pool
  • Smelt: too strong of an answer to the artifact archetype
  • Smog Elemental: too weak in power level
  • Spirit of the Night: too weak in power level
  • Storm Spirit: too weak in power level
  • Tibalt's Trickery: introduces too much variance for an enjoyable experience
  • Unholy Strength: too weak in power level
  • Vampiric Link: too on-theme for a black card
  • Wooded Bastion: this was included on error instead of its Golgari counterpart

ADDED:

MagicMarc on Can I sacrifice a creature …

8 months ago

If you did cast Deadly Dispute early enough to actually sacrifice the Ball Lightning to it then it would not be around to deal its damage to the Abomination. For example; You activate Arena targeting both creatures, then you immediately cast Deadly Dispute sacrificing your Ball Lightning to the spell. Everything resolves last in, first out. So your creature is put in the graveyard, you draw two cards and create the token. Then the Arena activation resolves but your Ball Lightning is no longer on the battlefield to damage the Abomination. So that activation would just fizzle out. If you waited until both creatures dealt damage to each other, you don't get priority before state-based effect effects see that your Ball Lightning is dead and puts it in the graveyard. You cannot sacrifice a creature already on its way to the graveyard.

Dracoson on Can I sacrifice a creature …

8 months ago

Damage, regardless of source (combat or noncombat), does not use the stack anymore. Once Arena's ability starts to resolve, the next time a player would receive priority would be after that ability resolves and both Ball Lightning and Abomination die.

ArmchairRuler on Can I sacrifice a creature …

8 months ago

I know that combat damage does not use the stack anymore, but the only thing I have been able to find on the internet is that Fighting is not considered combat damage. If this is the case, does fighting damage use the stack? And if so, am I able to respond to it to sacrifice a creature? Ex: I have Arena in play, tap it to make my Ball Lightning fight my opponents Abomination, after damage would I be able to use Deadly Dispute to sacrifice it?

Tylord2894 on Which effects on spells carry …

2 years ago

Slight redaction, I glazed over a key word in 400.7a that refers to changed "characteristics" of spells. So, the Abomination that was changed will retain those changes. I guess it serves well to read closely.

Sorry for any confusion.

Tylord2894 on Which effects on spells carry …

2 years ago

In general when something moves between zones, it doesn't remember what was affecting it. There are exceptions and things to keep in mind, but targeting a creature spell will, for the most part, not affect the creature permanent that will be put into the battlefield.

There are a 9 exceptions to the "things moving between zones create new objects" rule. For brevity, I will not reference them, but you can find them in 400.7 of the CR (link here). The most pertinent of these exceptions for your examples is the second one, which deals with prevention effects. In your example where you cast Hallow on a hasty dragon, that dragon permanent will remember that you cast Hallow on it. Damage will be prevented, and you will gain life as that is a single prevention effect.

However, your second example does not work as described but could. When you cast Alter Reality on Abomination, you changed the wording on that spell but the permanent. In other words, the creature that enters the battlefield will not have it's ability altered. Of course, you could also cast Alter Reality targeting the creature on the battlefield. That would have the desired effect. A very important note, if you read the Gatherer rulings for Alter Reality, the last ruling will say that a spell that becomes a permanent retains any changes that you made. The rulings on the Gatherer are very rarely updated, and I'm inclined to believe this is outdated (as many rulings from 15+ years ago often are). Nowhere in the rules that talk about text-changing effects nor what traits objects remember is this discussed or referenced. That said, I could be off-base here, but that is the conclusion I came to after doing some digging.

Lastly, Un-Set cards don't really follow the rules. You just need to come to a consensus at your table.

Hope this helps!!

Yesterday on Which effects on spells carry …

2 years ago

I just remembered something that happened when I was playing... Magic Duals 2013?

I cast a hasty dragon that could swing in for lethal damage, then screwing around as the game was over, I cast Hallow targeting the dragon spell on the stack. Then swung in for ~7, but the opponent didn't take that damage and I gained that much life instead.

That makes sense, right? Equally, if a Alter Reality targets an Abomination on the stack to turn "White" to "Black" in its text, it would resolve to become a creature with lethal blocks on green or black creatures? Or something similar with More or Less I guess.

Can somebody please show me any relevant rulings for what modifications you can make to a spell that carry over to it as a permanent? I don't know how to look this up really.

Load more