|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Masters 25 (A25)||Rare|
|Premium Deck Series: Fire and Lightning (PFL)||Rare|
|2010 Core Set (M10)||Rare|
|Masters Edition (MED)||Common|
|Beatdown Box Set (BTD)||Rare|
|Fifth Edition (5ED)||Rare|
|Fourth Edition (4ED)||Rare|
|4th Edition Foreign Black Border (4EDFBB)||Rare|
|The Dark (DRK)||Rare|
|Promo Set (000)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Elemental
Trample (If this creature would deal enough damage to its blockers to destroy them, you may have it deal the rest of its damage to defending player or planeswalker.)
Haste (This creature can attack and as soon as it comes under your control.)
At the beginning of the end step, sacrifice Ball Lightning.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (17)||Bad_Dog , ACCG , Mousemke , Metaphisyk , Benniator , almeidafabio , MonoRedBomb.Com , predation , Va1mar , bfarber91 , slemulv , Unlife , ninjaclevs13 , philktoken8998 , TheRealSpecialK , Pumpkinking913 , Thunderbeard|
|Want (6)||saturnine13 , Ob1012 , pelzee , samuelianstorm , punchuindamowf , king0fclubs|
Ball Lightning Discussion
4 days ago
3 weeks ago
Unfortunately this doesn't work because they don't do their end-of-turn things at the same time. Tilonalli's Skinshifter will still be a Ball Lightning when it's time for the sacrifice ability to trigger and you aren't given a choice otherwise.
The End Phase of each turn has two separate steps: the end step and the cleanup step. Ball Lightning's ability triggers at the beginning of the end step, as it says. However, "this turn" and "until end of turn" effects wear off during the cleanup step, i.e. after the end step has already happened (the game needs to have these separate steps in order to make certain rules and mechanics work properly).
So in your example both the original Ball Lightning and the Tilonalli's Skinshifter who's pretending to be a Ball Lightning will have the "sacrifice Ball Lightning" ability trigger at the beginning of the end step. They'll both get sacrificed before the game moves on to the cleanup step.
3 weeks ago
This will not work.
The Ending Phase is broken into two steps - End Step and Cleanup Step (R. 512.1). The End Step occurs first.
Ball Lightning's effect triggers at the beginning of the end step; Tilonalli's Skinshifter's ability wears off the "end of turn", and such "end of turn" abilities end during the second part of the cleanup step (Rule 514.2).
3 weeks ago
If I turn Tilonalli's Skinshifter into a Ball Lightning, since both of their triggers happen at the end of the turn, can I stack the Tilonnali's Skinshifter's ability to shift back before Ball Lightning's sacrifice requirement triggers?
3 weeks ago
Let's take two examples using Ball Lightning.
Example 1: You block Ball Lightning with Thermal Glider and nothing else. Ball Lightning's controller assigns two damage to the Thermal Glider, and one damage to the defending player due to trample. Thermal Glider does not actually take damage.
Example 2: You block Ball Lightning with Thermal Glider and Benalish Hero. As the defending player controlling a creature with banding, you get to determine how damage is assigned. You can assign all three damage to Thermal Glider, not only protecting your creatures from harm, but completely negating trample.
That's a pretty important point that has not been mentioned yet--Banding provides a complete defence to enemy creatures with Trample.