Can I sacrifice a creature after it fights?

Asked by ArmchairRuler 2 years ago

I know that combat damage does not use the stack anymore, but the only thing I have been able to find on the internet is that Fighting is not considered combat damage. If this is the case, does fighting damage use the stack? And if so, am I able to respond to it to sacrifice a creature? Ex: I have Arena in play, tap it to make my Ball Lightning fight my opponents Abomination, after damage would I be able to use Deadly Dispute to sacrifice it?

BruhYouFarted says... #1

With the example you provided, I believe your Ball Lightning would immediately die after taking 2 damage and you would not have a window of opportunity to cast Deadly Dispute before Ball Lightning is sent to the graveyard.

March 7, 2022 4:45 p.m.

Dracoson says... #2

Damage, regardless of source (combat or noncombat), does not use the stack anymore. Once Arena's ability starts to resolve, the next time a player would receive priority would be after that ability resolves and both Ball Lightning and Abomination die.

March 7, 2022 5:38 p.m.

MagicMarc says... Accepted answer #3

If you did cast Deadly Dispute early enough to actually sacrifice the Ball Lightning to it then it would not be around to deal its damage to the Abomination. For example; You activate Arena targeting both creatures, then you immediately cast Deadly Dispute sacrificing your Ball Lightning to the spell. Everything resolves last in, first out. So your creature is put in the graveyard, you draw two cards and create the token. Then the Arena activation resolves but your Ball Lightning is no longer on the battlefield to damage the Abomination. So that activation would just fizzle out. If you waited until both creatures dealt damage to each other, you don't get priority before state-based effect effects see that your Ball Lightning is dead and puts it in the graveyard. You cannot sacrifice a creature already on its way to the graveyard.

March 7, 2022 5:44 p.m.

ArmchairRuler says... #4

That is what I thought, what a shame. Thanks for the clarification guys.

March 7, 2022 6:04 p.m.

Please login to comment