Combos Browse all Suggest
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
|Commander: Rule 0||Legal|
Gauntlet of Power
As Gauntlet of Power enters the battlefield, choose a colour.
Creatures of the chosen color get +1/+1.
Whenever a basic land is tapped for mana of the chosen colour, its controller adds an additional one mana of that colour.
3 weeks ago
New Unesh Card Printed in Wilds of Eldraine
- 2nd copy of Panharmonicon
- Same CMC as Gauntlet of power, but has a devotion to blue. It benefits from Defiler of Dreams & Sapphire Medallion.
- The effects are 1-sided. They only benefit you, not your opponents.
- Still Combos with Palinchron.
- Adventure modality. Can be used to copy fetch ability early game. Can be used as a one time mana stimulus with Frantic Search, Snap, Palinchron. This is modality not even Panharmonicon has.
- Triggers when ANY permanent enters the battlefield, not simply creatures and artifacts. This deck doesn't make great use of this text, but it could more so in the future maybe. Mystic Sanctuary is the only additional card that benefits in this deck right now.
- Pitchable to cards like Force of Will.
- Isn't targetable by Scholar of the Lost Trove
3 weeks ago
Here is a bit of a rambling explanation of all the reasons: The key thing turning me off from Reflections is that you have to name a creature type when it ETB's. Mostly you want to pick Sphinxes, so most of the time you don't benefit by having infinite Palinchrons. Virtue of Knowledge doesn't have that requirement for the same CMC, and also it combos with Palinchron. Also, there is the adventure cost on the card. I think it is easy to call this cute but I actually think it could be awesome. The adventure can copy a fetchland ability in the early game (it is cheaper to use than Wayfarer's Bauble). Using adventure mode on the card is also a cheaper way to net mana with Palinchron or even Frantic Search; although it would be single use I can imagine a situation where that might be the kicker to win the game. This is versatility that Reflections and Guantlet do not have. Although Reflections does help with beat down, beat down is not the strongest strategy in the deck, especially since a few of our sphinxes are meek changelings. The two cards are also equal on blue devotion.
Debatably this card is even better than Panharmonicon itself. The text Virtue of Knowledge allows triggers for any permanent entering the battlefield while Panharmonicon is only artifacts and creatures. This deck doesn't make use of that right now, but it could become important later on. Also Panharmonicon doesn't have another mode.
TLDR; I think the pros for Virtue of Knowledge are better or equal to Reflections of Littjara in every way except for beat down, which isn't the most important strategy for Unesh. Furthermore if I was forced to choose between Virtue of Knowledge and Panharmonicon, I might even pick Virtue. Luckily I don't have to choose right now...
3 weeks ago
GHoag, don't discredit yourself! I couldn't have made nearly as many decisions without our pleasant discourse.
I will Ponder the artifact tutors for now (lol). I Anticipate them to be unnecessary because with infinite mana you will most likely be able to get through your deck to find Aetherflux anyway (okay I'll stop).
Reflections of Littjara is really a great card with Palinchron because in addition to making infinite mana it makes an arbitrarily large army of Palinchrons, and I love that. I will definitely be considering this card more once I think of the best cards to cut for it. It might actually be worth to cut Gauntlet of Power if there is nothing better to cut. It's utility as a back up to Panharmonicon is another upside. I wish it could be hit by Scholar of the Lost Trove, but you can't win 'em all I suppose.
4 weeks ago
Palinchron added + talk about combos
Replaced Narset's Reversal. Reversal is a cute fun card in this deck. Reversal is a combo piece that is under utilized here. Reversal relies on your opponent to cast a cool spell, playing your own deck and theme is normally better.
Palinchron combos with SIX cards already in this deck to produce infinite mana, infinite storm count for Aetherflux Reservoir, and infinite card draw with Defiler of Dreams. These SIX cards are High Tide, Extraplanar Lens, Gauntlet of Power, Caged Sun, Panharmonicon, and even Phantasmal Image. This makes it extremely likely that you will be able to combo with Palinchron if you draw him.
Honestly I knew this card was bonkers, but after thinking about it and finally writing all the synergies on paper I have convinced myself to include it.
While we are talking about combos, I didn't realize there was another infinite combo in the deck. This one takes a bit of setup but here it is. Aetherflux Reservoir, Cloudstone Curio, and Defiler of Dreams. With all 3 of these permanents on the battlefield, if you have 1 low cost changeling in your hand, 1 on the field, and if you have any sphinx mana reduction you meet the criteria. For instance:
- The 3 combo cards are on the field, and so is Amoeboid Changeling and Urza's Incubator.
- You cast Mothdust Changeling from your hand using Defiler of Dreams blue cost reduction.
- Cast triggers Aetherflux Reservoir gaining you the life back you spent to cast it.
- ETB triggers Cloudstone Curio sending Amoeboid Changeling to your hand.
- Cast Amoeboid Changeling from your hand using cost reduction from Urza's Incubator and Defiler of Dreams.
- Cast triggers Aetherflux Reservoir to gain you back the life you used to cast.
- ETB triggers Cloudstone Curio sending Mothdust Changeling to your hand.
- Return to step 2.
1 month ago
In the case of Isochron Scepter and Elite Arcanist, you cast copies of both cards, and for the Arcanist will be equal to the sum of the mana values of the cards. If you have a pair of linked abilities where the first ability exiles one card and the other ability does something with "the exiled card", then if the first ability has exiled multiple cards for some reason, the second ability will act on all of the exiled cards. A quote of the full text of the relevant rule is given below.
There's no interaction with Gauntlet of Power's first ability or Glasspool Mimic Flip's ability because those aren't triggered abilities. They're replacement effects that modify how the card enters the battlefield. Triggered abilities always start with one of the words "when", "whenever" or "at". Replacement effects can usually be identified by their use of "as", "with" or "instead".
607.3. If, within a pair of linked abilities, one ability refers to a single object as “the exiled card,” “a card exiled with [this card],” or a similar phrase, and the other ability has exiled multiple cards (usually because it was copied), the ability refers to each of the exiled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the exiled card, such as a characteristic or mana value, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on “the” card, it performs that action on each exiled card. If that ability creates a token that is a copy of “the” card, then for each exiled card, it creates a token that is a copy of that card. If that ability performs any actions on “a” card, the controller of the ability chooses which card is affected.
1 month ago
Panharmonicon makes ETB triggers go off twice, but what happens with cards like Isochron Scepter imprinting instant spells? Will it trigger twice and let me exile two instants? What would happen when I activate the Scepter? Would I have a choice of spells to cast, or get to cast both?
Similarly, what about Elite Arcanist entering the battlefield? Both Elite Arcanist and Isochron Scepter state "exiled card", so I assume that even if I could exile two cards, I could only cast one at a time...?
When Gauntlet of Power enters, would I get to choose two colors? Then get Gauntlet's benefits for both colors...?
Thanks in advance!