Cryptoplasm

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Mirrodin Besieged Rare
Mirrodin Besieged: Mirran Rare

Combos Browse all

Cryptoplasm

Creature — Shapeshifter

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have Cryptoplasm become a copy of another target creature. If you do, Cryptoplasm gains this ability.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

MBS

MBM

Ebay

Cryptoplasm Discussion

Neotrup on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

Keep in mind at this point Cryptoplasm won't be a Cryptoplasm either, it will be a Halimar Excavator with the Cryptoplasm ability, just like Jwari Shapeshifter.

Jesterokej on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

Lets see if i get i right.. Copy of Halimar Excavator in the sense of power and toughness 1/3 with the same ability of Cryptoplasm in the sense of at the beggining of each upkeep he can become a copy of another target creature (which bypasses the initial ability of Jwari Shapeshifter that only copies only allies)?

Shane on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

No it's a copy of Halimar Excavator. Same abilities and power and toughness, creature type, everything. But it will also have the ability of Cryptoplasm.

Jesterokej on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

So basically it's a copy of Cryptoplasm?

Shane on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

It will be a copy of a copy lol.

Basicly it will be a Halimar Excavator but with the bonus ability to copy something else at your upkeep. Just like Cryptoplasm.

chosenone124 on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

1) Yes Cryptoplasm is a valid target as it copied the Ally characteristic.

2) Jwari Shapeshifter will be a creature named Halimar Excavator with the ability of Cryptoplasm.

Jesterokej on Shapeshifter question

6 days ago

Let's say i have a Halimar Excavator on the field then casts Cryptoplasm. On the next turn my Cryptoplasm copies the Halimar Excavator then decides to cast Jwari Shapeshifter my questions are these:

1) Can the Jwari Shapeshifter copy the Cryptoplasm since it's a copy of the Halimar Excavator?

2) If so, on the next turn will the Jwari Shapeshifter be a copy of Cryptoplasm or be a copy of Halimar Excavator?

Raging_Squiggle on Does Dead Weight kill the ...

1 month ago

Let's see if I can keep up on everything said so far.

ORIGINAL QUESTION

For simplicity and argument's sake, let's say you have a Cryptoplasm already copying an Alabaster Leech and it's been enchanted by Dead Weight. On your upkeep, you may change Cryptoplasm to another target creature and you target White Knight. The moment the ability resolves, and before the active player receives priority, the game checks for, then performs all applicable State-Based Actions simultaneously; then repeats until no SBA's are found. There are 2 State-Based Actions happening simultaneously:
1. A creature having 0 toughness. (704.5f)
2. An aura that's attached to an illegal object. (704.5n)

These are performed at the same time, and both permanents, the creature and the aura, are immediately put into their owner's graveyards.

CHEATING AURAS INTO PLAY AND SHROUD/PROTECTION

Whenever an aura spell is cast, it requires a legal target as per the casting process in rule 303.4a. An object is considered a spell Only when it is on the stack. If an Aura enters the battlefield from any zone other than the stack, it does not require a target and enters the battlefield attached to a permanent it can enchant.

Example: Progenitus and Argothian Enchantress are on the battlefield. Someone attacks with Zur the Enchanter and tutors for Dead Weight. Because it enters the battlefield from a zone other than the stack, a target is not needed and therefore not made, allowing Dead Weight to enter the battlefield enchanting Argothian Enchantress. This is because Shroud only stops spells or abilities from targeting it. And since in this particular scenario, Dead Weight is neither a spell nor ability, and it does not require a target, it can enchant Argothian Enchantress. As for Progenitus, Dead Weight cannot enchant it whatsoever, due to the fact that it specifically prevents it from being enchanted, as per the acronym DEBT.

HANDLING MISPLAYS

Even though this is primarily a tournament related subject regarding where to find more information on it, this happens quite often in casual settings. Say you tried to Doom Blade a White Knight, forgetting that it has protection from black and you spent mana from Thought Vessel and a Swamp on it. The game recognizes that you performed an illegal action and reverses the game to a point in time in which the infraction has not yet happened. Meaning anything up to that time is reversed, including your spending mana from your mana rock and your land. They become untapped and the game resumes.

This is not to be confused with Doom Blade's target becoming illegal after the casting process has been completed (including selecting a legal target). Say it's targeting an Elvish Mystic, and in response it's given hexproof from Blossoming Defense. When Doom Blade goes to resolve, the game sees its target is no longer legal and it fizzles, being removed from the stack instead. Its effect does not happen.




Hopefully I covered everything being discussed, and helped to answer the OP's question. If I didn't or I made a mistake, let me know and I'll fix it.

Load more