Does Storm/Guttersnipe activate Chandra's Spitfire?

Asked by alexthegreat38 5 years ago

Hi, say I have Guttersnipe and Chandra's Spitfire on the board, and I have already played 2 spells this turn. Then I play Grapeshot . This triggers Guttersnipe once, and then deals 1 damage 3 separate times, yes? So if I have a Grapeshot and two copies from its storm ability (all directed at my opponent) AND Guttersnipe , my Chandra's Spitfire is getting +12/+0, correct? Or am I misplaying the card?

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, this works the way you want. "Non-combat damage" is any damage not dealt by creatures in the turn-based action part of the combat damage step (or first strike combat damage step). Each storm copy of Grapeshot and Guttersnipe 's ability will resolve individually, which upon resolution each will trigger Chandra's Spitfire .

October 5, 2014 1:35 a.m.

alexthegreat38 says... #2

Sweet! Thank you.

October 5, 2014 1:36 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that nothing activates Chandra's Spitfire (see title) because Chandra's Spitfire has no activated abilities. Only activated abilities can be activated.

October 5, 2014 1:48 a.m.

alexthegreat38 says... #4

Yes, "triggered" would have been the correct term, my mistake.

October 5, 2014 2:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed