Please login to comment

Said on None...

#1

Can I use a Counterspell to stop and counter a Discontinuity ? It doesn't say it can't be countered, which I would expect if it couldn't be countered. It would seem that this spell simply goes on the stack, then you could counter it before it resolves. But the extra text in parentheses makes that confusing... enough that we have a playgroup debate, and google searches are only pulling up ways to use Discontinuity as a counterspell.

Thanks in advance! :)

June 16, 2021 5:10 a.m.

Sorry, I haven't been able to login basically since I posted the question. The FB login method isn't working, but I guess I can use Google to login just the same... I didn't know that until now.

Thank you for the responses! Regarding what Gidgetimer said, you say that Vedalken Orrery doesn't negate Teferi, Time Raveler , and I'm curious why not? It seems like that would be one of those scenarios where the last one to ETB would have priority and trump the other... but if they don't negate each other, how does that work out in-game...?

June 16, 2021 4:51 a.m.

So Teferi, Time Raveler states that opponents can only cast spells any time they could cast a sorcery, and Azor, the Lawbringer states that when it enters the battlefield opponents each opponent can't cast instant or sorcery spells on their next turn. My playgroup is debating the outcome of this interaction. My assumption is that this will prevent all opponents from being able to cast spells for a full turn, and if you add in a Conjurer's Closet you can lock them out for the rest of the game. Some others in my group think this will only affect and hard lock instant and sorcery spells. Any help on how this will play out? Thanks in advance! :)

June 8, 2021 4:26 p.m.

Thank you!

June 6, 2021 6:33 a.m.

Sorry, "they" would be referring to all of their nonland permanents...

June 5, 2021 7:08 p.m.

I can see this one going either way, but does the second lore ability of Kiora Bests the Sea God force all of target opponents' nonland permanents to not untap during their next untap phase, or only the permanents it tapped...? Like if half of my opponent's creatures were already tapped when the second lore triggered, do they untap as normal, or are they included in not being able to untap? My gut says it won't matter if they were already tapped, because "they" should be referring to all of their permanents, whether they were tapped or not. But I feel like I need clarity for my playgroup... I can see this coming up.

Thanks in advance! :)

June 5, 2021 7:05 p.m.

I had a hunch they would trigger simultaneously and cause issues... the targeting issue makes sense though. Thanks for the help! :)

June 3, 2021 6:12 p.m.

So I have Helm of the Host on Brago, King Eternal , and I got to combat, get a second Brago, then deal combat damage to an opponent with both of them. Is it correct that I get to trigger the first Brago, flicker a bunch of permanents, then trigger the second Brago and flicker some/all of them again? I'm assuming so, but I need to confirm. Thanks in advance! :)

June 3, 2021 5:07 p.m.

Decks

Finished Decks 1
Prototype Decks 1
Drafts 0
Playing since Antiquities
Avg. deck rating None
T/O Rank 87
Helper Rank 533
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Modern
Suppressed formats Unformat, Archenemy, Planechase, Vanguard, Noble, Hero, Quest Magic RPG, Quest Magic
Cards suggested / good suggestions 6 / 0
Last activity 4 days
Joined 2 years