Octopus Umbra

Octopus Umbra

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has base power and toughness 8/8 and "Whenever this creature attacks, you may tap target creature with power 8 or less."

Totem armor (If enchanted creature would be destroyed, instead remove all damage from it and destroy this Aura.)

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (1) DoctorScarf
Want (0)

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2018 (C18) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Vintage Legal
Highlander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Octopus Umbra Discussion

SuperWeapons2770 on The sneaky stalkers ($50 Budget EDH)

2 weeks ago

Here is it with working cardlinks

Potential Auras: Octopus Umbra, Auramancer's Guise Potential Creatures: Grismold, the Dreadsower, Volrath, the Shapestealer, Vorel of the Hull Clade Potential Lands: All the Vivid lands ex. Vivid Grove, Potential Artifacts: Helm of the Gods Potential Instants: My favorite, Misdirection

Neotrup on Asking for clarification on totem …

3 months ago

Great question, especially because things like Anointed Procession will always put both masks on the same permanent, so it's worth knowing if it's a good card for the deck!

Both effects will try to replace the destruction. You, as the controller of the permanent trying to be destroyed, will pick one to apply. Since the permanent is no longer trying to be destroyed, the other won't try to replace that anymore. In short, you'll only lose one mask. If instead you had a creature enchanted with Hyena Umbra and Octopus Umbra though, you'd even get to pick which one is destroyed.

carpecanum on Lorthos TideMaker

4 months ago

Thada Adel, Acquisitor = massive ramp as she plays everybody's Sol Ring before they draw it.

Spell Swindle can also get your boss out very early

Quest for Ula's Temple is $4.

You have a tone of triggered effects including your boss, so anything like Strionic Resonator etc would be good.

Octopus Umbra is topical and would be great on one of your smaller guys.

FunkyMountains on $30 Yasova the Creature Thief

8 months ago

And one more thing... Octopus Umbra can allow you to steal way more stuff and offers protection and evasion! Also Stitcher's Graft helps you push through more dmg and kills the creature when they return to your opponents.

IATEAREPUBLICAN on Brudiclones 2.0

9 months ago

WickedlyRested thank you for clarifying that for me. I was under the impression that Octopus Umbra would straight up overwrite the text and damage/life values on the token but it seemed a lil too janky to be true. That's an easy drop now, for me to add Time Spiral or something. I specifically like Time Spiral cause VALUE. Windfall will make it's way in probably as well, because its a lil cheaper cost and I could possibly get more than 7 cards out of it.

As for infinite combos, my very first EDH deck ever was a Maelstrom Wanderer deck, and it had some fun infinite combos. I loved them and eventually built a Ghave deck that was focused purely on going infinite as soon as possible. Because of this i got bored of infinites, I'm not focused on infinite combos, nor will I be actively or specifically trying to set them up mid game. I went through that phase already and got bored of it. Some of my buddies got tired of it too and i dont blame them. I have a couple implemented in this deck, but its more of a "Oh, i just happen to have these certain cards on the battlefield. Now I play this card. You don't have an answer? Well now I've gone infinite. GG." If it happens, it happens. I built this deck not to combo off, but for some flavorful shenanigans that just synergizes well with itself. That's my reasoning as to not adding them. Ive done it so many times that it lost its fun, which is why I play the game in the first place: to have fun!

MESS1802 on card:Dakkon Blackblade enchanted with card:Octopus …

10 months ago

The ruling for Octopus Umbra says it overwrites all other previous effects determining the enchanted creature’s P/T, but the official text for Dakkon Blackblade doesn’t specifically say “base P/T”, only “P/T”. Does that make a difference?

I’m assuming that it doesn’t and his P/T would be set to 8/8 regardless of the number of lands you control and not essentially just give him +8/+8, but I wanted to double check with someone.

Thanks for your time!

Caerwyn on Octopus Umbra would the new …

11 months ago

It would still be unblockable and have hexproof. An enchantment, spell, aura, or other effect only removes abilities from a creature if it specifically states the creature "loses all abilities" or "all other abilities."

Compare Octopus Umbra to Darksteel Mutation . Both overwrite the Power/Toughness of the creature and confer a new ability (the attack trigger for Octopus; Indestructible for Darksteel). However, Darksteel specifically states that the creature "loses all other abilities".

Load more