Dakkon Blackblade enchanted with Octopus Umbra

Asked by MESS1802 2 years ago

The ruling for Octopus Umbra says it overwrites all other previous effects determining the enchanted creature’s P/T, but the official text for Dakkon Blackblade doesn’t specifically say “base P/T”, only “P/T”. Does that make a difference?

I’m assuming that it doesn’t and his P/T would be set to 8/8 regardless of the number of lands you control and not essentially just give him +8/+8, but I wanted to double check with someone.

Thanks for your time!

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

No, it doesn't make a difference. "Base Power/Toughness" just refers to P/T effects that set them to certain numbers, instead of adding/subtracting from them.

October 22, 2019 10:03 p.m.

MESS1802 says... #2

That’s what I figured, just wanted to be sure because small wording differences can potentially make big gameplay changes. But it’d be pretty broken if it would give Dakkon +8/+8.
Thank you!

October 23, 2019 12:43 a.m.

Please login to comment