Fireball deals X damage divided evenly, rounded down, among any number of target creatures and/or players.

Fireball costs more to cast for each target beyond the first.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts Price Cardhoarder (O) Price
Low Avg High Foil Normal Foil
$0.06 $0.18 $0.9 $0.37 0.08 TIX 0.08 TIX

Fireball Discussion

titanreaver on Mars Has Robots (old)

4 days ago

I find it funny that you kept the name but the slaver part isn't in it anymore.

Your's does look more consistent than mine and probably faster. How has the Fireball worked out? Also how does the Metalworker work with only 16 artifacts (including them).

AgentGold on Who Enchants Creatures Anyway?

5 days ago

If I'm understanding this right, it looks like you use Freed from the Real together with Fertile Ground or Utopia Sprawl and a creature that untaps lands to gain infinite mana, and if you have Eidolon of Blossoms you can draw as many cards as you need in the process. Very nice!

If you can pull this off consistently, it might help to have a good mana sink win with all that mana. If you want a creature, Emrakul, the Aeons Torn or a hydra are plausible choices. Helix Pinnacle is another choice if you're hoping for just another on-color enchantment. (Here's a thread with more ideas where that came from.)

If you're willing to splash other colors (which you can do without switching your land base using your land enchanting auras), Underworld Coinsmith or Fireball might make good finishers as well.

Raging_Squiggle on Mizzix of the Izmagnus Interaction ...

1 week ago

Spells with x in their mana cost, while on the stack, have a cmc that includes the value of X. If you cast Fireball for x=9, the total cmc will be .

Additional costs do not change the total CMC of spells. These include kicker, and multikicker.

The formula to cast spells goes as such:
casting cost + additional costs - cost reductions.


You have 10 experience counters. You announce you're going to cast Blue Sun's Zenith for x=15. Total CMC is now ()

Casting cost+additional-reductions

+ - = (this it what you will actually have to pay).

Once payed, Mizzix triggers because you cast a spell with CMC greater than the number of experience counters you have. You'll then have counters for your next spell.

Note: anywhere else, a spell with x in its CMC is considered

The_Dragonmaster on Mizzix of the Izmagnus Interaction ...

1 week ago

You are correct. Blue Sun's Zenith has 3 cmc. But for your second question, I did a little browsing and found this rule:
10/1/2012: Goblin Electromancer can reduce alternative costs such as overload costs
Allthough it is a different card than Mizzix, Mizzix works the same way and X is considered a alternative cost. So fireball's cost would be reduced, even though it's cmc is still 1.

Scytec on Mizzix of the Izmagnus Interaction ...

1 week ago

Everyone is stating the spells with in the casting cost are great with him. From my understanding, cards with count only the rest of the cost toward CMC. For example, to my understanding, Blue Sun's Zenith is a CMC 3 spell, no mater what you actually pay. Given Mizzix of the Izmagnus's wording, this spell would trigger if you had 2 or less experience counters, but in no other circumstance. Did this rule get updated and I just missed it? Same thing with kicker spells and the like. Also, a Fireball with 10 experience counters is makes spells cheaper, it doesn't add that mana to your pool. What am I missing I just wrong here?

Raging_Squiggle on Mizzix + X-Cost Spells

2 weeks ago

Is spell is not considered cast until all payments are done.

casting cost + additional costs - cost reductions.

Casting costs include the value you declare for X in spells like Fireball.

Once all payments are done, the spell is then put on to the stack and "cast". It is at this point Mizzix of the Izmagnus's triggered ability will be put on to the stack. As your Fireball's CMC on the stack is considered 11 (10+R), you will get an experience counter.

Anywhere else, X will always be considered Zero.

Trockenmatt on Mizzix + X-Cost Spells

2 weeks ago

I've gotten a couple of different responses here, but here is my question.

Say you have 4 Experience counters from Mizzix of the Izmagnus. Then, you cast Fireball for, let's say, 10. You pay and target their face. Do you get an experience counter via Mizzix? From what I understand, the CMC of Fireball is ALWAYS 1, but other people have said that you get an experience counter because the CMC of Fireball is 11 when it enters the stack.

Load more

Latest Decks

Load more