Trinisphere

Trinisphere

Artifact

As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast. (Additional mana in the cost may be paid with any colour of mana or colourless mana. For example, a spell that would cost to cast costs to cast instead.)

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) gildan_bladeborn
Want (1) bjohnburke

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Trinisphere Discussion

Neotrup on Chalice of the void vs …

1 week ago

Yes, Ragavan, Nimble Pilferer has a mana value of 1, even if it's cast with its alternate dash cost, without paying its mana cost, or through an increased cost like Trinisphere .

Gidgetimer on How does "costs less" interact …

1 month ago

When casting a spell you declare a number for X. When it comes time to pay the costs of the spell you determine what you need to pay by taking the cost of the spell (with the declared value of X in the case of "X" spells) plus any additional costs, minus any cost reductions, and then any cost setting effects ( Trinisphere is the only one that I know of).

So for an X of 4 on Multiple Choice with only the stated effects it would be plus nothing minus for a mana payment due of .

rdean14 on Card creation challenge

2 months ago

I really don't like how the King Midas story is depicted on King Macar, the Gold-Cursed . Here's how I would like to redo his card:

Macar, King of Nistos

Legendary Creature - Human Noble

Noncreature permanents you control lose all abilities and become Gold artifacts with "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.” unless was spent to cast this spell.

Other creatures you control lose all abilities and become Gold artifacts with "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.” unless was spent to cast this spell.

Sacrifice a nontoken permanent: Create a Gold token.

2/1


This makes him really easy to abuse if there's a Trinisphere on the field or if you're paying commander tax. I mean, paying literally makes every permanent you control Gold, and nothing else. Paying with the commander tax or with Trinisphere, etc. (taxing effects) he gives you an amazing ability!

plakjekaas on None

4 months ago

I'm against it.

"as the entire point of hybrid cards was that they represented an "or" state rather than an "and" state."

If we'd extrapolate that, we'd be able to play Reaper King in a Hope of Ghirapur deck. Because its color identity is colorless, or mono white, or sultai, or... well anything you like. Meanwhile, the mana cost has undeniably hidden in it's cost. And it's a slippery slope. Phyrexian mana was also designed for flexibility to reach out of your color restraints. Should the colour identity of Noxious Revival be colorless too? I wouldn't be keen to explain the rules of color identity to new or inexperienced players: basically, it's the colors you can find on the card, either in the mana cost or the rules text. Except when the mana symbols look wonky, there's separate rules for those.

There's already the nuisance of having to explain that reminder text (italic, in parentheses) does not define color identity. Trinisphere is not a black card, and Blind Obedience is not an Orzhov card. Let's not expand that to the actual rules texts please.

RNR_Gaming on Urza’s Pet Dragon

4 months ago

Well, I highly suggest picking up these stax cards like Winter Orb , Static Orb , Trinisphere and Storage Matrix .

For a less competitive scene Watchdog , Genesis Chamber , Blinkmoth Urn and Howling Mine

The dragon breaks parity with all of those cards :)

Epicurus on Card creation challenge

4 months ago

Spelltithe General

Creature - Human Advisor

Each spell that opponents control that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast, unless their controller has you draw a card

3/2


Kind of a mashup of Trinisphere and Rhystic Study on a stick, but I think it makes sense in white because of the taxation theme. I think it would become a commander staple, and much needed help for mono white. Probably broken, but not any more so than the others.

Next challenge, do the red one. See previous challenge for reference.

Polaris on Trinisphere vs. Replicate

4 months ago

Okay, this is a little odd because of the way Trinisphere looks at costs. Usually, things go by converted mana cost (as of Strixhaven, mana value), which is the total value of the mana symbols. Trinisphere, however, takes the total amount of mana spent to cast the spell and makes sure that number is at least 3. This includes things like kicker and replicate costs, so you can add those into the amount Trinisphere sees.

Replicate is an ability of the spell that allows you to pay an additional cost. It's not casting another spell, so Trinisphere won't tax it—pretty much the opposite, in fact. Here's how much it will cost to cast Gigadrowse with Trinisphere in play:

  • Cast with no replication:
  • Cast with 1 replicate:
  • Cast with 2 replicate:
  • Cast with 3 replicate:

And so on.

Icbrgr on Trinisphere vs. Replicate

4 months ago

Scenario:

  • Trinisphere is on the battlefield and I have mana available to me and pass the turn to my opponent.

  • In response to the end of my opponents draw/untap beginning phase; I cast Gigadrowse to all of his/her lands.

Question:

How much mana do I need to initially cast Gigadrowse; and how much mana is needed to copy the spell each time beyond the first?

Load more