If I have both Sharuum the Hegemon and Sculpting Steel on the battlefield, can I infinitely sac one of them to Ashnod's Altar?

Asked by Sh0wnW4V3 5 years ago

If I sacrifice one of the Sharuum's to the Ashnod's Altar, does it ends the infinite loop? Or can I keep sacrificing and generating infinite colorless mana?

Rhadamanthus says... #1

I assume you're talking about the situation where 2 copies of Sharuum can be "looped" to make each other enter the battlefield over and over again. The reason this works is based on the Legend Rule, which is one of the state based actions (SBA). SBAs are checked and executed right before each time a player would get priority. The game checks again after doing this and only gives a player priority if there are no more SBAs left to process. This means you don't have any opportunities to interrupt the loop by activating Ashnod's Altar.

April 28, 2015 3:09 p.m.

Sh0wnW4V3 says... #2

Damn, cuz that would be a really good combo. Well, thanks Mr. Rhadamanthus.

April 28, 2015 3:21 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #3

Crap, wait a minute. I didn't think that through.

This works. When the Legend Rule sends one to the graveyard, you choose it as the target of the trigger that was waiting to be put onto the stack. In response to the trigger you sacrifice the one that's still alive. When the first comes back you target the second one with the ETB and when the second one comes back you're back in the initial position but with mana in your pool.

Sorry about that.

April 28, 2015 3:29 p.m.

Sh0wnW4V3 says... #4

NP, that made my day. Combo works. That's all I wanted to hear.

April 28, 2015 3:33 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

Yeah just be sure the one you Legend Rule is the original Sharuum and the one you put on the Altar is Sculpting Steel, otherwise they won't come back in the right order to have 2 copies of Sharuum.

April 28, 2015 3:43 p.m.

mykei93 says... #6

If i understand this correctly, You only sac the sculpting steel, and force the Legend Rule every time to kill Original Sharuum

April 29, 2015 6:59 p.m.

Sh0wnW4V3 says... #7

Almost right, mykei93. But you do not kill the original Sharuum the Hegemon, you just send it to the graveyard.

April 29, 2015 7:31 p.m.

This discussion has been closed