Go infinite with Crackdown Construct and Wandering Fumarole? Sure, that'll do nicely!

The core idea is to make Crackdown Construct HUGE by activating Wandering Fumarole and swapping its Power and Toughness an arbitrarily large number of times, then attacking with an Unblockable effect.

Until Wizards gets the Gatherer text up for Crackdown Construct, here are the release notes:

  • Activated abilities are written in the form "Cost: Effect." Some keyword abilities, such as Equip and Crew, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder texts.
  • An activated mana ability is one that adds mana to a player's mana pool as it resolves, doesn't have a target, and isn't a loyalty ability.
  • Crackdown Construct's ability doesn't trigger if you activate an ability of an Artifact or Creature card not on the battlefield.
  • An ability whose cost is simply 0 can be activated as many times as you'd like. Each activation causes Crackdown Construct's ability to trigger.


My thoughts on some of the other approaches to winning with this combo:






Thanks in advance for your thoughts and suggestions! And if you're running Crackdown Construct too, please feel free to link your deck below. I'd love to see it and hear about your playtesting results!

Big shout-outs to ...

And please don't hesitate to +1 Upvote this deck if you like it ... especially if you like it enough to put it in a folder :-)


Just wanted to say thanks to everyone who made this the #1 deck on T/O!

Also, thanks for all the comments and suggestions so far ... they're archived here or under the View Archive button.

As a reminder, this is an Izzet Control deck. If you're looking for other approaches, please check the accordion in the deck description :-)

Comments View Archive

clayperce says... #1

Yeah, there are a lot of fun infinite Thopter combos out there.

And yeah, Imprisoned in the Moon + Crumble to Dust is a way to nerf and then Exile Planeswalkers or other troublesome cards. I can't really imagine it here though, since it takes 7 mana and 2 cards which don't really synergize with anything else in the deck.

You may have missed this in the "This is an Izzet Control deck, but there are other approaches" section: I figure half the Internet is already trying to break Saheeli and Guardian, so I'm focused on Crackdown Construct for now.

Thanks though.

January 15, 2017 12:23 p.m.

Argeaux says... #2

You might want to have a playtest against my combo deck Serve the Servos

Something a bit different.

January 15, 2017 10:17 p.m.

hamiam says... #3

Awesome +1

January 16, 2017 12:08 a.m.

ccmaci says... #4

I think you might have read the combo wrong.

This is probably the BEST control you can get with the Crumble to Dust + Imprisoned in the Moon Combo.

What you're doing is using Imprisoned in the Moon on a BASIC land, making it non-basic. Then because the non-basic land is still named a (for example) Plains, you use Crumble to Dust on the non-basic Plains and get rid of ALL THE PLAINS IN THEIR DECK AN FIELD!!!!

January 16, 2017 12:27 p.m.

clayperce says... #7

Sorry, but that doesn't work. 'Basic' is a supertype. Casting Imprisoned in the Moon on a Plains makes it tap for but it's still a Basic land.

January 16, 2017 12:47 p.m.

ccmaci says... #8

Please just hear me out here, I have video proof at the bottom as well if you need that (the text in the video is told by a judge).

The supertype of the land is changed, Imprisoned in the Moon says "Enchanted permanent IS a COLORLESS LAND" (not a basic) and "loses all other CARD TYPES and abilities"

Also, IF it was because of supertypes, then this combo wouldn't even be able to get rid of Planeswalkers or anything other than a land like you said in your example, the reason for that would be the land "is basic". But no, the Planeswalker loses the supertype PLANESWALKER and turns into NON-BASIC LAND.

Now I know this won't remove the lands on the battlefield, but you're taking 1/3 - 1/2 or even ALL their land from being played ever again. JUST THINK OF THE CONTROL HERE. I've seen NO ONE use this combo at my LGS but instead 2 videos on the topic, you can be the one to spread it!!!!!!

If you need more proof then watch the video here:

January 16, 2017 8:09 p.m.

clayperce says... #9

I repeat: Sorry, but that doesn't work.

You and the Judge in your video should probably read the Gatherer text for Imprisoned in the Moon:

  • The permanent will keep any supertypes it previously had ... (y'all should probably read Rules 205.4c and 305.6 too, but again, Basic is a supertype, not a type).
  • If the enchanted permanent is a land and has land types, it retains those types even though it loses any intrinsic mana abilities associated with them. For example, a Plains enchanted by Imprisoned in the Moon is still a Plains, but it cant tap for White, only for Colorless.

And even if it did work, I repeat: I can't really imagine it here though, since it takes 7 mana and 2 cards which don't really synergize with anything else in the deck.

Thanks though.

January 16, 2017 9:48 p.m.

clayperce says... #10

I love playtesting vs. your decks and I'll definitely give your latest(s) a solid look. Thanks much!

Thanks much for the kudos! I'm not honestly sure this deck deserves them, but I appreciate it nevertheless!

January 16, 2017 10:14 p.m.

Please login to comment