
Combos Browse all Suggest
Legality
Format | Legality |
1v1 Commander | Legal |
Archenemy | Legal |
Arena | Legal |
Block Constructed | Legal |
Canadian Highlander | Legal |
Casual | Legal |
Commander / EDH | Legal |
Commander: Rule 0 | Legal |
Custom | Legal |
Duel Commander | Legal |
Gladiator | Legal |
Highlander | Legal |
Historic | Legal |
Historic Brawl | Legal |
Legacy | Legal |
Leviathan | Legal |
Limited | Legal |
Modern | Legal |
Modern Beyond Horizons | Legal |
Oathbreaker | Legal |
Pioneer | Legal |
Planar Constructed | Legal |
Planechase | Legal |
Quest Magic | Legal |
Tiny Leaders | Legal |
Vanguard | Legal |
Vintage | Legal |
Gorgon's Head
Artifact — Equipment
Equipped creature has deathtouch.
Equip {2}







NV_1980 on
Izzet card draw and combo
5 months ago
Nice looking deck! I like how cheap you've kept it. An interesting card to consider could be the new Homunculus Horde (constitutes exponential token growth every turn in a deck like yours, which could be useful as chump-blockers). Something that grants deathtouch to Niv could also be fun for some insta-killing, like Gorgon's Head or Basilisk Collar. Am I correct in assuming you did not include Lightning Greaves/Swiftfoot Boots because of the deck's many counterspells?
Yesterday on Does deathtouch apply excess noncombat …
1 year ago
I control a Toralf, God of Fury Flip, and a Ghyrson Starn, Kelermorph equipped with a Gorgon's Head. I deal exactly 1 damage to an opponent's Fortified Rampart, causing Ghyrson to shoot it for 2. The Rampart takes 2 damage from a source with deathtouch, then dies when SBAs are checked. Was that Rampart dealt excess damage, considering only 1 damage would have been sufficient to kill it?
Likewise, I control a Soulflayer with deathtouch and trample. In combat, it gets blocked by the Fortified Rampart. I have the option of assigning only 1 damage to the Rampart and the rest to the defending player, since the 1 damage with deathtouch would be lethal. If I choose to assign 2 damage to the Rampart and 2 to the defensing player, have I dealt excess damage to the Rampart?
I'm currently assuming no to both, but would love to be wrong.
king-saproling on
Bjiorna and emeral
2 years ago
You might like these: Academy Manufactor, Alaundo the Seer, Quicksilver Dagger, Archivist, Oracle's Insight, Gilded Goose, Glittermonger, Tireless Provisioner, Tireless Tracker, Curse of Opulence, Basilisk Collar, Gorgon Flail, Gorgon's Head, Banishing Knack, Retraction Helix
Personally I would cut these to make room for the above: Laurine the Diversion, Narset Parter of Veils, Rampant Growth, Sakura-Tribe Elder, Elvish Mystic, Llanowar Elves, Vengeful Ancestor, Wavebreak Hippocamp, Thought Scour, Harrow, Fact or Fiction, Kuldotha Forgemaster, Ornithopter, Astral Cornucopia, Everflowing Chalice
lcarl3035 on
2 years ago
This is a Rage-Inducing deck that I played a version of once. A few suggestions:
- Basilisk Collar or Gorgon's Head might be good to give a creature without deathtouch, deathtouch.
- Erinis, Gloom Stalker might be good for ramp, if you do add in lots of nonbasic land destruction(e.g.Wasteland)
- Hornet Nest is a good chump blocker that gives you insects with deathtouch.
- Finally, You could add Kura, the Boundless Sky just because :)
TypicalTimmy on Droken, Gladiatorial Champion
3 years ago
legendofa, I am honestly not sure. We often think of gladiators being combatants, so combat damage makes sense. But so does using weapons at their disposal.
I think leaving it as destroy would be best, because then the player can use various gear and spells, such as Chandra's Ignition or Gorgon's Head + Viridian Longbow
veritablecvn on Paying equip cost with a …
3 years ago
Here is the relevant ruling on Mayhem Devil's Gatherer page:
5/3/2019. If a permanent is sacrificed to pay a cost of a spell or ability, Mayhem Devil’s ability will resolve before that spell or ability. Conversely, if a permanent is sacrificed during the resolution of a spell or ability, that spell or ability will finish resolving before Mayhem Devil’s ability is put onto the stack.
So Mayhem Devil's ability will trigger when you sacrifice the Treasure to add mana to your mana pool, not when you pay the mana to equip the Gorgon's Head.
phepa on Paying equip cost with a …
3 years ago
Let's say i have Mayhem Devil, Gorgon's Head and 1 Treasure token on the battlefield with 1 open red mana.
I want to equip Gorgon's Head on the Mayhem Devil, so i tap red land and sacrifice a tresure for another red mana so i can pay equip cost.
As far as i know, there is going to be 2 abilities on the stack (Equip an equipment and trigger from Mayhem Devil), so i can put the 1 damage trigger ability first on the stack and equip second, so when the 1 damage from [Mayhem Devil] is going to resolve it's going to be already damege with deathtouch.
Am i right with that?