Esika, God of the Tree

Back:

The Prismatic Bridge  Flip
Start Commander Deck

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Standard Brawl Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Esika, God of the Tree

Legendary Creature — God

Vigilance

: Add one mana of any colour.

Other legendary creatures you control have vigilance and ": Add one mana of any colour."

Recommendations View more recommendations

Enkira, Hostile Scavenger
Tom Bombadil
Super-Duper Lost
The Grand Tour (Playtest)
Treetop Warden
Vessel of the All-Consuming

JoyTheEnbySliverLover on Does card:Mana Reflection double the …

7 months ago

Rhadamanthus, I think I found the card already. Was it Cryptolith Rite by any chance? Because that's the one I found. There is also a few more cards. Took me some time to find a search term to narrow it down enough. The other cards are:

Which do you think is better? I feel like Elven Chorus is a little unnecessary as I already have Augur of Autumn in the deck. I don't know. I am just curious to get your opinion but it is fine if you don't have an answer.

Trapdoorspyder on This deck plays all the EPIC spells.

7 months ago

I absolutely love the concept of this deck! Another more modern commander could be Esika, God of the Tree  Flip to act as a Proteus Staff in the command zone, which might work for the deck a little better.

legendofa on Eldrazi Rampage

9 months ago

Welcome to the club, BIAxKatana!

Obligatory caveat that I'm not a Commander expert, so I might be missing some details. My first thought on looking at this deck is that there might be too many payoffs and not enough support. While cards like Exploration and Burgeoning are generally good ramp, with only 33 lands, minimal land searching, and not much repeatable draw, I don't expect this deck to get more than a couple of extra land drops each match.

How reliable are Fist of Suns and Jodah, Archmage Eternal for you? They combo well with Morophon, the Boundless, so how quickly can you get them and a full color suite active? Is it better to play Esika, God of the Tree  Flip or The Prismatic Bridge  Flip?

There could be some bad interactions between your counterspells and Mana Maze. Mana Maze supports your colorless creatures, but unless an opponent is playing heavy , countering one of their spells basically resets Mana Maze.

What is the role of Luxior, Giada's Gift and the assorted Jin-Gitaxias  Flipes?

seshiro_of_the_orochi on Untap lands?

10 months ago

I'm asumming it's about a cheap mana base, then? Relic of Legends and Honor-Worn Shaku can help with that. Who is the designatic commander? Esika, God of the Tree  Flip would propably be your best option. Cryptic Gateway could also help you cheat costs, as would Belbe's Portal.

NV_1980 on Sisay's Horny Spaceship

11 months ago

If this is deck is about what you consider to be sensual art, it's going to be quite the challenge for anyone else to provide you with useful suggestions (unless there are people who can actually read your mind without seeing you or have the exact same tastes that you have when it comes to sensuality :):)).

How about these:

Have fun with whatever it is you're doing here :)

Gidgetimer on Double-Faced Cards Commander

11 months ago

You needed to continue reading to rule 8 on https://mtgcommander.net/index.php/rules/ and consult 712.8a in the comprehensive rules.

"8. Being a commander is not a characteristic [MTG CR109.3], it is a property of the card and tied directly to the physical card. As such, “commander-ness” cannot be copied or overwritten by continuous effects. The card retains it’s commander-ness through any status changes, and is still a commander even when controlled by another player."

712.8a While a double-faced card is outside the game or in a zone other than the battlefield or stack, it has only the characteristics of its front face.

The physical card that is The Prismatic Bridge  Flip is still the same physical card that was Esika, God of the Tree  Flip and was chosen as the commander during deck construction when only the characteristics of the front face were considered. The Gatherer ruling you quoted is in reference to casting Revel in Silence  Flip or Beyeen Veil  Flipat instant speed despite their other sides not being able to be played at instant speed; or playing Tergrid, God of Fright  Flip with a Archon of Valor's Reach out naming artifacts.

MetaBenji on Double-Faced Cards Commander

11 months ago

I would argue that you can have Esika, God of the Tree  Flip as a commander but the flip slide; The Prismatic Bridge  Flip, cannot be cast as it is a non creature thus barring it from commander status. A commander must be a legendary creature and can be casted from the command zone.

On [https://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Esika%2C%20God%20of%20the%20Tree]

Under rulings: 2/5/2021
To determine whether it is legal to play a modal double-faced card, consider only the characteristics of the face you're playing and ignore the other face's characteristics.

On [https://mtgcommander.net/index.php/rules/]

under rules 1 and 6

1.Players choose a legendary creature as the commander for their deck.

6.Commanders begin the game in the Command Zone. While a commander is in the command zone, it may be cast, subject to the normal timing restrictions for casting creatures...

On [https://magic.wizards.com/en/formats/commander]

under rules/modifiers header

...In this casual, multiplayer format, you choose a legendary creature to serve as your commander...

under command zone header

...At the start of the game, each player puts their commander face up into the command zone. A commander can be cast from the command zone for its normal costs...

I interpret this as: if you play the enchantment The Prismatic Bridge  Flip, you ignore the fact that it is attached to the spell Esika, God of the Tree  Flip, which makes the player cast a non creature/non commander spell from the command zone which is an illegal action through virtue of the mtg official site's stated rules.

Full disclosure: I played against this commander last night and was curious as to the rulings regarding dual sided legendary creatures. It could very well be bias on my part against this card in my interpretation as we were decimated by the player.

Load more
Have (3) Azdranax , JordanSanFran , PrismMTG
Want (2) mflint , pnkghst9