Headless Rider

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Pre-release Legal
Standard Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal

Headless Rider

Creature — Zombie

Whenever this or another nontoken Zombie you control dies (is put into the graveyard from the battlefield), create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token.

Zarthalius on Endless Death

1 week ago

Black Market can also get out of hand when doing sac combos. Also, imagine it's charge after a board wipe. Would anyone even want to board wipe if you had Blasting Station out? You'd easily be able to get another zombie out so you can keep recasting and sacing Gravecrawler to the station with all that black market mana.

Thinking more about that for-mentioned combo, you don't even need to sac the zombie token. You only need to sac Gravecrawler to the station (1 dmg). Make a token (if Headless Rider is out). Cast Gravecrawler from the graveyard, untap the station. Repeat. You'd get your zombie swarm and gravecrawler would be doing 1 dmg per cycle.

Zarthalius on Endless Death

1 week ago

I came across an interesting zombie deck the other day: blasting zombies

It uses Blasting Station.

It's idea isn't exactly "swarm with zombies" but rather it wants to fling dead corps around for 1 dmg each. I like it because in a singleton format, having another option is helpful. It actually can be pretty good; say you have a problem with your opponents board state, blast their creatures. Maybe someone is almost dead, blast their face. Though it'll be half the dmg, you don't have to wait off summoning sickness or chance not getting through blocks.

You already have Headless Rider and Gravecrawler in your deck so its just a 1 card addition.

That linked deck uses Zulaport Cutthroat for extra dmg but you have Ayara, First of Locthwain which will work just as well.

Here's How it Works:

Blasting Station + Headless Rider + maybe Ayara, First of Locthwain all out on the battlefield.

  1. Sac Gravecrawler to the station (1 dmg), create a zombie from the Rider, untap the station.
  2. Sac the zombie token to the station (1 dmg), cast Gravecrawler from the graveyard, untap the station.
  3. Repeat for # of untapped swamps.

Zarthalius on Endless Death

2 weeks ago

Sac Gravecrawler to Phyrexian Altar with Diregraf Colossus or better Headless Rider = Infinite Zombie Tokens

In the above combo, subing Phyrexian Altar out with Carrion Feeder = 1Zombie per 1Swamp And Carrion Feeder Gets Big

All these zombies ETBing make Champion of the Perished get crazy big (x2 faster then Carrion Feeder).

You may want to consider Liliana, Untouched By Death (-3 ability) and Shambling Ghast (Search the Body) plus a sac outlet. Those together make a 1 turn infinite cycle good for growing Carrion Feeder, growing Champion of the Perished, and generating infinite zombie tokens like Phyrexian Altar can. Liliana, Untouched By Death's -3 ability effectively turns Shambling Ghast, Carrion Feeder, Champion of the Perished, and Cryptbreaker into Gravecrawlers for 1 turn. Basically, she'll increase your consistency getting those infinite (and per mana) combos rolling.

nathanl69 on New Gisa and Geralf

1 month ago

Some good budget lands Dismal Backwater Waterfront District Check this site out for more https://managathering.com/duallands/Dimir.html

Interesting cards you might like Tainted Indulgence Tormod, the Desecrator Headless Rider

mrweaselman on Walking Dead

3 months ago

Headless Rider is better here than Open the Graves and Lord of the Accursed is better than Graf Harvest, I would recommend running 3-4 of each. You can cut the enchantments, Risen Executioner because it's basically Lord of the Accursed, and Foulmire Knight. Go up one Death Baron for the deathtouch you're taking out, then you'll still have 8 sources with Diregraf Captain.

StoryArcher on Does Headless Rider + Damnation …

5 months ago

I'm working on a Zombie deck that takes advantage of Damnation, among other things. If I have Headless Rider and let's say two other non-token Zombies in play and I cast Damnation, will that result in three 2/2 Zombie tokens?

To take the interaction further, let's say that the three zombies that I have in play are Headless Rider, Undead Augur and Plague Belcher. Would it be correct to say that, when Damnation is cast and resolves, I will have 3x 2/2/ Zombie tokens, draw 3 cards, lose 3 life and have my opponent lose 3 life?

Massacar on Willys Combo Factory

5 months ago

Nice deck! It's pretty similar to my own (we even have the same CMC lol), so I wanted to highlight some combos you have in there that you might have missed.

Phyrexian Altar + Gravecrawler + Champion of the Perished = Biggest Perish

Diregraf Colossus/Headless Rider + Gravecrawler + Phyrexian Altar = Infinite tokens/Huge Colossus

Diregraf Captain + Gravecrawler + Phyrexian Altar = Kill your opponents

If you're at all interested in comparing our lists, mine's over at


Rot and Bother

Commander / EDH* Massacar

SCORE: 11 | 4 COMMENTS | 505 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS


Load more
Have (0)
Want (1) Lunar_Wing