Dual Casting

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Dual Casting

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature Enchanted creature has "R, {T}: Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. You may choose new targets for the copy."

Azoth2099 on Repanse De Lyonesse (Knight Tribal and Recursion)

1 year ago

Rizikar

De nada. If copying Buried Alive is what you wanna do. You could run stuff like Fork, Reverberate, Reiterate, Increasing Vengeance, Dual Casting, Dualcaster Mage...lots of options!

SirHipHopHippo on You'll Wish You Had One With Nothing

1 year ago

Max_Hammer

Thanks for the suggestion! I worry about Dual Casting, there aren't a lot of creatures in the deck, though I guess I could always enchant a snake! I wouldn't want to enchant Xyris because I like to attack with Xyris to add 3 more cards to my opponents hand so that Sudden Impact or Gaze of Adamaro hurt more. If I attack with Xyris while it's enchanted it will be tapped from combat. I'm thinking about adding Primal Amulet  Flip though

Max_Hammer on You'll Wish You Had One With Nothing

1 year ago

Psst, try Dual Casting for a copy effect.

1empyrean on Krark & Ikra Spellslinger/Lifegain EDH

1 year ago

Triton - Thanks for the suggestions. My main reason for artifact ramp is that if Krark is out, it's more straight forward to ramp with artifacts. If Krark isn't out I feel like I'm missing out. Since I recently made so many changes, I'll test the deck with Nature's Lore and Three Visit's to see if they might fit better now than before.

I planned on adding Wort but wanted to test Dual Casting first. At 2 mana, I think it's a bit easier to use.

Taillas on Burning Frogs

2 years ago

Made several changes recently to improve the deck. Nivix Guildmage was replaced with Ral, Storm Conduit, who does the same thing without ongoing mana costs. The number of Enigma Drakes has been increased to 4 to take advantage of the large number of instants in the deck. Primal Amulet  Flip was replaced with Dual Casting, which provides copy-power much faster. Flame Javelin was also added for situations where the deck needs a little more damage, such as sniping planeswalkers or finishing off players. Experimental Overload was added as a late-game play to take advantage of casting.

abby315 on Riku! Reku! Rikoo!

3 years ago

Here are my picks for weakest cards, without much justification except that for the most part I don't see them doing anything important with Riku, too expensive for what they do, or are too specific:

Spore Frog
Animist's Awakening
Desperate Ritual
Parcelbeast
Reshape the Earth
Sakura-Tribe Scout
Savage Ventmaw
Seething Song
Deconstruct
Hypergenesis
Sunbird's Invocation
Pull from the Deep Volcanic Vision
Wild Ricochet
Hazoret's Undying Fury
Brainstorm
Surrak Dragonclaw
Swarm Intelligence
Dual Casting
Volcanic Torrent
Decimate (since you need all legal targets, it can be awk to cascade into this one)
Amulet of Vigor
Trinket Mage
Murkfiend Liege
Wort, the Raidmother
Mana Reflection
Genesis Ultimatum
Cast Through Time

And I'm also recommending cutting all of your X spells that can be hit and missed with Cascade: Electrodominance
Genesis Wave

However, I'll echo what another commenter said in that cascade doesn't interact with Riku all that much. I mean, you can copy the permanents or spells cast off of Cascade, but you can't meaningfully copy the Cascade cards. You could choose to cut the Cascade package instead. It's up to you and what you want to play.

So that's my first evil pass at 30 cuts. :)

Tylord2894 on card:Kalamax, the Stormsire tapped by …

4 years ago

You will not get a copy from Kalamax.

The triggered ability on Kalamax contains an intervening-if clause. The condition for this clause is checked when the ability would trigger and when it tries to resolve. Since Kalamax was not tapped when you cast the spell, you don't get the trigger from Kalamax. Similarly, if Kalamax does trigger but is somehow untapped before the trigger resolves, the trigger will do nothing.

Important note, copying a spell doesn't count as casting a spell either. So copying a spell with Dual Casting will not trigger Kalamax either.

Hope this helps!!

MESS1802 on card:Kalamax, the Stormsire tapped by …

4 years ago

Suppose Kalamax, the Stormsire is enchanted with Dual Casting. Assume he is currently untapped and you have not cast any instants yet this turn.
If you cast an instant spell, then respond to your casting of said instant spell by copying it by tapping Kalamax from Dual Casting’s ability, will you also get the copy from Kalamax’s own ability?
I guess the question it boils down to is does Kalamax’s first ability check if he is tapped upon triggering or resolving?

Load more
Have (1) Va1mar
Want (0)