|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Saviors of Kamigawa (SOK)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Sakashima the Impostor
Legendary Creature — Human Rogue
You may have Sakashima the Impostor enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except its name is still Sakashima the Impostor, it's legendary in addition to its other types, and it gains ": Return Sakashima the Impostor to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step."
Commander Recommendations Start Commander Deck
Latest as Commander
Sakashima the Impostor Discussion
2 days ago
I might actually make a filthy casul Sakashima the Impostor deck instead. I could go all-in copying and stealing things. Also it would be weeb as heck which makes it top tier imo. I feel like every game would be interesting because the deck's performance would depend on my matchups too.
1 week ago
Update 19.02.08: Played about seven or eight games now with this deck, and it has won around four times.
Cuts & Additions after play -
2 weeks ago
3 weeks ago
The answer is different depending on whether the Sakashima in your example is currently copying something else. If it isn't copying anything then the answer also depends on whether you choose to copy something or not.
First example - Sakashima is copying something: Let's say Sakashima the Impostor is pretending to be a Bear Cub , meaning it's a Legendary Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor" with no other abilities. Helm of the Host will create a copy of that creature and remove the Legendary supertype, resulting in a Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor" with no other abilities. The legend rule won't apply because it's not legendary.
Second example part 1 - Sakashima is not copying anything and you choose not to copy anything with the token: Sakashima is currently a Legendary Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". Helm of the Host will make a copy and remove the Legendary supertype. If you choose not to copy anything as the token enters the battlefield then it results in a Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". The legend rule won't apply because it's not legendary.
Second example part 2 - Sakashima is not copying anything and you do choose to copy something with the token: Sakashima is currently a Legendary Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". Helm of the Host will make a copy and remove the Legendary supertype. If you choose to copy Bear Cub with the token as it enters the battlefield then the token's copy effect will add the Legendary supertype (Sakashima's current Oracle text has been clarified a bit to say "it's legendary in addition to its other types"). It results in a Legendary Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor". The legend rule will apply and you need to choose one Sakashima to keep and get rid of the other one.
3 weeks ago
Let's say I have both Sakashima the Impostor and Helm of the Host on the field, and I equip the helm onto Sakashima and move to combat. Helm creates a non-legendary token, but on Sakashima it says that if it copies a creature, it retains its name and legendary supertype. Would the Sakashimas stick around, or does the legend rule still apply?
4 weeks ago
This is a challenging tribe to build around. I would recommend checking out Saffron Olive's video on finding the competitive advantage of your tribe. Also, Tomer built a phoenix tribal deck for Commander Clash not too long ago. Watch the end to see how he wins, because it's pretty great.
In terms of specific cards, I think Mana Echoes would go well, since you need a lot of mana to enable phoenixes. Thundermaw Hellkite could be good. Lose Temple of the False God and Dormant Volcano , though, because those are awful cards. The former because it's useless as a 3rd, 4th, or 5th land, and the latter because it's just asking to be strip-mined and is both slow and makes colorless mana.
Finally, you might want to consider adding a second color. For example, in blue, you gain access to Favorable Winds , Gravitational Shift (It's freaking Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite in your deck), Sprite Noble , Stormtide Leviathan , Windstorm Drake , Warden of Evos Isle , Windreader Sphinx , Kindred Discovery , Call to the Kindred , Distant Melody , Mistform Warchief , Faces of the Past , Riptide Shapeshifter , Saheeli's Artistry , Sakashima's Student , Sakashima the Impostor , Metamorphic Alteration , Phantasmal Image , Clone , Quicksilver Gargantuan , Protean Raider , Mirror Image , Gigantoplasm , Stunt Double , Clever Impersonator , Dack's Duplicate , Phyrexian Metamorph , Coastal Piracy , and Bident of Thassa .
In white, you get Archon of Redemption , Energy Storm , Magus of the Moat (and Moat if you have unlimited money), Radiant, Archangel , Serra Aviary , Soulcatcher , Spirit of the Spires , Harsh Mercy , Shared Triumph , Kindred Boon , Mirror Entity , Radiant Destiny , . Going into Jeskai also gives you Teferi's Moat and Thunderclap Wyvern .
1 month ago
Oh and you can run Sakashima the Impostor to get a second copy of Reaper King in play.
Finally there is Noxious Gearhulk . It would just be good utility and it would be another synergy card with Scarecrone.
1 month ago
OneItsStarted That's an interesting idea. I did have Sakashima the Impostor in there to double my draw triggers and Temur Sabertooth to bounce Toothy back for card draw. I do like that idea and will explore that direction a little more during my playtesting. Thanks!
Sakashima the Impostor occurrence in decks from the last year
Commander / EDH:
All decks: 0.01%