Mortician Beetle


Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Masters 2017 Edition (MM3) Common
Rise of the Eldrazi (ROE) Rare

Combos Browse all

Mortician Beetle

Creature — Insect

Whenever a player sacrifices a creature, you may put a +1/+1 counter on Mortician Beetle.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts




Recent Decks

Mortician Beetle Discussion

Araignee on Mortician Pauper

1 month ago

My original idea was that you can always sacrifice a goblin token generated by Mogg War Marshal or Kathari Bomber if Stingscourger is not around. Because they will still put counters on both Gavony Unhallowed and the Mortician Beetle and hit your opponent for five. But I am not sure how to balance it out with the other creatures... I meant it mosty as safeguard in case you get stuck in the beginning of the game with no Beetle out.

gamer.ray on Big Zombie Pauper

1 month ago

Me again ;-)

Maybe Fume Spitter could also be a good addition because of the "sac at will" option.

And of course the all-beloved Mortician Beetle ;-)

Hydronvanquisher on Can I pay a single ...

1 month ago

Understood and thanks for clarifying Mortician Beetle for me. I appreciate it!

sonnet666 on Can I pay a single ...

1 month ago

Long story short: Zulaport Cutthroat and Butcher of Malakir will both trigger 3 times. Mortician Beetle won't trigger at all. Your opponents will lose 3 life and sacrifice 3 creatures, and you will gain 3 life.

I don't know where you got the idea that Mortician Beetle "is in play before all the cards resolve." That's not what happens.

Here's what does happen:

  1. You sacrifice 3 zombies to cast Dread Return from your graveyard, targeting Mortician Beetle. (Sacrificing the 3 zombies is a COST to flashback Dread Return.)
  2. Zulaport Cutthroat and Butcher of Malakir both trigger at this time, along with anything else on the battlefield that triggers when creatures die. 3 of each trigger are waiting to be put on the stack. Mortician Beetle does not trigger, because it is not on the battlefield yet.
  3. Once you've finished casting Dread Return, the game moves to give you priority. Any triggers that were waiting to be put on the stack get placed there before you're given priority.
  4. Since you control all 6 triggers, you can put them on the stack in any order you'd like, but that probably won't matter.
  5. If no one has any responses the triggers start to resolve, starting with the last one you placed on the stack.
  6. Once all of the triggers have resolved (with a round of priority in between each for players to respond), there's one more round of priority before Dread Return finally resolves.
  7. Dread Return resolves, returning Mortician Beetle to the battlefield. (Any creature that dies after this step will trigger Mortician Beetle.)

Altar of Dementia doesn't even factor into the equation if you're paying for Dread Return.

Hydronvanquisher on Can I pay a single ...

1 month ago

I've seen some q&a about this in the Rules section but wanted to confirm.

Let's say I have a Zulaport Cutthroat, Butcher of Malakir, Altar of Dementia and several Zombie Tokens in play and a Dread Return and Mortician Beetle in my graveyard.

On my turn, I elect to sacrifice 3 of the zombie tokens to pay for the flashback cost of the Dread Return to move the Mortician Beetle back into play.

When this happens, do all the triggered abilities of the Zulaport Cutthroat and Butcher of Malakir take effect? If so, what about the triggered ability of the Mortician Beetle as it is in play before all the cards resolve? I would think that any cards my opponents had to sacrifice as a result of the Butcher of Malakir would take effect but not from my initial sacrifice.

I understand I can't pay a cost for multiple activated abilities (ie; the activated ability of Altar of Dementia won't occur) but didn't know how this applied to triggered abilities.

Thanks for any help you all can offer.

DarkStarStorm on Throw the Bourgeousie

2 months ago

It might be good to go down on two copies of Bloodthrone Vampire and add in a couple Mortician Beetles. You never want to be flooded on sac outlets.

Load more