Ravenous Rotbelly

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Ravenous Rotbelly

Creature — Zombie Horror

When this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice up to three Zombies. When you sacrifice one or more Zombies via this ability, each opponent sacrifices that many creatures.

ActionReplay on Zombies Wilhelt base

2 months ago

I am pretty new to working with Wilhelt, but I have made one of my own and was looking at what cards people put into theirs. I liked Grimoire of the Dead and Call to the Grave and may use them in my deck. I was wondering why you have some cards like Dread Shade or Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon. They are not zombies nor do they seem to synergize with your deck. Perhaps you could replace them with Gisa and Geralf,Ravenous Rotbelly or something else that synergizes with your deck. Lastly, I noticed you seen to have a decent amount of sacrifice in your deck have you considered adding cards like Dictate of Erebos, Ruthless Deathfang, or Butcher of Malakir. Hope things work out with your deck and that you have fun with it. Wilhelt has been a lot of fun for me so far and I hope you are having fun with it too.

Gidgetimer on Ravenous Rotbelly removal in response …

7 months ago

Because Ravenous Rotbelly doesn't target, the affected creatures are chosen during the resolution of the ability. No player receives priority while a spell or ability is resolving, so your opponents will not be able to take any actions between the zombies being chosen, being sacrificed, and the opponents sacrificing creatures. If they need an explanation of who gets priority when it is in CR117, but I am not going to quote the whole thing here.

115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”

115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target.

Polaris on Ravenous Rotbelly removal in response …

7 months ago

Your opponent can go ahead and destroy creatures before you sacrifice, because there's a round of priority before the ETB trigger resolves. However, you do not have to announce which creatures you're sacrificing until the trigger resolves.

There are a few ways this could have happened. One is that you played Ravenous Rotbelly and immediately announced sacrifices. This would be your bad for not waiting to see if the opponent has a response.

If the opponent has indicated they will not respond and then tries to respond once you announce your sacrifices, that's their bad. Your ability is currently resolving and they can't respond until after you sac your creatures.

With that said, even if this does happen like this (you announce sacrifices without checking if the opponent was going to respond to the trigger, then your opponent says "hold on, I had a response") you can still sacrifice different creatures, because until the trigger starts resolving you're just saying you want to sacrifice creatures, not actually doing it.

Chaospyke on Ravenous Rotbelly removal in response …

7 months ago

My Ravenous Rotbelly enters the battle. I announce which creatures I'm going to sac. My opponent wants to destroy my two creatures before they are sacced but after I've announced them.

What are some rulings/rules showing him that my creatures can't be targeted/ there is no point in which he'd have priority to target my creatures.

Thank you in advance.

multimedia on Hercules23

9 months ago

Hey, you always ask me what my take is on a Commander, but not your own thoughts. What are your thoughts on Wilhelt, the Rotcleaver? How about you build a deck with him and show it to me?

I'm excited about Wilhelt, the Rotcleaver, already added him as well as Crowded Crypt to my Varina deck. Also added Champion of the Perished, Shipwreck Marsh, Deserted Beach from Midnight Hunt. On the fence about adding Curse of the Restless Dead, Ravenous Rotbelly and Ghoul's Night Out from the precon and a few other budget cards from Midnight Hunt such as Infernal Grasp and Siege Zombie.

If Tainted Adversary keeps dropping in price then he has potential. I don't except The Meathook Massacre to drop in price at all, but if it does it also has potential. Empty the Laboratory in the precon seems powerful and Vanquish the Horde from Hunt, but I'm avoiding all and cards because of the budget manabase. All of the new Zombies in the precon are fine cards, but other than Wilhelt the rest are not better four/five drops then already current Zombies and other four/five drops.

I like Varina better as Zombie Commander than Wilhelt.