Skaab Ruinator

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Innistrad (ISD) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Skaab Ruinator

Creature — Zombie Horror

As an additional cost to cast Skaab Ruinator, exile 3 creature cards from your graveyard.FlyingYou may cast Skaab Ruinator from your graveyard.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

ISD

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Skaab Ruinator Discussion

casmiel on W/U Zombie Midrange

2 months ago

W/U is probably one of the worst possible colors a Zombie deck can play to be honest. Almost all the creatures have the powerlevel of draft leftovers. I don't want to discredit your deckbuilding or anything. It's just that U/W Zombie creatures hardly have the punch for even casual matches. You are doing your best to make them work somehow but the ceiling of power you can achieve in these colors is really low. Just wanted to make sure that is clear, leaving out Black Mana hurts the entire tribe on a massive scale, it's like Merfolk without Blue or Goblins without Red.

If you are really bent on doing this, I would definitely remove In Oketra's Name and at least 2 Unconventional Tactics. They aren't impactful enough overall and are card disadvantage that make the opponent's removal better. Outside of Infect, Elves or Double Strike, pump spells just don't have the necessary punch. I'd play the full 4 Path to Exile and Serum Visions. If you want to go further down the Tribal Road, there is Metallic Mimic, Always Watching and Obelisk of Urd. Binding Mummy is also the best pure white Zombie there is, the Eternal of Harsh Truths will just get blocked for days or removed, it does way too little for 3 mana. Dusk / Dawn is also okay here (not with Obelisk/Always Watching), there is not that big of chance that you get to cast Skaab Ruinator anyways. Definitely not before Turn 4, where Dusk could strike. Snapcaster Mage could get some recycling done for card advantage, some Mana Leak and 1-2 Logic Knot are also OK additions.

jozef on W/U Zombie Midrange

2 months ago

Skaab Ruinator, Metallic Mimic, andPhantasmal Image come to mind. I second Mutavault, and would consider 1x Cavern of Souls, or more.

MindAblaze on Let's Make a W/U Zombies ...

2 months ago

Hmmm...UW self-mill with Embalm creatures and anthems? There's a few blue zombies that toss cards off the top, and Innistrads Skaabs liked to eat creature cards in the graveyard. Skaab Ruinator for example. Then, if you curve into embalm or curve into Skaabs you're winning either way because you have created access to the resources.

TheStraydog on 1-4 mana zombies

2 months ago

For any other even remotely respectable zombie that is flying than Stromgald Crusader you need to splash blue.

Like Skaab Ruinator

Yesterday on Does Panharmonicon's ability still work ...

4 months ago

Thanks. So just to confirm, Reassembling Skeleton enters directly from the graveyard and so triggers River Kelpie's first ability (twice with Panharmonicon), but Skaab Ruinator doesn't count as entering the battlefield from the graveyard if it uses the stack to be cast from the graveyard, so only triggers River Kelpie's second ability and not the first?

Neotrup on Does Panharmonicon's ability still work ...

4 months ago

Deathbringer Regent triggers twice, but it won't activate the second time unless there are still 5 or more other creatures, because it has an intervening if clause. So if 5 creatures regenerate, it will try to kill them again, but if only 4 regenerate, it won't bother.

River Kelpie will trigger twice if a creature enters the battlefield from the graveyard, but only once if you cast a spell from the graveyard. In other words, it triggers twice from Reassembling Skeleton, but once from Skaab Ruinator.

You are correct in what it refers to, as well as anything with the phrase "as thic enters" the other thing of note would be things that enter with counters don't enter with additional counters.

Yesterday on Does Panharmonicon's ability still work ...

4 months ago

I have a two examples here that I'm looking to check.

I have a Panharmonicon on the field and I cast a Deathbringer Regent from my hand which successfully hits the battlefield. I appreciate that under most normal circumstances the ability activating twice wouldn't matter, but it does activate twice, right?

A more practical example is if I have a River Kelpie on the battlefield and I cast a Skaab Ruinator from the graveyard with a Panharmonicon on the battlefield - I get to draw a card from casting Skaab Ruinator from my graveyard, and I get to draw two cards from it entering the battlefield from the graveyard?

Finally, the rulings on the Gatherer site for Panharmonicon specify that replacement effects don't occur twice due to Panharmonicon being on the field. Correct me if I'm wrong, but this refers to creatures with Persist/Undying, and Clone effects, is that right? Is there anything else of note that doesn't trigger?

Love-in-Theory on AINT NO PARTY like an UNDEAD party..

4 months ago

Skaab Ruinator is only 3 Cmc 5/6 that can fly.

Undead Alchemist maybe?

Cellar Door kinda sucks, but hey zombies!

Zombie tribal has always been one of my favorite tribal decks to play. If I come up with any more suggestions, I'll send them your way!

Load more