|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Return to Ravnica||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Elemental
Exile an instant or sorcery spell you control: Put two +1/+1 counters on Nivmagus Elemental.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Nivmagus Elemental Discussion
3 days ago
Rhadamanthus is entirely correct, but more information on countering spells for the sake of information.
Casting a spell that has targets requires a target for each instance of target. For example, you can only cast Cancel when there is a spell on the stack. If your opponent is attacking with a creature, but not casting a spell, you cannot cast Cancel. If your opponent then casts Giant Growth to make their creature bigger, you can cast Cancel to stop Giant Growth, but the creature will still be attacking and will still deal damage if you don't block or do something else to stop the damage.
If you had Lost in the Mist instead, when the creature attacked you would not be able to cast Lost in the Mist as you would need a spell to target. When they then cast Giant Growth you can target both Giant Growth and the Attacking creature.
The rules can also counter spells, if their targets are not legal. Same example as before, but this time we'll use Unsummon. When the creature attacks, you can use Unsummon to return it to it's owners hand to prevent the damage, but let's assume you won't. When you're opponent casts Giant Growth now you can cast Unsummon the attacking creature.If you do, not only will the creature be returned, but Giant Growth will be countered, because when it goes to resolve the creature won't be there. The countering isn't really important here, because the spell doesn't have anything to do.
Same as the previous example, with you having unsummon, but this time your opponent casts Sudden Strength instead of Giant Growth. Once again you cast unsummon and when Sudden Strength tries to resolve it's countered because it's target is gone. Not only does the +3/+3 not happen because the creatures gone, but they don't draw a card either, because the spell was countered.
If a spell has multiple targets, and only one of them is gone, the spell still resolves doing whatever it can for the targets it has. We'll go back to the Lost in the Mist example, and specify that your opponent is attacking with Nivmagus Elemental. When they cast Giant Growth you cast Lost in the Mist targeting both Giant Growth and the Elemental. Even if they use Nivmagus Elemental's ability to exile Giant Growth (making it an illegal target for Lost in the Mist), Lost in the Mist will still have at least one valid target and will resolve to the best of it's ability. It will not counter any spell, because that target was illegal, but it will return the Elemental to it's owner's hand, saving you from the attack.
3 days ago
Thanks for all the constructive criticism! I'm currently searching for/acquiring a superior mana base, but the Guildgates, Ancient Amphitheater and Transguild Promenade etc. were all I had lying around for the moment. I'll definitely look for those suggested lands; and thanks for the link too!
My only reservation with Heroic creature creation is that none of the copies I create from Ink-Treader Nephilim or Zada, Hedron Grinder count as spells that are cast, so he wouldn't resolve. He would be a good alternative to Nivmagus Elemental if I wanted to focus more on flooding the board.
Do you think that substituting the extra copies of Zada, Hedron Grinder would push my mana curve a bit too far into the midgame? The Wall of Omens copies really help stall to get Ink-Treader Nephilim out, and Marble Titan keeps midrange aggro decks from murdering me outright, but perhaps copying spells would be more pertinent.
I also realized I should have typed the purpose of most of the cards in my description, which I will likely redo soon.
Anyway, thanks for all the tips! It's quite the enjoyable deck to play, when Ink-Treader Nephilim doesn't get instantly murdered.
5 days ago
1 week ago
Answers have clarified two scenarios:
You would like to cast Remand without targets, just to draw a card. You can't
You would like to cast Remand targeting an uncounterable spell (like Abrupt Decay) just to draw a card. You can, and the uncounterable spell will obviouly not be countered
There is also a third case, when you cast Remand on a valid target, but for some reason the target spell disappears before Remand can resolve (for example, if the opponent casts an instant spell, you then try to Remand it and the opponent in response removes his or her instant spell from the stack with a Nivmagus Elemental)
From my understanding, quoting the "fizzle" Rule 608.2b ("The spell or ability is countered if all its targets, for every instance of the word target, are now illegal"), the resolving Remand can't find the its target instant spell anywhere and it is countered by the rule (it "fizzles"). A countered spell will not resolve in its entirety, so you won't even get to draw a card
2 weeks ago
Is there anything that can help tutor up Nivmagus Elemental? I love its synergy with cipher, but my deck built around it flops if I don't draw it early. If I mull I'm pretty much boned since Nivvy is dependent on the number of spells I can cast.
1 month ago
Young Pyromancer is always fun with this many instant/sorceries
Guttersnipe ditto to above reasons
Just some thoughts.... Good luck
1 month ago
why put it on a stick, when you can Harness the Storm for your own use?
2 months ago
I love that you did this on the cheap! It reminds me of my Elemental shotgun on a budget May I ask what is its consistency? I confess I did not read all the comments here, but might you have considered adding Nivmagus Elemental to improve consistency? What's your thoughts?I gave you a vote!