Lavabelly Sliver

Lavabelly Sliver

Creature — Sliver

Sliver creatures you control have "When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life."

Browse Alters

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Horizons (MH1) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Block Constructed Legal
Vintage Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Highlander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Modern Legal
Leviathan Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Legacy Legal
Limited Legal
Custom Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Lavabelly Sliver occurrence in decks from the last year

Latest Decks as Commander

Lavabelly Sliver Discussion

DragonSliver9001 on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

2 instances of the same keyword don't do anything because they operate simultaneously. if a permanent gains the same ability twice, the permanent is treated as though it had that text printed twice. in the case of a keyword, this doesn't mean anything, but triggered abilities are separate. they trigger and resolve separately.

think of it as similar to Common Bond. each line of text is exactly the same, yet they happen independently of each other.

also keep in mind that i've been using Lavabelly Sliver in my fnm deck ever since its been released. i've had judges called multiple times, and it definitely stacks, which is why i also have Phantasmal Image in the deck.

Caerwyn on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

Abilities are only redundant if the ability specifically says they are. Take Flying--the ability you cited--Rule 702.9c specifically states: "Multiple instances of flying on the same creature are redundant."

That is why flying is redundant; not because it seems like it should be redundant, but because the Rules specifically state that it is redundant.

There is no such restriction on Lavabelly Sliver's ability. Without a specific rule establishing redundancy, the ability is not redundant; therefore each Lavabelly Sliver will add a new instance of the same ability, which is exactly what was described above. Each instance will trigger separately, so each will provide a separate resolution (with each resolution being 1 damage and 1 life).

vic on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

What you guys are describing would be as if the Lavabelly Sliver's text read as follows:

"Whenever this creature or another sliver enters the battlefield under your control, Lavabelly Sliver deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life."

THAT would deal the 4 damage if two of them hit your board at once. Does that make sense?

Rhadamanthus on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

vic: If there is one Lavabelly Sliver on the battlefield then Woodland Changeling's abilities will be

  • Changeling
  • When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life

If there are two Lavabelly Slivers on the battlefield then Woodland Changeling's abilities will be

  • Changeling
  • When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life
  • When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life

Does that make more sense? Because it affects itself, a single Lavabelly Sliver on the battlefield will have:

  • Sliver creatures you control have "When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life"
  • When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life

And what we were trying to express earlier is that if two Lavabelly Slivers enter the battlefield at the same time, they'll both have:

  • Sliver creatures you control have "When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life"
  • When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life
  • When this creature enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and you gain 1 life

That's why you get two triggers from each of them.

DragonSliver9001 on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

Lavabelly Sliver stacks with itself. imagine all of that text being printed on the card twice.

so if i have 2 Lavabelly Sliver and play another sliver, thats 2 damage and 2 life because the new sliver would have 2 instances of the same etb, that each trigger separately.

exact same reason that if i have 2 Predatory Sliver on the field, all slivers get +2/+2.

Rhadamanthus on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

They don't just affect themselves. "Sliver creatures you control gain..." means it gives the ability to all of your slivers, including itself, so in this example each Lavabelly Sliver gives the ability to itself and to the other one. They both end up with two separate instances of the triggered "When this creature enters the battlefield..." ability.

Rhadamanthus on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

vic: Because of how Lavabelly Sliver works, both of them will have two instances of the "when this creature enters the battlefield" ability when they enter the battlefield. That means each of them will trigger twice for itself for a total of 4 triggers.

DragonSliver9001 on What is the priority order …

2 months ago

vic: Essence Warden would work in that scenario. basically any time a creature etb's, all etb effects are checked, even if the creature with the etb entered simultaneously. that's why in modern i can play a Collected Company, hit 2 Lavabelly Sliver, and then deal 4 damage and gain 4 life.

Load more