Target creature you control deals damage equal to its power to target player.
Jump-start (You may cast this card from your graveyard by discarding a card in addition to paying its other costs. Then exile this card.)
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
|Commander: Rule 0||Legal|
Latest Decks as Commander
Gravitic Punch Discussion
2 months ago
+1 for the neat interaction between Riku and the Ravager! Fun deck concept. I'd like to offer a list of cards that seem appropriate, for your consideration.
3 months ago
1: No. The source of the damage is usually defined by the effect dealing the damage. Fling says "Fling deals damage equal to the sacrificed creature's power to any target." This means the source of the damage is Fling, not the sacrificed Giant, so Calamity Bearer doesn't apply. For a counterexample, Gravitic Punch would work the way you're hoping because it says "Target creature you control deals damage equal to its power to target player," so the Giant would be the source of the damage.
2: Also no. Calamity Bearer's ability is a static ability, which means it's in effect whenever Calamity Bearer is in play. Since you sacrificed Calamity Bearer, it will be in the graveyard when Surtland Flinger 's ability resolves and it won't double the damage. However, if you used something like Supernatural Stamina on your Calamity Bearer before sacrificing it, it would be in play when the damage trigger resolved and would double the damage.
Side notes: Calamity Bearer is not the "target" for the sacrifice (this matters because you could still sacrifice it if it had shroud, or protection from red, both of which would prevent it from being targeted by Surtland Flinger).
Surtland Flinger's attack trigger is actually two triggers. When it attacks, the ability triggers with no target, and as the trigger resolves you may choose to sacrifice a creature. If you do, it triggers the second part, which goes on the stack with a target and deals damage when it resolves.
10 months ago
You might like these: Curiosity (very strong on Brallin), Ophidian Eye, Tandem Lookout, Sigil of Sleep, Neko-Te, Torbran, Thane of Red Fell, Mindmoil, Arjun, the Shifting Flame, Chasm Skulker, Spark Double, Bag of Holding, Astral Slide, Gravitic Punch, Quasiduplicate, Drogskol Reaver, Jace's Archivist
11 months ago
Hey, on a budget well done upgrading the precon. Nice upgrades of Ral with Reverberate/Vengeance for the combo, Settlement/Encampment/Drum, Hippocamp, Brainstorm, Dig, Within, Shift, Passage.
Some budget cards to consider adding:
- Narset's Reversal: can be repeatable for two mana to copy any instant/sorcery that's cast. The copy that Kalamax makes can target and bounce the original Reversal back to your hand to cast again on the next turn and Kalamax can make a copy of one instant on each player's turn.
- Expansion / Explosion: another Fork to combo with Ral or a mass draw/damage spell with lots of mana.
- Gravitic Punch: with Kalamax and a Fork this can kill three opponents and cast it again from your graveyard.
- Cultivator's Caravan: three drop rainbow mana rock that can also be a repeatable source of tap for Kalamax (crew 3 is another instant way to tap Kalamax).
- Return of the Wildspeaker: it can draw a lot of cards with high power Kalamax and/or give Kalamax/Drakes/Birds/Elementals +3/+3 or even +6/+6 to potentially kill one/more opponents.
- Roiling Regrowth: like Harrow, but the lands ETB tapped.
- Cascade Bluffs: Double Masters version is less than $4.
- Shivan Reef: Commander 2020 version is $1.
- Rootbound Crag
- Sulfur Falls
If you like any of these suggestions I offer more advice about what cards to cut. Good luck with deck.
1 year ago
Well, I really was not aware of Chandra's Ignition, in my decklist I go for Gravitic Punch and Fling / Thud, instead. Your list is way more sophisticated than mine, I might have to get some inspiration from your combos. To utilize Mindslaver the way you do is mean at a genius level!
1 year ago
Hey, on a budget something that the precon lacks are ways to tap Kalamax. Attacking is the best way to tap Kalamax, but if you can't attack then you want to be able to tap Kalamax other ways.
- Springleaf Drum
- Holdout Settlement
- Survivors' Encampment
- Cultivator's Caravan: crew can tap Kalamax.
These cards can make mana that gives them other uses then just tapping Kalamax. Settlement/Encampment are nice because they're lands, they don't use valuable spots in the deck and Crop Rotation can search for one of them.
You've already added Reverberate for a Fork effect which is great, but the other piece of the combo is Ral, Storm Conduit which is the win condition when you make the copy Reverberate loop with Kalamax. Even without the Fork combo, Ral is a good card because he too can be a repeatable source to copy an instant or even a sorcery you cast. Expansion / Explosion, Increasing Vengeance and Insidious Will are other budget instant Forks.
Your own sorceries are very good with Fork effects and tapped Kalamax. This combination lets you resolve three copies of a sorcery (original and two copies of it). If you have three opponents then Gravitic Punch can be a win condition with a Fork and an infinite power Kalamax. The jumpstart lets you cast it again if that is needed. Reclaim and Regrowth are helpful to recur cards especially a Fork or draw spell, but they can also recur a creature.
Return of the Wildspeaker modes are good with Kalamax. The first one can draw a lot of cards with a high power Kalamax and the second can give all nonHuman creatures +6/+6. This second mode can be a potential win condition with cards that can create tokens such as Talrand, Murmuring, Xyris, Young Pyromancer and Saheeli, Sublime Artificer.
Capsize can be powerful with Kalamax. For five mana cast it with buyback, bounce any two permanents and then return it to your hand.
Good luck with your deck.
1 year ago
The wording on Gravitic Punch says the creature will deal damage. If Gravitic Punch was dealing the damage instead, it would read, "Gravitic Punch deals damage equal to target creature's power to target player."
Since Gravitic Punch says the target creature will deal damage, that creature is the source of the damage (Gravitic Punch is merely allowing the creature to deal damage in a situation outside of the norm, and dictating how much is done: "equal to its power" rather than, say, "equal to its toughness" or "equal to its power plus two" or something else along those lines).
1 year ago
I guess my question was to the word equal on Gravitic Punch.
Had me thinking that the effect would not be dealt by Malignus