Copy Artifact

Copy Artifact

Enchantment

You may have Copy Artifact enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact on the battlefield, except it's an enchantment in addition to its other types.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) Azdranax
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Copy Artifact Discussion

Polaris on How do copy enchantments and …

1 week ago

There's a distinction you have to understand between an enchantment and an enchantment card. It might also be helpful to refer to the Oracle text here, since it's been updated quite a bit from the wordy and hard-to-follow original:

You may have Copy Artifact enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact on the battlefield, except it’s an enchantment in addition to its other types.

Copy Artifact is an enchantment card except when it's in play. In play, it's an enchantment artifact (might have other types) if it's copying something, or just an enchantment if for some reason you played it but decided not to copy anything.

While it's copying something, it has the attributes of the artifact, plus the enchantment type from its ability. If it's ever not on the battlefield, the ability that makes it a copy of an artifact is no longer in effect and it's a blue enchantment card named Copy Artifact (this also applies to other zones like exile, yes).

With only a few exceptions, abilities do not work outside the battlefield. The main exception is if they specifically talk about the card being in a different zone. For example, Lochmere Serpent 's last ability lets you pay to return itself from your graveyard to your hand. Since this ability moves the card from the graveyard, it works in the graveyard instead of on the battlefield.

Etep_Zerus on How do copy enchantments and …

1 week ago

For example if I used Copy Artifact on Thran Dynamo and someone blew up the copy, would the copy still be an artifact enchantment in my graveyard or would it return to its original text?

Furthermore, does the same ruling apply to other zones like exile?

Tzefick on An Avengers-like team up card

3 weeks ago

Would be a cool card, even though it's a bit jank.

Kinda sad that it doesn't work in Commander, as the format doesn't recognize cards that exists outside your decks and possibly Companions.

I really wish the Commander board committee would remove the rule on effects that refer to cards outside the game doesn't work. They don't even need to add the possibility of a sideboard, as in casual, non-sanctioned games, the cards that exists outside the game refers to your entire collection.

Now one might say; "well that would just take a long time for people to browse their entire collection for the cards they want, with say Burning Wish . We don't want to increase the time on Commander cards."

That is true. An untrained mind will possibly take a long time to judge what they need at the given moment. But then again it is a casual format, so if you take up a lot of time browsing your collection, people will not want to play with you or they will ask you to not play such tutors unless you limit your selection down to maybe a couple of pages from a binder.

There's another argument against enabling fetching cards from outside the game and that is the concept of the singleton format. With wish cards or similar , you can potentially get a lot of redundant copies of the same card. However that is already partially possible with cards like Mirage Mirror , Copy Artifact , Clever Impersonator , Sakashima the Impostor or their many similar minded cards. Funny enough most of these resides in blue, the master of copying.

It would be interesting to see cards from outside the game enabled in Commander under self-limitation.

And if it becomes a larger time related issue, they could just make a separate unit called, search decks, where you can have up to 30-50 or even 100 cards in a special search deck exclusively for these outside of game searches. Then it just becomes a Demonic Tutor in terms of scale.

On another note, it would be fun to see an actual legion of angels .

Catonis on TnT, Scepter Squirrels

1 month ago

enpc thank you for the advice, I had received some similar advice from others so after ordering some new cards I've made some changes. I removed a few lands Academy Rector and Copy Artifact to make room for a few more artifacts. In addition I removed Disallow so I can slot in Trickbind instead.

enpc on TnT, Scepter Squirrels

2 months ago

You've got a pretty low mana rock/dork count to be running Isochron Scepter + Dramatic Reversal . You could look at increasing this number byt dropping like 2 lands. I also don't think you need Copy Artifact (just make it a mana rock). Once you do have infinite mana, you can just cast your commander and eat it with Blasting Station and then just recast them as your backup win condition. And if you do want a recursion loop, you can swap Eternal Witness / Regrowth out with Memory's Journey which forms a loop with Noxious Revival given infinite mana and Thrasios.

meta_edh_liga on Mishra's Jank Machine [Primer]

4 months ago

I would also consider some more protection for Mishra, since he's a crucial part of the one-sided stax theme, eg. Spellskite , Mana Drain , Swan Song . Also Cavern of Souls since you don't care much about colored mana anyway. Another great card would be Copy Artifact , worst case it's a cheap mana rock, but it could be so much more.

VietMoneys on Chain of Paper

4 months ago

Hi Eisenherz! Thanks for the input. I built this deck right at the beginning of quarantine and are really missing both the experience of playing the deck against a varied pod and the experience of other Urza pilots. Sculpting Steel is in the deck as a budget alternative to Copy Artifact, but I can see that Metamorph would be better in most situations (it is easier to remove).

As for Mystic Sanctuary, I've already got a foil copy and would be happy to put it to use. I have been hesitant to add nonbasics due to Back to Basics, but I'm realizing that this sort of thing seems more important when you've barely run the deck. I can imagine it's a sweet draw so much more of the time. I'll give it a try!

Load more