Bonecrusher Giant

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Bonecrusher Giant

Creature — Giant

Whenever Bonecrusher Giant becomes the target of a spell, Bonecrusher Giant deals 2 damage to that spell's controller.


(You may cast Bonecrusher Giant from exile if you sent it on an adventure.)


Stomp

Instant — Adventure

Damage can't be prevented this turn. Stomp deals 2 damage to target creature, player or planeswalker.


(You may cast Stomp for from anywhere that you have the permission to cast this, then exile it on an adventure instead of putting it into your graveyard. When you have not chosen to cast Stomp, this card is treated only as Bonecrusher Giant in whatever zone it is in.)

(When not exiled on an adventure, Adventure cards function identically to modal double faced cards when regarding to the interactions of cards that look at them or attempt to cast them.)

09102023 on Naya Adventures

5 months ago

Apollo_Paladin Thank you for your feedback, I haven't considered adding Mondrak, Glory Dominus before. Doubling the tokens that come in might help solve some of the problems I have been seeing.

The deck actually seems a little reliant on getting a Lucky Clover out and feels weaker than I had hoped without one on the field. People will often target them with removal too. the deck is playable without one, but it's not fun using Lovestruck Beast turn one to get a single 1/1 token for a forest, when the opponent played a 1/2 or a 1/1 that produces mana on their first turn.

Right now, getting one clover on the field means Bonecrusher Giant will probably take care of creatures and planeswalkers that Giant Killer is not able to hit. Another advantage of having a clover out is that Questing Druid is going to be giving 4 cards the same as Showdown of the Skalds. The way the deck plays right now, it seems like I don't run out of cards to use; I can pretty reliably get one of those two by turn 4.

Doubling the number of tokens produced is essentially the same as having one clover out for quite a few cards in the deck and the effect should stack with clover...it's definitely worth considering. Doing that might make it easier to win with a bad hand too.

I'm very tempted to drop the land count by 1 and was actually thinking of replacing Primal Amulet  Flip. It seems like a good card, but I think I've cast it once in the last 30 or 40 games I've played. I've never been able to get enough charge counters to flip it either. Showdown seems to work best with low mana cost cards too...I've had a lot of turn 4's where it gets played because I'm low on cards and then I get something like Pia Nalaar, Consul of Revival, Virtue of Loyalty and 2 lands to use for turn 5. I guess I could always try Escape to the Wilds over showdown, I'm not sure what one is generally considered better.

That being said, there's definitely a balance point with the number of lands...I want to consistently hit land drops since adventure cards get played twice and I can try overwhelming/outlasting an opponent that way. But exiling 4 cards or even 6 cards and getting 2 or 3 lands is a thing that can happen right now and it could be nice to have more options when I exile a bunch of cards.

If you have any more suggestions, please let me know.

Icbrgr on Boros Burn

8 months ago

I completely agree about Pyrite Spellbomb in the SB for the pro red creatures that come out games 2 & 3.... I have been considering Bonecrusher Giant myself but figure id ask you how you think it feels? the 2MV Shock with benefit is it enough? and when tapping out for the 4/3 giant is ever swinging in for a win? +1 looks great love the list!

Pabs4444 on RDW: Enchantment Removal?

8 months ago

Icbrgr Bonecrusher Giant using the adventure half (stomp) stops damage from being prevented which gets around the Nine Lives part of the combo

DreadKhan on Mono Red- Take 1

8 months ago

If you're going for Sligh, have you thought about Bonecrusher Giant? This offers you Stomp for 1R, which cancels damage prevention and deals 2 damage, then when you've got nothing better to play it's a 4/3 for 3 with upside. I think it's a better Flametongue Kavu, though both might be worth looking at.

I'm not sure about Jackal Pup in this age and day, there are 2/1s that don't have a drawback you could be running in mono-red, Falkenrath Pit Fighter and Falkenrath Gorger both seem better, Pit Fighter can turn into new cards when it's too small to matter.

I think if you ever want to run Shock, you should probably run Seal of Fire first, Seal can come down turn 1 and is damage on board until you need it, which can let you snipe something like a Thalia, Guardian of Thraben or Eidolon of the Great Revel without hassles. I added x2 of it to my Burn deck to help my Dragon's Rage Channeler work better, but there are a lot of tough matches where I really love the card.

I can't decide if a Browbeat or two would work in here, there is also Risk Factor, 'damage or cards' is pretty scary if you've got 4 Mountains and might pull 2 Fireblasts.

plakjekaas on Do you think The One …

9 months ago

KAAAAAARN!!!

Also, there's ways around the protection. Anything that says "Damage can't be prevented" will make it so that you can attack through the protection turn, like sending Bonecrusher Giant on an adventure. You can hit a creature, or even yourself with it, and combat will work as usual, since the damage can no longer be prevented by the protection that turn.

Delphen7 on How does Ice Cauldron interact …

1 year ago

Correct.

Adventures are only instants/sorcerys on the stack if cast as such. Otherwise they are the main card.

  • 715.4: "In every zone except the stack, and while on the stack not as an Adventure, an adventurer card has only its normal characteristics."

Archaeomancer, for example, can't return Bonecrusher Giant, because it's not an instant card.

Delphen7 on How does Ice Cauldron interact …

1 year ago

Ice Cauldron

Ice Cauldron mana can only be used on spells exiled by Ice Cauldron. When casting an adventure card, you can cast either half.

715.3: "As a player casts an adventurer card, the player chooses whether they cast the card normally or as an Adventure."

So if you paid and exiled Bonecrusher Giant, you could later activate Ice Cauldron and use the to cast Bonecrusher OR Stomp.

If you cast Stomp this way, the spell will go to exile. Ice Cauldron did not exile it; the rules of adventure spells did, so Ice Cauldron will no longer interact with it (but you can still cast it as the creature).


Precognition Field

Say you look at the top card of your library and see Bonecrusher Giant. First thing you do as part of casting a spell is put it onto the stack. As part of the casting a spell (a very long process covered here) you will need to declare how you are casting the spell. In this case you are using Precognition Field to cast it off the top of your library

If you put Bonecrusher Giant onto the stack, the game will protest because it's not an instant or sorcery; it's a creature (The game will then backtrack to put everything back how it was)

If you put Stomp onto the stack, the game will see that it's only an instant

715.3b: "While on the stack as an Adventure, the spell has only its alternative characteristics."

Since everything checks out, the game allows you to proceed with paying costs and casting the adventure spell (And then it'll resolve into exile).


Serra Paragon

Same idea here as Precognition Field. When you try to cast Stomp out of the graveyard, Serra will say "That's not a permanent!" and not let you cast it.

Bonecrusher is a permanent and so can be cast. When it goes to exile because it died, you cannot cast it as a creature, because it did not go to exile as a result of its adventure ability.


Cascade

When you cascade into Bonecrusher Giant, you have to choose if you're putting Stomp or Bonecrusher on the stack. The game then checks if the spell you are now casting is less than spell with the cascade trigger.

ie if you Shardless Agent into Bonecrusher, you can only cast Stomp, because only Stomp costs less. If you Deny Reality into Bonecrusher, you can cast either part, as both cost less.

Load more