Welcome to the comment stream... jump in!

vic on Can I use the following …

3 hours ago

I have a Cloudfin Raptor with one +1/+1 counter and a Vigean Hydropon with all 5 counters on my board. If I play an Invisible Stalker, can I first move a counter from the Hydropon onto the Stalker (making it become 2/2), and then use the Stalker to trigger Evolve on the Raptor?

Gidgetimer on Proliferate and Players with multiple …

10 hours ago

It isn't just the reminder text that was changed. the actual rule reads as follows now.

701.27a To proliferate means to choose any number of permanents and/or players that have a counter, then give each one additional counter of each kind that permanent or player already has.

So yes, at this point all 3 types would get proliferated, in the past one type of counter was chosen to add an additional one.

Metroid_Hybrid on Proliferate and Players with multiple …

12 hours ago

When deckbuilding recently, I noticed that the reminder text for Proliferate had slightly changed when it was reintroduced in War of the Spark..

For reference:

Atraxa, Praetors' Voice vs Atraxa, Praetors' Voice

The solitary change here is that the end of the reminder text was changed from

  • "...give each another counter of (a) kind already there"

to

  • "...give each another counter of (each) kind already there".

It's only a single word, but we all know how everything can hinge on a single word on a card..

I suspect the change is because at the time of the Scars of Mirrodin block, there was no other (numerically meaningful) Counters that Players could get outside of Poison Counters. But since then we got two more, positive Counters (Experience & Energy), which made things more complicated..

So here's the question: Let's say a Player has some number (1 or more) of Poison Counters, Experience Counters, AND Energy Counters. What happens when this Player is "chosen" for Proliferation?

According to the old reminder text, they would get a Counter of the controller's choice (1 of 3). However, the new reminder text suggests that all three Counters will be Proliferated indiscriminately (3 of 3). And just just for the sake of compleatness, I assume it was never legit to choose to Proliferate two Counters (2 of 3), right?

Gidgetimer on Crewing Just for the Benifits

13 hours ago

You have to pay the full crew cost in order to tap any creatures for a crew cost. If you can pay the full cost there is nothing stopping you from doing it on an opponent's end step, but you can not make "partial payments".

Brutal_B on Crewing Just for the Benifits

13 hours ago

So let's say it's your endstep and I have a Fallowsage and a Ballista Charger out. Can I tap the Fallowsage to crew the Charger just to draw the card from Fallowsage and then move on to my turn after yours? Or in another instance, can I tap King Macar, the Gold-Cursed on your endstep to "half crew" Aradara Express so that on my untap phase I get the King Macar trigger? I'm not looking to fully crew to make the artifact a creature, just to get the tap or untap trigger from creatures.

Caerwyn on Can I activate Rarity's 2nd …

18 hours ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf. Normally I prefer not mark my own answers, but, since that is the only responsive post on this version of your two threads, I have gone ahead and marked it as the answer.

Caerwyn on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

18 hours ago

As this question has been answered for several days, and as the original poster indicated they had no follow-ups, I am going to mark an answer on their behalf.

Rhadamanthus on What effect does Rise from …

19 hours ago

It's a Sphinx of Enlightenment that's both Blue and Black, has the creature type "Sphinx Zombie", has the "Flying" and "When (this) enters the battlefield..." abilities, and is a 5/5.

Rise from the Grave only changes the characteristics it specifically talks about in the text. It adds Black to the creature's colors and adds the Zombie type to the creature's types. It doesn't take away any abilities or change power/toughness.

TheRealSpecialK on What effect does Rise from …

20 hours ago

Rise from the Grave does not modify the power and toughness of the creature - it only adds to its colors and sub-types. Casting Rise from the Grave targeting your opponent's Sphinx of Enlightenment would get you Sphinx of Enlightenment - the actual card, not a token. However, that card will be modified - it will be a 5/5 Blue/Black Sphinx Zombie. Because it enters the battlefield under your control, target opponent would draw a card, and you would draw three.

Crwhome on What effect does Rise from …

20 hours ago

I cast Rise from the Grave and pulled back into play my opponents [[Sphinx of Enlightenment]. Does it come back as a 2/2 Black Zombie or as Sphinx of Enlightenment?

And if as Sphinx of Enlightenment does the action of target opponent draws a card and you draw three cards come into effect? And is the creature a 5/5 in this circumstance

TriusMalarky on Ruling Question: Voltaic Key

1 day ago

It's sort of one of the first things cEDH players bring up when asked 'why is Wishclaw Talisman good'. Volatic Shenanigans are by far one of the best reasons to have Wishclaw, so any black-based artifact strat in EDH should automatically have Wishclaw. Especially because you're running Volatic anyways(there are so many good things to untap with it) and you'll also have sac outlets in all likelihood(it's black... in EDH).

TL;DR yes, it's a viable series of events and it is extremely powerful. It's also $2 for both cards.

Caerwyn on Vessel of Nascency and Bala …

1 day ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since you have indicated your question was answered and you have no follow-ups, I have marked an answer on your behalf.

Caerwyn on Pako and Haldan

1 day ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

(Boom! Research!)

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

Rules Lawyer is actually quite simple. The comprehensive rules are long, but actually it’s quite simple to implement.

Moreover, that “combo” still doesn’t work. The orb stops etb triggered abilities, and the token isn’t made by a etb triggered ability.

DuTogira on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

Caerwyn apologies, missed Opalescence in that combo.
Also, while I agree that there’s always a “most correct” way to interpret the rules and thus play out a game, I maintain that especially with unset cards, it’s often not worth the effort. Rules Lawyer demonstrated that in draft...

Wyrbak on Vessel of Nascency and Bala …

2 days ago

It's an answer, just not the one I wanted. Thanks!

Reznorboy on Ruling Question: Voltaic Key

2 days ago

Thank you, sorry about posting in the wrong place.

enpc on Ruling Question: Voltaic Key

2 days ago

In future, please remember to ask rules questions in the Rules Q&A portion of the forum.

To answer your quesiton though - yes, you can do what you're asking. The "An opponent gains control of Wishclaw Talisman" is part of the effect of the ability, not the cost. So there is nothing stopping you from putting multiple search triggers on the stack by untapping Wishclaw Talisman. Similarly, you could copy the activated ability and achieve the same effect (though there are much fewer cards which let you do that).

The important thing is that you can't let any of them resolve until you've stacked as many as you can, otherwise you break the chain (since you can't activate abiliities of cards you don't control) and can't continue to put the abilities on the stack (though the existing ones will still resolve).

VampDemigod on Ruling Question: Voltaic Key

2 days ago

Voltaic Key can be activated before you pass it, that effect’s on the right of the :.

Reznorboy on Ruling Question: Voltaic Key

2 days ago

This has probably been asked before, but I wanted to make sure and tried finding an answer in other places.

If I were to have Wishclaw Talisman and Voltaic Key already on the field, (assuming that Wishclaw Talisman still has 3 Wish Counters on it), and it is my turn, would it be feasible, assuming I have 3 colorless mana open, to activate Wishclaw Talisman's ability by paying the 1 mana, tapping it, and removing the counter, putting the ability on the stack, then activate Voltaic Key in response to the ability, allow it to resolve, untapping Wishclaw Talisman, the searching ability still on the stack, then with the Talisman now untapped, activate the Talisman again, (potentially repeat this if I had enough Voltaic Keys, Wish Counters, and mana) then allow everything to resolve, searching for more than one card and putting more than one in hand?

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

Ah “as” vs “when”. Got it.

Caerwyn on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

VampDemigod - It does not stop the squirrel token from ETBing - the token is created as part of a replacement effect, not a triggered ability. Thus Torpor Orb will not prevent the creation of the squirrel token.

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

Caerwyn

Wait...but if it stops the squirrel token from etbing, then you can’t lose the game when the squirrel token leaves the battlefield because it never entered...what am I missing? I could see that there’s a chance my friend was wrong, but I can’t see how the rules interaction would work.

Caerwyn on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

DuTogira - It should be hard to convince other players that effect works; because it does not, and never will, no matter how you try to read the rules. Nothing in an Unset allows you to arbitrarily change a replacement effect--like Form of the Squirrel's Rule 614.1c effect modifying how it enters the battlefield--into a Rule 603.2c triggered ability that Torpor Orb would prevent. There is no universe in which your combo can be pulled off.

As you said, you have to put in your best effort of following the rules on unset cards, then can get into interpretation for cards where the rules are lacking. This is a clear cut case of "here is what the rules say"; there is no "best effort" interpretation question raised in the slightest.

(Tagging VampDemigod here so they can see the combo does not actually work.)

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

Oh, I love the squirrel/orb combo! I don’t play unset cards except with one friend who has quite a few. They introduced me to that combo, and it’s so fun when the playgroup members all understand the rules interactions.

DuTogira on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

2 days ago

Please don’t try to get too technical with unset cards. Give “following the rules of the card” a best effort and then just defer to what your playgroup tolerates afterwards.
I’ve been trying to break Form of the Squirrel for ages and trust me, convincing someone that Form of the Squirrel + Torpor Orb is a legal and correct interaction to get every effect from Form of the Squirrel other than the “you lose the game” trigger is... well it’s damn near impossible. Worse, it takes the fun out of things, and there’s nothing worse than an unfun unset card

lil_cheez on Sethron Being a Copy Token

2 days ago

Gidgetimer Thanks for the answer!

Caerwyn I am sorry for the inconvenience!!

Caerwyn on Rabid bite mechanics

3 days ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

Caerwyn on Channel Card Rule Question

3 days ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

Caerwyn on Lithoform Engine Rulings?

3 days ago

Seedneil - Please ask a new question rather than tack your question onto an existing one.

To answer your question, yes you can copy a Planeswalker spell as it is a permanent. However, for most Planeswalkers, that is not going to help you much because they are legendary.

Your copy will resolve while the main Walker is on the stack. Since the stack is not empty, you will not be able to activate the Copy Planeswalker’s abilities.

The original Planeswalker spell will then resolve, so you will have two of the same legendary planeswalkers on the field. One must be sent to graveyard as a state-based action, which happens before loyalty abilities can be activated.

So, you’ll only end up with one usable planeswalker.

(There are exceptions, such as Teferi, Master of Time where you could activate at instant speed; or the new Jace, where you could copy it and end up with two non-legendaries and one legendary, rather than just one legendary and one non-legendary.)

Neotrup on Lithoform Engine Rulings?

3 days ago

Yes, but as all planeswalkers are legendary, the legend rule will make you choose to either keep the token or the card, not both.

Seedneil on Lithoform Engine Rulings?

3 days ago

can i copy a planeswalker with the third ability of lithoform engine

Caerwyn on Can I use Teferi, Time …

3 days ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

Caerwyn on Sethron Being a Copy Token

3 days ago

In the future, please remember to hit the green Mark as Answer button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

Caerwyn on Can I activate Rarity's 2nd …

3 days ago

First question, can you use painted minis?

Silver-bordered cards, like Rarity, allow players some leeway with the official rules, and are subject to interpretation. I think most playgroups would say that minis count as toys and thus would allow you to use it for protection purposes. There might be some, however, that say you are trying to manipulate the situation for protection purposes, and request you only use official colored toys.

Second question, would grey provide protection from colorless?

This actually does have a real answer--Rarity specifies it provides protection from the "color[s]" in the toy; per the official rules, colorless is not a color, so you will never be able to use a toy to gain protection from colorless.

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

3 days ago

Wait no it shouldn’t. Me big dum. Lol

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

3 days ago

The second paragraph was supposed to start with “as for the second”

VampDemigod on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

3 days ago

I’ll address the second one first. Nevermind, Seshiro got it.

As for the first, technically, I think it just has to be addressed to the playgroup beforehand. Personally, I’d say that it feels unethical, but it’s passable. Remember though, it has to be official a MLP toy. If the miniature doesn’t have a registration on its packaging after My Little Pony, it’s illegal for use with the card. At least, this is my understanding.

Also, this stuff should be in rules qna in the future.

H3y_Im_Rob on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

3 days ago

Yeah, I just realized there was a Q&A section minutes after posting...oops.

Thanks for answering, though. It's been on my mind for awhile and my usual group couldn't provide an answer.

H3y_Im_Rob on Can I activate Rarity's 2nd …

3 days ago

I have a question regarding Rarity 2nd ability:

If I where to use a miniature (https://wizkids.com/my-little-pony/) would I be able to activate Rarity's 2nd ability if I paint the mini all 5 colors?

Also, If I use a grey My Little Pony toy would that count as colorless and would I be able to activate Rarity's 2nd ability for colorless spells/abilities?

seshiro_of_the_orochi on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

3 days ago

Seems like a question for Blogatog...

I don't know the first answer, but I would guess you need the original colours of the toy.

Regarding the second question: As Rarity clearly states that she gives protection from colours, she can't give protection from colourless.

H3y_Im_Rob on MLP Miniatures and Rarity?

3 days ago

I have a question regarding Rarity 2nd ability:

If I where to use a miniature (https://wizkids.com/my-little-pony/) would I be able to activate Rarity's 2nd ability if I paint the mini all 5 colors?

Also, If I use a grey My Little Pony toy would that count as colorless and would I be able to activate Rarity 2nd ability for colorless spells/abilities?

tef3ri on Undead Alchemist effect timing

3 days ago

Great thanks! I sorta expected something like that might be the case.

Gidgetimer on Undead Alchemist effect timing

3 days ago

Since you control both triggers you would get to decide the order they go on the stack, and therefore the order they resolve. The timing doesn't really matter though. because once the card has been milled all three cards will trigger and then they don't care what happens to the card after that.

tef3ri on Undead Alchemist effect timing

4 days ago

What would happen when a creature gets milled if I had an Undead Alchemist in play and a Syr Konrad, the Grim also in play? On a related note, how would The Haunt of Hightower in place of Syr Konrad? I was playing a mill deck and these questions came up.

Caerwyn on Yojimbo and trample

4 days ago

Trample merely reallocates how the damage from that source may be divided; it is still the same source though. As such, if you tap Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo before damage is dealt targeting the 2/2 filer with Trample (such as targeting it during the declare blockers step after blockers are declared), then the 1/1 will be fine, and Opal-Eye will take the damage.

As a note, because of the way it works, you will not have to actually block with the 1/1 to prevent you from taking damage. You can just let the 2/2 flier go unblocked, then prevent the damage with Opal-Eye--no flier of your own necessary (though there may be reasons you would want to both block and redirect damage, such as if your 1/1 flier had deathtouch).

ShivanForce on Yojimbo and trample

4 days ago

If an opponent has a 2/2 flyer with trample and attacks, and I block with a 1/1 flyer, 1 point of damage will carry on to me. If I have a Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo and tap it, will it redirect the 1 damage of trample, or will it redirect 2 points of damage to itself (and save the 1/1 flyer)?

Tyrant-Thanatos on Bonecrusher Giant and Chandra's Pheonix

4 days ago

715.3b While on the stack as an Adventure, the spell has only its alternative characteristics.

While on the stack, an Adventure spell counts as, and only counts as, whatever types are printed on the Adventure section of the card. As Stomp is a Red Instant that you control, it will trigger Chandra's Phoenix if it deals damage to an opponent. Generally, it does have to target an opponent in order to damage an opponent though, so you will have to target an opponent, as opposed to other potential targets, in order to make this interaction work.

MyKeyWhy on Bonecrusher Giant and Chandra's Pheonix

4 days ago

When I play Bonecrusher Giant adventuring Bonecrusher Giant and Chandra's Phoenix is in my graveyard does the pheonix return to my hand when the adventure resolves?