Please login to comment
1) They check as they go to resolve. So unless your hand loses cards between the two triggers resolving, having a second copy of Damia out wouldn't be that functionally helpful.
2) Yes, you can do that. If two different things both tell you to skip a phase of a turn, you just skip it once. You can get some good value in a Damia deck by running Null Profusion and Recycle which are good cards other than making you skip your draw step. Notably, something similar is Stonehorn Dignitary which causes a player to skip their next combat step rather than all combat steps during a single turn. The Dignitary can stack up and save the effects for several turns.
3) It would replace the next 4 cards you would draw that same turn, via Damia or otherwise . Damia can draw you up to 7 cards during your upkeep.
July 19, 2019 5 a.m.
Yes, that's entirely correct. It doesn't matter what life the opponent was on when the Quietus Spike ability goes on the stack, only when it goes to resolve.
July 18, 2019 5:47 p.m.
Yep, cool. My bad on messing up with the Chains, but it was the ownership of the ability that I was getting at. Thanks, I get it now.
July 15, 2019 2:35 p.m.
Thanks. I don't really have a horse in the Final Fantasy race.
The idea with any Lab-Doomsday combo is to draw the rest of your library in one turn and win on the spot. In competive metas you'll want free draw spells like Gush and Gitaxian Probe, but if this is to be more lax and also focus on Flashback spells then you could just tutor up the existing draw spells with Flashback that are in the deck. If it's not in a very competitive meta, then odds are that you'll be pulling this off later on in the game when you have the mana to spare anyway, so you won't need to only use the cheapest draw power.
July 15, 2019 2:30 p.m.
Oh. So if I control the Vision Skeins spell, even if another player controls both the Chains of Mephistopheles and the Nephalia Academy, the Academy effect will still apply to the discard from the Chains because I'm the one with the spell that causes them to discard the card?
So likewise, if I control Chains, and an opponent controls a Tamiyo, Collector of Tales and casts a Vision Skeins, they discard then draw twice in a row (unless their hand is empty). But if I cast the Skeins then they just draw two cards?
July 14, 2019 7:47 p.m.
Oh, hey. I just remembered that Serum Powder exists.
July 14, 2019 6:15 p.m.
Oh. One minor thing about Myr Welder and linked abilities. Maybe you know this already.
When a card refers to 'the exiled card' or something similar, it usually is part of an ability linked with that one. So if you have a Legacy Weapon exiled under your Myr Welder and resolve the WUBRG ability, though the targeted permanent is exiled with the Welder, the Welder's second ability won't grant it the activated abilities of the newly exiled permanent because it wasn't exiled with the Welder's linked first ability. Similarly, if you have a Bag of Holding exiled with the Welder, using the self-sacrifice ability granted from the bag won't actually return any cards to your hand, because none of the cards exiled with the Welder have been exiled with the bag's linked triggered ability.
I found this very disappointing when I first found out.
July 14, 2019 4:09 p.m.
This came up a in another question a while ago but sort of petered out.
If I control a Chains of Mephistopheles , do I control the replacement effect that would cause an opponent to discard a card?
So, if an opponent controls a Nephalia Academy and would draw a card, they must first discard and then draw to the Chains, but are they given the opportunity to put that card on top of their library first?
Similarly, though I can't think of an instance where it'd be relevant right now, do I control the static ability of a Darkest Hour that I control?
July 14, 2019 12:05 p.m.
Leyline of Singularity changes the properties of permanents, whereas Sisay tutors for permanent cards. Permanent cards only become permanents when they're on the battlefield, so the Leyline doesn't have any effect on cards that aren't on the battlefield regardless whether or not they would become permanents when they're on the battlefield.
July 14, 2019 11:54 a.m.
What are composite prinnies?
My folders aren't very organised. [Not My Commander] is my only folder where I include other people's decks, and literally only just started doing that a few days ago. Yours is the second one I've added, so I don't really have any context for it yet. Rest assured I like the idea of your deck a lot.
Yeah, no love lost for the Worldgorger Dragon here either. It needs more than decent support in the form of reanimation and countermagic, and if your deck isn't all about that then it's not necessarily a great fit. I just mentioned it because it's an interesting card that cares about exiled stuff. I won't be offended in the least if you don't adopt a suggestion of mine, in case you're concerned about that. It's your deck, dude. I'm just here to help.
Lion's Eye Diamond is crazy expensive, money-wise. For that reason, I personally don't think it's ever worth running unless you're building at least a somewhat competitive deck, unless you just happen to have one handy. On the other hand, if you do only play casually with friends then they probably won't mind if you run a tournament-illegal version of Yawgmoth's Will – there are gold-bordered signed collector's versions available for significantly less than the regular cost (with Yawgmoth's Will on magiccardmarket ATM, it's €7.00 as opposed to the official card that's €23.95). They don't have a standard MtG back on them though, so you'll need to be using sleeves to use them.
So, Doomsday . If you don't like it, then don't run it. But as I understand it, a lot of those packages run 3-4 draw spells, Laboratory Maniac , and maybe some countermagic support. Considering this is what's in your deck ATM, I'll run with that. It's another all-in strategy and once again; if your Lab Maniac gets countered or killed before you draw the card, it pretty much means that you lose. I know a lot of people run Gitaxian Probe and other super-cheap draw spells in this package, the idea being to cast them all in the one turn and then win. If you want to stick with the Flashback theme, there's Faithless Looting and Scour All Possibilities and Echo of Eons which you already run, and then there's Deep Analysis and Think Twice . None of these is particularly expensive money-wise. Also, I know this is exactly the opposite of what you're looking for, but if Doomsday is to be a legit wincon for this deck then you might want to reconsider cutting Mirror of Fate . It's rarely an amazing card, but in this deck if things are going well, basically stands to serve as a second Doomsday, which is exactly what every Doomsday deck wants.
As for the landbase, how exactly did you want to revise it? There are a lot of interesting things to be done with lands, but I've usually just forgone those when it comes to 4+ colour mana bases (particularly if budget means running slow fetch lands like Bad River as opposed to Polluted Delta ). Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth is good in any deck that uses black. I know you're not running any other Slivers, but Path of Ancestry is still a decent land in 5-colour decks that aren't high-end competitive - just read it as a Command Tower that enters tapped, which is still pretty great in non-competitive EDH. If you are okay with a couple of a taplands, Grand Coliseum is also great. On the other end, Tarnished Citadel is good for mana right now if you need it.
Now, for some suggestions on Flashback and other cards to cut.
I think you have just a couple too many recursion effects for instant and sorcery spells. Cards like Pull from the Deep are pretty decent because they get you two-for-one, as in you spend one card to gain access to two.
Conversely, something like Recoup probably isn't so good - it only gives you access to one card when you cast it, and you need to have the mana available to cast it that same turn. It's not an awful card, it has Flashback which both gives it more utility than for which I'm giving it credit and also fits this deck's theme. But you have an above-average amount of recursion spells and if you are actively looking for something to cut, this'd be something I'd recommend.
I think Sins of the Past is a decent card, but not great unless you have a number of really great bombs in your deck. If you don't have a fair number of high-cost, high-impact spells to target with it, it becomes an expensive 1-for-1. Similarly, Mystic Retrieval can be good when things are going your way and it sort of fits the theme, but in the early- to mid-game it can really suck to be left with only this card in your hand. When making cuts, you'll generally want to cut the cards that, at some points of the game, do straight-up nothing. Unfortunately, Mystic Retrieval kinda fits the bill here.
All Suns' Dawn is a great recursion spell, but less good when you lean away from a few colours. Considering you already have a number of other great spells in your deck, I don't know about this one in this scenario. I think basically, you'll want a few low-end and a few high-end recursion spells.
Some cards I would cut when push comes to shove —
July 14, 2019 11:45 a.m.
I have a weird Feather, the Redeemed Arcane deck.
A spliced card's effects count as being written underneath the rest of the effects of the spell onto which it's spliced, so the prevention that would gain me life from the Candles takes effect after the regular damage prevention from Haze.
Which means.... something something layers?
Do I gain life from the effects of Candles' Glow?
July 13, 2019 2:11 p.m.
With Animate Dead (or Dance of the Dead or Necromancy ), if you cast it targeting your Worldgorger Dragon card in your graveyard, it brings the Dragon back. The Dragon's ability goes on the stack - float all your mana before it resolves. All your other permanents are exiled, including the enchantment aura that brought it back. The aura has a clause that makes you sacrifice the creature it brought back if the aura leaves, so you have to sacrifice the Dragon. When you do, all your permanents are brought back including your now untapped lands, and the aura. When the aura enters the battlefield, you attach it to the Worldgorger Dragon in your graveyard, then repeat the process as many times as you like to create as infinite mana in all of your colours. You'll also repeat all of your other ETBs as many times as you like. You'll need to have at least one other creature card in your graveyard (or some other instant speed interaction), otherwise you'll be forced to target the Worldgorger Dragon in your graveyard each time and the game will end in a draw if noone can stop the infinite loop.
If an opponent has instant-speed removal, you stand to suffer a huge blowout and lose the game on the spot. If the Dragon gets removed after it enters but before its ETB ability resolves, then its second ability will go on the stack when it dies, so it will resolve before its ETB does. The Dragon will die, then it will return all the zero cards it had exiled to the battlefield under your control, then it will exile all of your permanents with no way to get them back. It's a very all-in strategy.
Does that explain it?
I'm quite tired ATM but I intend to come back and help a bit more when I can. I like this deck a lot.
July 11, 2019 8:51 p.m.
- A creature forced to enter the battlefield tapped because of Urabrask the Hidden is still entering the battlefield, so searching a smaller portion of your library is still searching your library. ... If it said to search your graveyard instead, then it'd be comparable.
Mrm. I don't believe that's really a fair comparison, but I digress.
July 10, 2019 5:05 p.m.
- A creature forced to enter the battlefield tapped because of Urabrask the Hidden is still entering the battlefield, so searching a smaller portion of your library is still searching your library. ... If it said to search your graveyard instead, then it'd be comparable. Mrm. I don't believe that's really a fair comparison, but I digress.
My main issue was that the rules text on Gatherer is basically extra reminder text that isn't printed on the card, and I didn't believe that the existing rules properly defined what it assumed to be the case.
But I didn't realise there's an official part of the rules section created specifically for this (otherwise unused) type of replacement action.
July 10, 2019 5:04 p.m.
I hate how much I love this. I'll be sure to keep an eye out from now on for things that might fit.
July 10, 2019 3 p.m.
Is there any other card in the game to which that applies? It's kinda weird that they'd add in a rule exclusively for one card rather than just wording the card in a way that conventionally fit into the rules of the game that already existed.
...Then again, it was Future Sight.
July 10, 2019 2:28 p.m.
I'm afraid there's nothing that causes only your opponents' ETBs not to trigger. At least that I know of. If you wanted, you could use some effects like Roon or Eerie Interlude that exile your Hushwing Gryff until end of turn. There are somewhat fewer of these effects for non-creatures though.
Recurring from exile isn't super common. I'm not sure I have much to help you with there, sorry. I can suggest a few cards that otherwise fit the theme and are decent value.
The new Apostle of Purifying Light is kinda basically a better Withered Wretch.
Myr Welder plays with exile a bit and can help recur some abilities from your graveyard while exiling them. It can also grab pieces that help it combo from opponents' graveyards if the stars align. There's also Mairsil, the Pretender .
It's not exile-related, but Phyrexian Dreadnought is one of the best classic examples of amazing value except for ETB.
I don't... know exacty what you're planning on doing with Mirror of Fate, but you might want to consider Doomsday too.
A few other cards that do things with exile include Mana Severance for thinning out your deck, and Yawgmoth's Will and Magus of the Will because I am seeing a decent bit of graveyard recursion in here too. You probably already know Necropotence exists. Bag of Holding just loots and plays with exile... sort of, but you can put the cards you discard under it even if Necropotence is on the battlefield. Worldgorger Dragon is... a card. But I'm probably just delving into territory you already know about from searches now.
Also, it doesn't really do anything especially for the deck, and it's silver-bordered but I feel obliged to mention AWOL .
I love the idea for the deck. How has it been performing for you?
July 10, 2019 2:17 p.m.
Commander / EDH*
SCORE: 4 | 257 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 1 | 2 COMMENTS | 318 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 2 | 135 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
Commander / EDH*
SCORE: 3 | 300 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 15 | 21 COMMENTS | 3447 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS
|Playing since||Journey into Nyx|
|Avg. deck rating||3.70|
|Favorite formats||Pre-release, Commander / EDH|
|Good Card Suggestions||32|
|Last activity||22 hours|