|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Magic 2015 (M15)||Common|
|2012 Core Set (M12)||Common|
|2011 Core Set (M11)||Common|
|Duels of the Planeswalkers (DPA)||Common|
|2010 Core Set (M10)||Common|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Bear
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Runeclaw Bear Discussion
2 months ago
I have a few other cards that I carry with my Chandras:
- Eager Construct - best Magic card ever made, Scrying beats Flying
- Enlarge - the first piece of art I fell in love with
- Black Cat - the second piece of art I liked
- Runeclaw Bear - the first bear card I ever owned
- Totally Lost - I found this among some junk singles and fell in love with Fblthp
- Switcheroo - I love the entire flavour of this card
- A Buffy Jenny Callendar card, coz she was cool
- A custom Diabolic Tutor card I made with me dressed as Chandra and the LGS owner whispering in my ear (he has long, black hair)
- Storm Crow - you kind of have to
I think I should go back to my project of collecting every copy of Lava Axe that has ever been printed.
I need to complete my Minotaur collection, too. I have all the Creatures, but I need stuff like Didgeridoo.
5 months ago
Please link all cards relevant to your question, or at least make an attempt to explain what they do: Gideon of the Trials
(I'm not linking the combo pieces in this case, as the combo isn't at all relevant to the example - you might as well attack with 20 Runeclaw Bears)
Gideon's emblem simply prevents a player from losing the game, it doesn't prevent any damage. That means if 200 cats attacked you, you would take that much damage, emblem or not.
Because of that, the emblem couldn't really save you. If you attacked Gideon as well as the player with a sufficient amount of cats, the next time state-based actions are checked, it sees you at negative life, and Gideon at zero loyalty. You won't lose the game at this point because of the emblem, but Gideon will be put into the graveyard. State-based actions are checked again, seeing you at negative life, and you lose the game.
5 months ago
@Neotrup: What you're mentioning isn't an exception, as (like you said) it cares about whether the creature is attacking, not whether it attacked (even though it's phrased differently):
An ability that triggers when something "attacks and isnt blocked" triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.
To explain the whole concept in (probably way too much) detail, consider a board state of Preeminent Captain, and 3 Glory Seekers, and that player has a Thraben Valiant in hand. They choose to attack with the Captain and two of the Glory Seekers. The Captain's trigger lets them put the Valiant from their hand on the battlefield tapped and attacking. One of the Glory Seekers is blocked in the declare blockers step by the opponent's only creature, a Runeclaw Bear. Now, in the declare blockers step, the board state is:
- there are 4 attacking creatures
- there are 3 creatures that attacked this turn (Thraben Valiant wasn't declared an attacker)
- there are 3 creatures that "attacked and weren't blocked" (one Glory Seeker was blocked)
- there are 5 creatures that weren't blocked (the Glory Seeker that didn't attacked couldn't be and wasn't blocked, and so wasn't Runeclaw Bear)
In the end of combat step, the board state is:
- there are 3 attacking creatures (one Glory Seeker was destroyed)
- there are 3 creatures that attacked this turn (this number doesn't retroactively change)
That last number is the one that Kytheon would see, though as correctly mentioned in the other answers, the ability won't trigger if Kytheon wasn't declared an attacker itself.
5 months ago
7 months ago
You (and literally everybody you asked) are correct. You're quoting a number of rules, but the real reason behind Deathtouch not just applying to combat damage is that this is mentioned nowhere in the rules, and if it's not in the rules, it's not a rule ;)
As you mentioned, 702.2c mentions combat damage, however that paragraph is relevant for assigning damage to blocking creatures. Assuming you attack with a Glissa, the Traitor, and your opponent blocks with 3 Runeclaw Bear, 702.2c lets you assign 1 damage to each creature, because your creature has Deathtouch and therefore is expected to be able to kill a creature assigning only 1 damage to it.
9 months ago
Blight Mamba hold up lands. You'll end up regening instead of pumping. Cut creatures down. You really only need 10-12 creatures with infect. Vines of Vastwood and Apostle's Blessing will help keep your creatures alive, and combos well with Wild Defiance.
Pumps: 4x Mutagenic Growth free 4x Titanic Growth or Giant Growth Titanic make 5 infect DMG, halfway there, or Giant save you from Lightning Bolt. Go Titanic if you go with Wild Defiance. 4x Groundswell another cheap +4/+4. Save an EW.
Reoccuring Damage: 4x Rancor self explanatory 4x Wild Defiance amps up your pumps, Mutagenic Growth now becomes +5/+5 for free. Also saves you from removal like Shock or Lightning Bolt. 4x Cathedral of War count as a land, next best thing to Noble Hierarch if you run it with Plague Myr.
Protection:4x Apostle's Blessing protection from a color let's you swing past defenses, or stops removal like Path to Exile, Swords to Plowshares or Doom Blade. 4x Vines of Vastwood this is a dual protection/pump. Also, this does NOT give a creature Hexproof. SO! If you cast Vines on an enemy creature, you can fizzle the opponents spells. Ex: your opponent controls Runeclaw Bear and casts Giant Growth on it. If you cast Vines on the Beat in response to GG, the GG fizzles out because the Bear can no longer be the target of spells or abilities your OPPONENTS control.
Sideboard: 4x Nature's Claim you will absolutely need this card in your sideboard. Alternatively, you can use this to destroy your own artifacts/enchantments to gain life and stay in the game. 2x Viridian Corrupter artifact hate, as well as a 2/2 infect creature in case you need something heavier. 4x Dryad Militant I know, it doesn't have infect. It's the cheapest way to kill Mill and Flashback decks. It's $1 or less for a playset and you don't want to deal with reoccurring spells. If you can afford it, Replace the Dryads with Dismember. 4x Tormod's Crypt graveyard hate. Kills all Dredge, Unearth, Golgari, Grixis, style decks. Also like $1 for a playset. Worth it. 1x Creeping Corrosion Artifacts are a pain for this deck.
10 months ago
Not only can they help, they can also hinder. If you attack Player B, who has a Runeclaw Bear to block with, Player C could cast Doom Blade on the bear before blockers are declared, then player D could cast Scout's Warning followed by Hunted Lammasu targeting Player B to replace the blocker.
10 months ago
You can do some flicker shenanigans, but it's a bit more complicated than that. For an example situation, let's say we already have a Grizzly Bears token from our current Faerie Artisans when an opponent plays Werebear. As soon as it enters the battlefield, Artisans trigger to produce a new token and exile the old one. This trigger is put on the stack.
If you flicker it in response to that trigger, the original trigger will still resolve, creating a Werebear token and exiling the Grizzly Bears token. This is because cards that have their own name in the rules mean "this object", rather than "cards with that name". Because of this, however, the next creature an opponent plays (clearly Runeclaw Bear) will trigger Faerie Artisans as well, however won't exile the Werebear token created earlier by Faerie Artisans, as that was another object.
And in a completely different scenario, if you flicker it before it triggers, the very same logic applies - but this time, you don't have to exile anything, as the card just entered the battlefield and didn't create any tokens yet.