Runeclaw Bear

Runeclaw Bear

Creature — Bear

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts Price Cardhoarder (O) Price
Low Avg High Foil Normal Foil
$0.03 $0.13 $0.65 $0.24 0.01 TIX 0.01 TIX

Runeclaw Bear Discussion

Raging_Squiggle on Does the BFZ awaken mechanic ...

1 week ago

Eradicate would work in this scenario. It's a similar situation to the Liquimetal Coating + Splinter combo.

Now, a little extra note for the original question. A creature card is only a card with the type creature printed on it. (See Runeclaw Bear. Similarly to a sorcery having the type sorcery (see Ponder) and a land with the type land (see Temple of the False God). There are few exceptions, such as Dryad Arbor, where it has both a land and a creature type printed on it.

FancyTuesday on Archfiend of Depravity and Liliana, ...

2 weeks ago

Sorry, I did not mean to be misleading or partial. In saying "that turn" I meant to imply that it would come back the next turn, and in reading the question the line "the same time" lead me to believe he was asking specifically about that same turn. So allow me to be completely explicit with what happens:

Liliana, Defiant Necromancer creates a delayed trigger for every creature that dies that says "return [this creature] to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step." If your opponent blocks your Grizzly Bears with his Runeclaw Bear and they both die during combat Liliana's emblem will create delayed triggers for both that will return them to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step.

The end of your turn rolls around and all EOT triggers go on the stack. I was wrong about this above, because you don't get to (or need to) order the triggers. Players put triggers they control on the stack in APNAP order (Active Player Non-Active Player), so you put all your Liliana triggers on the stack and then your opponent will put their Archfiend of Depravity trigger on the stack. His trigger is on top and resolves first, so say you control 3 Storm Crows you have to sacrifice down to 2 Storm Crows, and Liliana creates another delayed trigger for the sacrificed Storm Crow that will go on the stack at the beginning of the next end step. As made clear in the rule Triforce-Finder cites, these triggers only get one opportunity to go on the stack per turn, and that point has already passed on this turn. Then your Lili triggers resolve and bring back Runeclaw Bear and Grizzly Bears under your control.

BlueScope on Question about pyromancers goggles

1 month ago

To name an example where this would be very relevant, consider Boros Reckoner - the first 3 damage dealt to it will cause it's ability to trigger, and right after, it will die for having damage higher than or equal to it's toughness (the dieing event will be replaced by Anger of the Gods' exile effect). Either way, the player controlling the Reckoner chooses a target for 3 damage, and when that resolves, the second instance of Anger of the Gods resolves. Since the Reckoner is no longer on the battlefield, it's controller won't get to deal another 3 damage to target creature or player.

Another example would be Soulfire Grand Master that gives your instants and sorceries lifelink, and you cast the double Anger of the Gods with 10 Runeclaw Bears on the battlefield at the time. The first copy to resolve will deal 3 damage to each bear, gaining you 30 life and wiping the board clean. The second copy won't deal any damage, as there are no more creatures on the board, meaning you won't gain any life from it.

BlueScope on Can you go to negative ...

1 month ago

In the same way, if an effect that prevents you from losing the game ends, but the reason you'd lose the game vanishes before state-based actions are checked, you will live; for example: You are at -1 life and control Phyrexian Unlife. An opponent casts Dromoka's Command, making you sacrifice your only enchantment, then has his Runeclaw Bear fight your Child of Night.

The same wouldn't work if instead you controlled a Frogmite that's enchanted with Spirit Link, because state-based actions are checked inbetween the creatures dealing damage, and you gaining life - which is essentially the same situation as in the question.

SirFowler on Group 4 - Clash of the Titans

2 months ago

Do you want me to change? If so I will change. However this is an online tournament. I only have an actual handful of decks that I actually bought. The rest, however, is purely fantasy. In no way would I buy some of the things I have built on here.

There are actually a just few good cards that I can actually use with my commander. If I would just use the useless Runeclaw Bears, then why would I even use my commander? I need to have something that actually synergizes well to make my time worth while.

Boza on Damage prevented with Dictate of ...

2 months ago

It is 4x... or 2x, depending on how each of you chooses.

Lets go with an example. Your opponent is attacking you with 2/2 Runeclaw Bear. You decide to let it through and cast Deflecting Palm before damage. Now there are two replacement effects affecting the damage of the bear, so the receiver of the damage will choose which effect to apply/resolve first.

If you choose the order where the prevention applies first, only 2 damage is prevented by the Deflecting Palm. If he chooses to have the doubling effect apply first, and the prevention effect apply afterwards, 4 damage will be prevented.

In summary, you can have the damage prevented or doubled then prevented.

Next, depending on how you chose previously, Palm will deal either 4 (prevention first) or 8 damage (doubling first) to the opponent.

ZOMBLES127 on Zombie aggro

3 months ago

I do not see a need for Runeclaw Bear, instead you should think about adding Diregraf Ghoul sense you are going aggro. Zombies all the way +1

nobu_the_bard on blocking with multiples

3 months ago

Yes the attacker chooses blocking order, barring any interference by spells or abilities like Banding. There's another round of priority at the end of the Declare Blockers step, once everyone knows who's blocking what and your intended order to deal damage. You have to declare an order even if it doesn't appear to matter (such as if your Raging Goblin is blocked by Runeclaw Bear, Grizzly Bears, and Bear Cub).

Power / Toughness 2/2
Color(s) Green
Cost 1G
Converted cost 2


Format Legality
Heirloom Legal
Standard Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Modern Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Pauper Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Magic 2015 Common
2012 Core Set Common
2011 Core Set Common
Duels of the Planeswalkers Common
2010 Core Set Common

Latest Decks View more