Always helpful to link to the card when making a post about it
February 17, 2021 7:39 a.m.
It has some interesting rules text. Truth is you really dont know how good it can be. The ceiling is really high. And the bottom is not that bad either. I bought a few recently to test with. And I cant wait to see what happens.
February 17, 2021 9:02 a.m.
Academy Ruins , Castle Ardenvale and the whole Eldraine cycle, Maze of Ith , The World Tree ... If you look around there's plenty of lands with cool abilities, on top of that, it counts all lands on the battlefield so if you're out of ideas, just play it to see what your opponents are using. It's more of a utility piece that also fixes your colors, than an actual combo piece you aim to win the game with. But a very fun card nonetheless.
February 17, 2021 9:03 a.m.
You can copy it because it's an artifact. Which could be nice if you are duplicating lands that sacrifice for strong effects or stacking abilities.
Using this with stuff like Prototype Portal .
February 17, 2021 10:54 a.m.
Yea I agree. If you're playing and you notice that someone always has some super strong and or expensive rare land card or land cards. Take note, because Manascape Refractor will probably fit well in all of your decks.
February 17, 2021 11:18 a.m. Edited.
Never mind. That doesnt work like that.
February 17, 2021 11:22 a.m. Edited.
February 17, 2021 12:10 p.m.
February 17, 2021 12:21 p.m.
February 17, 2021 12:46 p.m.
February 17, 2021 3:05 p.m.
Maze's End was the first thing I thought of, though the “return maze’s end to your hand” is an odd situation. Probably stalls out the action, now that I think of it...boooooo...
February 17, 2021 5:43 p.m.
February 17, 2021 5:52 p.m.
Ashaya does nothing for it other than let it tap for green since it has no activated abilities.
February 17, 2021 8 p.m.
February 17, 2021 8:46 p.m.
Ah I see. Yeah, that is good
February 18, 2021 8:44 a.m.
February 18, 2021 8:58 a.m. Edited.
February 18, 2021 9:09 a.m.
so i guess the big question is can
use activated abilities of plane walkers if the planes walker is a creature / land
and if it can use them is it restricted to 1 activation per turn since it is not a planeswalker itself......
but then if i mutate the planeswalker is it going to now permentily stay a planes walker , creature, land ?
and if it does what happens if i start cloneing it????
my head hurts now i need a nap
February 18, 2021 9:14 a.m. Edited.
Would you have to sacrifice it because it would have zero loyalty
February 18, 2021 9:28 a.m.
Ramble - Yes it can use the loyalty abilities, it is still restricted to 1 per turn. If you mutate onto Sarkhan it won't be a planeswalker (it isn't after you make it a dragon anyways). Any token copies will be copies of the whole mutate pile, but won't be lands from Ashaya's ability.
I actually have an Illuna, Apex of Wishes deck built around crazy things like this.
griffstick no, non-planeswalkers don't need to worry about that.
February 18, 2021 9:58 a.m. Edited.
Forgot to add that any copies made of a mutated planeswalker (with the creature on top) will start with 0 loyalty counters. Starting loyalty is a planeswalker only thing.
February 18, 2021 10:13 a.m.
February 18, 2021 11:02 a.m. Edited.
Lots of lands can turn themselves into creatures, so any of those would work.
Argothian Elder and Ashaya already give you infinite untaps, so nothing is gained by adding the refractor.
February 18, 2021 11:20 a.m.
Alright, here's a crazy one:
February 18, 2021 12:07 p.m.
i think you would still have to skip 1 turn before you can loop that
but i like what your thinking
February 18, 2021 1:58 p.m.
Well, it also needs a way to untap an artifact (common effect). Kinda forgot that part. With one of them you don't even need to skip a turn.
There are lots more, and there are other ways to solve the skip turn issue as well.