Arcane Adaptation

Arcane Adaptation

Enchantment

As Arcane Adaptation enters the battlefield, choose a creature type.

Creatures you control are the chosen type in addition to their other types. The same is true for creature spells you control and creature cards you own that aren't on the battlefield.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (1) CompleteWaste
Want (0)

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Ixalan (XLN) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Historic Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Vintage Legal
Limited Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Modern Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Leviathan Legal
Arena Legal
Pioneer Legal
Block Constructed Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Legacy Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Highlander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Arcane Adaptation Discussion

any_response on Sphinx Morphs

3 weeks ago

I know that Unesh, Criosphinx Sovereign is a great card to combine with Arcane Adaptation.

How does this interaction work exactly if i want to play a morph card? Is the cost reduced to 1 Mana and am i able to use the ETB-effect from Unesh?

plakjekaas on Whats The Best Tribal?

1 month ago

Conspiracy or Arcane Adaptation or Xenograft + Turntimber Ranger makes infinite 2/2 ally wolves, 2/2s are better than 1/1s >:)

DeinoStinkus on

1 month ago

Maelstrom Nexus gives a better effect than your commander, I believe. Although with Arcane Adaptation and a couple of big boys you can Cascade all the way down to 1 mana. Although you'd really have to focus on creatures. It's up to you, just calling it as I see it, think it would be cool.

+1

Balaam__ on UB Turn 3 Emrakul (4 real)

2 months ago

This is a thing of beauty. Well done! I had never even considered using Shadowborn Apostle for anything other than fetching a demon, but the addition of Arcane Adaptation is brilliant. How has playtesting gone, is it relatively consistent?

[email protected]_only on Pattern Recognition #160 - Magnify …

2 months ago

So, story time for amplify; Legions had just come out, and with it, slivers were reborn. There were also, as it turns out, some beastly monstrocities for removal, like the aforementioned Feral Throwback's provoke.

"But wait," I hear you cry, "what do these two completely different tribes have to do with each other?" Well, first I need to provide a bit of context; you see, while the card itself might reference a specific creature type, the mechanic doesn't. It checks creatures that share a type as the creature enters play. It's a small distinction, but it allowed a weird interaction:

Conspiracy + Slivers + Amplify = win?

Mind you, nowadays we have Hivestone, Arcane Adaptation, and Xenograft, but this was old school. Heck, magic was just celebrating its 10th anniversary. And there's nothing I like more that taking old cards that were basically useless, cheap gimmicks, and turning them into disgusting beasts. besides which, with the new slivers, it was possible to cover most bases with a mere two colors in slivers. This was basically unheard of a the time.

Tylord2894 on If I chose the creature …

2 months ago

ThatGuy_OhWhatsHisName TL;DR, the creature that you make into a copy of Arcane Adaptation will be a 3/3 blue enchantment creature, Shapeshifter with 3 CMC (provided you are using Starfield of Nyx). The answer is very different if you use something like Dance of the Mance. The copy of the animated Adaptation does not have the ability to grant an additional creature type like the original.

When you turn something into a copy of something else, you are replacing the copiable values of the original thing with those of the second thing. In this case, your, say, Bear Cub will become an Adaption. These values are (mostly) what's printed on the card, cost, abilities, P/T, etc. At this point, the Cub is an exact copy of Adaptation, ie just an enchantment. The next thing that we are concerned with is changes to types. Normally, these changes are considered in timestamp (chronological) order. That is not the case here as there is a dependency. So, let's consider what effects are trying to affect your copy of Adaption (in timestamp order).

  1. Arcane Adaptation is trying to give all creatures the Shapeshifter creature type.
  2. Starfield of Nyx is trying to turn all non-Aura enchantments into creatures.

I've quoted the rule for determining what makes a dependency below. In this case, we are only concerned with the second condition.

Here, Adaptation has a dependency on Starfield, so we will apply Starfield's effect first. This will make the original and copy of Adaptation into a 3/3 enchantment creature. Then, the Adaptation effect is applied, giving both Adaptations the Shapeshift creature type.

The key difference between using Dance of the Mance and Starfield of Nyx is that Dance only affects the enchantments that it brings back. Using Dance here would mean that the copy of Adaptation wouldn't become a creature.

I know that's a lot of information, and I skipped over talking about "layers" directly, but I hope this helps!!

613.8. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is sometimes done using a dependency system. If a dependency exists, it will override the timestamp system.

613.8a An effect is said to “depend on” another if (a) it’s applied in the same layer (and, if applicable, sublayer) as the other effect; (b) applying the other would change the text or the existence of the first effect, what it applies to, or what it does to any of the things it applies to; and (c) neither effect is from a characteristic-defining ability or both effects are from characteristic-defining abilities. Otherwise, the effect is considered to be independent of the other effect.

Rhadamanthus on If I chose the creature …

2 months ago

You're right that the creature turned into a copy of Arcane Adaptation by Shapesharer won't really do anything. The creature type you chose as the original Adaptation entered the battlefield isn't one of its copiable values. Since the other creature became a copy of Adaptation instead of entering the battlefield as a copy, you don't get to make a choice for the first ability, so the second ability doesn't have any effect.

Load more