Target opponent reveals their hand. You choose a nonland card from it or a card from their graveyard. Exile that card. You lose 1 life.
Printings View all
|Theros Beyond Death (THB)||Uncommon|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Agonizing Remorse Discussion
1 week ago
Again, we don't know for certain that the situation being described was Agonizing Remorse already resolving, versus an opponent who simply said they were going to use it on Spell Burst in the process of putting it on the stack (shortcutting to choosing a card they already knew was in the targeted player's hand).
My answer covered both scenarios.
1 week ago
420Broku69: My first sentence says it works, if done correctly.
For instance, the opponent could have just as easily said, "I cast Agonizing Remorse, targeting your Spell Burst," which would have been incorrect phrasing but not on the part of the holder of Spell Burst. As pointed out, since Spell Burst has Buyback, if it's been used before and bought back to hand, then the opponent would know it's there without Agonizing Remorse needing to resolve.
My answer clarifies how the play should run, which would allow for countering Agonizing Remorse with Spell Burst. My intent was to explain how it would work, in addition to pointing out that if the Remorse is already resolving, it wouldn't work.
1 week ago
420Broku69: it's equally important to note that Spell Burst is never actually targeted during the resolution of Agonizing Remorse. Agonizing Remorse targets an opponent, and when it resolves a spell is chosen from the revealed hand, not targeted.
Also, many new players (and even some experienced ones) misunderstand the order of how things work, and would think that as soon as Agonizing Remorse is paid for, that the targeted opponent has to reveal their hand so the caster can choose which card to exile, and then think that responses happen there. Hence the detailed explanation of how it actually works, just in case there was a misunderstanding in how the spell works, so that in the future they can make sure the steps are taken in the proper order. The wording of the question was ambiguous enough that we can't be sure (unless ijustlikethepictures lets us know) whether the spell was actually resolving, or they just thought that when it's cast, the caster immediately looks at the hand and picks a card before anything else happens.
You'll also note that my last line does say that if Agonizing Remorse had already started to resolve, with the hand revealed and the spell chosen, then it was too late to respond.
1 week ago
Yes, this would work, if done correctly.
None of the rules text on Agonizing Remorse will take effect until the spell actually starts resolving. This means while your opponent would target one of their opponents (you, in this case), since targets are chosen at casting, you don't reveal your hand, and they don't choose a card from your hand or graveyard, until the spell actually resolves.
Meanwhile, knowing that your opponent is targeting you and will probably choose your Spell Burst (or something else you don't want to lose), you can respond to Agonizing Remorse on the stack by casting Spell Burst. This will counter Agonizing Remorse, and Remorse thus won't get to resolve.
This assumes, of course, that Spell Burst is in your hand and not your graveyard. If it's in your graveyard, you'll have to have something giving it flashback or similar in order to cast it.
And of course, if you've already let Agonizing Remorse start to resolve (reveal hand, opponent chooses a card), it's too late to respond.
1 week ago
1 month ago
In standard (Arena) I'm playing a Kroxa-Lurrus Deck which is rather control oriented.
Destroy target nonenchantment, nonland permanent, its controller sacrifices a nonland permanent and discards a card. If fewer than three cards entered their library this turn, Disruption deals 3 damage to that player.
You may cast Disruption from your graveyard.
I'd like to see a similar card, however I'd like it to be two-in-one, either Aftermath/flashback/jumpstart or flip-card, or split card, etc.