Riku of Two Reflections

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
MTG: Commander (CMD) Mythic Rare
Promo Set (000) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Tokens

Riku of Two Reflections

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard

Whenever you cast an instant or a sorcery spell, you may pay {U}{R}. If you do, copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Whenever another nontoken creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay {G}{U}. If you do, put a token that's a copy of that creature onto the battlefield.

Riku of Two Reflections Discussion

DarkHero on Will there Ever Be a ...

2 weeks ago

So, imagine this...

Brilecus, Rage-Conduit

Legendary Creature: Warrior Archon

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, it deals damage equal to its power to any target.

5/5

So, we have a creature, who is expensive for a 5/5 with no evasion or protection, but with just the Warstorm Surge ability.

Now lets throw Helm of the Host into the mix.

So he enters the battlefield and triggers off of himself, dealing 5 dmg to something. Then, on the off chance we have Lightning Greaves or some other haste enabler, we equip Helm, swing, make a copy, which then triggers TWICE, for a total of 10 dmg, aside from the combat dmg.

So, now your telling me Riku of Two Reflections is also in play? So, lets use some extra mana to make more copies of the original, again compounding that dmg. The token may die here because it's legendary, but it would still ETB and trigger all instances of the Warstorm Surge effect created from all of our copies

This isn't even considering things that would blink or make other copies.

And bare in mind we have made this Legendary as a downfall to make it more fair.

We haven't even gone infinite here, and we have just about killed the whole table.

DarkHero on Will there Ever Be a ...

2 weeks ago

So realistically that is just kind of what Magic does. In the same way that Wheel of Fortune is on Magus of the Wheel , or that Urza, Lord High Artificer has Tolarian Academy as an ability, or that Beast Whisperer is Glimpse of Nature , it's that simplest way to create something knew without reinventing the proverbial wheel. It happens all the time.

While a creature that is Warstorm Surge on a body might be very powerful, I would thing it would defiantly be an option for them t some point. They may just worry about the synergies that you are thinking about being a bit on the broken side.

Your looking at Riku of Two Reflections , Deadeye Navigator , Conjurer's Closet , Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker , and the like being able to blink this creature for a ton of damage all over the board. It could be easily broken.

Theoretically, it would recognize itself entering the battlefield, and just go off if it wasn't countered.

DemonDragonJ on Will there Ever Be a ...

2 weeks ago

Warstorm Surge is an awesome card, but it relies on creatures to function, making it useless on its own. For that reason, I feel that a creature with its ability would be amazing, and would certainly be great for any EDH deck with Riku of Two Reflections as its general (such as the one that I have).

What does everyone else say about this subject? Will WotC ever print a creature version of Warstorm Surge ?

RoaringBunny on Omnath, the Molten Pinnacle EDH

3 weeks ago

king-saproling: I have been considering Fertilid since Omnath became the general. I'm just stuck on what to cut for it.

theseax: I think your assessment of Field of the Dead is correct. When I first read the card I though about putting it in the deck but at some point I changed my mind and can't remember why. It looks like it will be powerful and I'll be adding it in.

Manabond + Sunder were actually in a very early version of the deck. After playing the deck I found the cards to not have a big enough impact individually and removed them. Since then many new support card have been released so they may be worth reconsidering.

Back when Riku of Two Reflections was the general card draw was sub-optimal and relied heavily on Consecrated Sphinx . That was before Omnath, Locus of the Roil and Tatyova, Benthic Druid , now card draw is so readily available I was able to cut Consecrated. The improved card draw is an additional reason I am reconsidering Manabond.

I do occasionally suffer dead hands, but I attribute it mainly to land clumping/poor shuffling. Even a bad hand usually works itself out once Omnath enter the battlefield.

esoteric117: Realmwright is indeed perfect, I don't know how I have never seen it before. Thank you for bringing it to my attention, definitely putting it into the deck.

Now for the hard part. Finding new cards to consider is easy, but finding targets to cut is incredibly rough.

Thank you for the comments

Kogarashi on Copying a Creature With X ...

4 weeks ago

And here's the relevant rules for reference (emphasis added):

  • 706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

  • 107.3f If a card in any zone other than the stack has an {X} in its mana cost, the value of {X} is treated as 0, even if the value of X is defined somewhere within its text.

The stack is the only place where X has any value other than 0 when copied.

So with Riku of Two Reflections copying Hydroid Krasis (which is copied from the battlefield), the copy's value of X will be 0 and thus it will enter with no counters and immediately die. Meanwhile Green Sun's Zenith is copied from the stack, and thus whatever value was set for X will be copied.

enpc on Abra-ca 'Poke Us'

4 weeks ago

I would recommend agianst trying to mix both death-touching and stealing opponent's creatures. Just forucs on one effect. But even before that, you need to figure out what your win condition is. Alos, if you're looking to use Niz as your main wincon, Niv-Mizzet, Parun has the benefit of being uncounterable. Also, since a good chunk of your ping creatures are red, Torbran, Thane of Red Fell seems decent here.

I think that either Riku of Two Reflections or Maelstrom Wanderer are better commanders here. Riku makes more dudes and does double duty on untap spells and wanderer is a haste source. Plus they free up another card slot.

DemonDragonJ on Copying a Creature With X ...

1 month ago

Boza, thank you very much; I have an EDH deck whose general is Riku of Two Reflections that contains Simic Sky Swallower , and now I know to not replace that creature with Hydroid Krasis .

DemonDragonJ on Copying a Creature With X ...

1 month ago

If a player copies a creature that contains X in its mana cost, such as Hydroid Krasis or Nimbus Swimmer , via Riku of Two Reflections or similar card, what will the power and toughness of the token be?

Load more

Riku of Two Reflections occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.01%