Enchantment — Aura
You control enchanted creature.
Printings View all
|2012 Core Set (M12)||Uncommon|
|2011 Core Set (M11)||Uncommon|
|Duels of the Planeswalkers (DPA)||Uncommon|
|2010 Core Set (M10)||Uncommon|
|Promo Set (000)||Uncommon|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Latest Decks as Commander
Mind Control Discussion
3 weeks ago
I've decided I want to try building this guy next, but I'm going to need some help doing so. Right now, I'd like the main strategy to be reanimator and theft; I'm thinking I can best do this by wheeling opponents and reviving their creatures to my side or by using enchantments like Mind Control to steal them. Being able to take advantage of their spells with things like Insidious Will or Redirect would be in theme with this also.
Given the nature of Ertai's ability, though, I think an Esper Aristocrats strategy would also be good to use, especially with Solemnity in play with Undying or Persist creatures on board. Solemnity is the only card I know of in Esper that can prevent counters, but that's why having reanimation or recycling spells will be particularly useful.
Finally, I'm thinking about using tokens. Stuff like Weaponcraft Enthusiast or Grave Titan would build my board up and provide fodder for Ertai's ability, which will be used to hinder opponents' strategies and protect my own.
I think all of these strategies can mesh very well together, but my main concern is that I'll be spreading myself too thin if I try to incorporate every single one of these elements to their fullest. That's why I'm looking for help and advice on how to best take this deck.
1 month ago
For future reference, you can surround a card's name with double brackets, "[", to link the card's image to the name (i.e. [ [ Harmless Offering ] ] without the spaces turns into Harmless Offering. This works sitewide.
To your question though, a permanent with counters does not lose those counters if someone else gains control of it through a Mind Control or Threaten type effect. In general, there are two ways a permanent can lose counters, effect removes them or that permanent leaves the battlefield.
Hope this helps!!
3 months ago
Control Magic, Chamber of Manipulation, Parasitic Impetus, Abduction, Confiscate, corrupted conscious, Dream Leash, incase in ice, Enslave, Faith Unbroken, In Bolas's Clutches, Infinite Reflection, Lay Claim, Leaden Fists, Mind Control, Persuasion, Prison Term, Spectral Grasp, Spirit Away, take posession, Treachery, Vow of Duty, Vow of Flight, Vow of Lightning, vow of malace, Vow of Wildness, Weight of Conscience, Winter's Rest, Yavimaya's Embrace, Arrest, Bonds of Faith, Bound by Moonsilver, Bound in Silence, Cage of Hands, Cagemail, Captured by the Consulate, Caught in the Brights, Cessation, Choking Restraints, Crystallization, Demonic Torment, Desert's Hold, Dreadful Apathy, Faith's Fetters, Forced Worship, Hobble, Ice Cage, Kirtar's Desire, Krasis Incubation, Lawmage's Binding, Luminous Bonds, One Thousand Lashes, Pacifism, Pillory of the Sleepless, Recumbent Bliss, Revoke Privileges, Capture Sphere, Castaway's Despair, Charmed Sleep, Claustrophobia, Encrust, Malfunction, Mystic Restraints, Numbing Dose, Shackles, Sleep Paralysis, Stasis Cell, Unquenchable Thirst, Waterknot, Martial Impetus, Predatory Impetus, Psychic Impetus, shinny impetus, Darksteel Mutation, Deep Freeze, Frogify, Ichthyomorphosis, Imprisoned in the Moon, Kasmina's Transmutation, kenrith's transmutation, Lignify, One with the Stars, Reprobation, Song of the Dryads
and that's just auras
4 months ago
Hmm, Muddle seems expensive for what it does, as does Mind Control.
Vedalken Shackles isn't incredibly expensive, and will usually do the job better than MC.
I would invest in cheaper countermagic for protection such as Spell Pierce
5 months ago
You won't be able to target the creature you Wrangled with Charming Prince's last ability. Though you gained "control" of the creature, your opponent is still the one who "owns" it, since they're the one who brought it to the game. Charming Prince's last ability can only target a creature you own.
Now if your opponent was to use Mind Control or something similar to take one of the creatures you own, you could use Charming Prince to get it back.
5 months ago
Correct. If you Mind Control someone's commander, you may still cast it without paying its mana cost because it doesn't specify it must be Your commander.
Note that "commander-ness" is a quality of the physical card and not a copiable trait, so having a Clone copying someone else's commander would not satisfy the requirement.
6 months ago
why would it need to be a creature that fills the same role? it could be a noncreature that steals an opponents creature like Mind Control, or it could be a card of a different role entirely. the deck could benefit from more mana rocks/color fixing, or cheap removal spells.
8 months ago
It's similar to the Karn, the Great Creator and Mycosynth Lattice lock. Mycosynth Lattice makes their lands artifacts, and since their lands are artifacts, Karn prevents the lands from making mana. This is based on the notion that all lands have an unwritten, assumed activated ability to tap and make mana. That's why Pithing Needle has the little extra rules text saying that activated abilities that produce mana aren't affected.
With that in mind, after you choose a player with Sen Triplets , that player can no longer activate any abilities for that turn. Therefore, they have no way of paying the that Erratic Portal and Crystal Shard demand in order to prevent the creature being bounced. So you can easily bounce any creature they control and then cast it while it's in their hand. You can basically Mind Control any creature on their board if you can bounce it. The two artifacts mentioned above are repeatable bounce effects that function perfectly with your commander.