Isochron Scepter and Humility (separate questions)

Asked by LiquidKid 4 years ago

Hello players, I have some general questions about Isochron Scepter ... If I imprint a card with replicate, kicker, or some extra ability of the like, Do I have the option of using the extra ability when I activate the scepter? What if I imprint a wear/tear to it? From my understanding, I choose either/or...not both. Am I correct? Now for Humility . Let's say I have it out and then buff a creature with a +1/+1(not a counter)....it remains a 1/1? Even though the source of the buff is a separate entity from humility? Now one more! Let's say that same 1/1 dude does actually get a +1/+1 counter, he's now technically a 2/2? Last one! If I imprint a Daze onto the Isochron Scepter do I have the option of actually returning the island to my hand in addition to paying the activation cost on the scepter? Thanks guys

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Don't ask unrelated questions in the same thread.

Isochron Scepter's ability specifies that you must cast the copy without paying its mana cost. This follows the rules for casting something for an alternate cost, which means that you can't pay its mana cost or any other alternate costs (including overload or Daze's alternate cost, for example). You can pay optional additional costs like kicker and replicate, and you must pay mandatory additional costs.

If you imprint a split card, you may cast either half. You can't fuse it because you aren't casting it from your hand.


For the Humilityquestion, you need to know layers, which determine how static effects apply.

P/T-setting effects apply in layer 7b. Buffs apply in 7c, and counters apply in 7d. Therefore, you'll actually see the bonuses from static buffs and counters.

January 18, 2015 8:33 p.m.

This discussion has been closed