What is your biggest mtg related mess up?

Social forum

Posted on July 29, 2018, 12:58 p.m. by Epidilius

I spent the last few months working towards getting the Grixis Moxen for an EDH deck, finally got them and found out they're banned in EDH.

Derp.

TheDevicer says... #2

Lucky they hold value well. It's not like you're burdened by useless cards. Very strange of you to put literally thousands into a format you're not very familiar with, however.

My biggest mess up? Uhhh. I suppose it has to do with my competitive Grixis splinter twin EDH deck. A few years back, the list wasn't recognized by the cEDH community or anything and myself and some other people came up with it independent of one another. Basically it's a dedicated combo list that uses the highly redundant Kiki Jiki + Deceiver Exarch combo. The list works because the combo has many functionally identical cards, many of which can be cast from the graveyard as well as from the hand. This makes the deck incredibly resilient and capable of pushing for wins from multiple angles.

This list originally used Sedris, the Traitor King as its commander. I was really happy with my list and played with it for years until Kess, Dissident Mage was printed and prompted me to take another look at the deck.

To my absolute horror, I noticed I had originally completely neglected Phyrexian Delver from my list. The reason this matters is that casting or reanimating Phyrexian Delver can reanimate Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker. You can then tap Kiki Jiki to copy the Delver to reanimate Pestermite which then untaps Kiki Jiki. You can then use Kiki to create infinite hasty Pestermites.

FOR YEARS, I HAD USED Victimize AS ONE OF THE EASIEST WAYS TO WIN QUICKLY WHEN I COULD HAVE SIMPLY BEEN USING THE DELVER THAT WHOLE TIME!

To make things worse, I even spoke authoritatively about the deck and helped champion it as a worthwhile deck to play even before the printing of Kess and had left my lists public for others to peruse as an example. I guarantee some people have laughed at me for this mistake over the course of the last few years.

July 29, 2018 1:21 p.m.

Does water help when someone is very...dramatic? If, TheDevicer, please take some water.

My biggest mess up? I used Quest for Ula's Temple in my snake deck for a while as I mixed up the type translations for serpent and snake. Felt pretty stupid afterwards.

July 29, 2018 3:39 p.m.

MJS154 says... #4

Probably waited for 2 months to get a Domri Rade, bought it, forgot to buy the emblem, bought the emblem, then forgot my deck somewhere for 2 weeks. Not too bad but really annoying!

July 29, 2018 4:08 p.m.

Homelessguy says... #5

Winding Canyons was a card I put in my first EDH deck.

And for whatever reason I read this a pay 2 tap I can put a creature into play anytime I can play an instant.

which I used to constantly play eldrazis and my friends did not catch me doing this until a good five, six games. games that I won.

So Not only was I cheating,I did it multiple times.

July 29, 2018 4:33 p.m.

shadow63 says... #6

Trading my foil Mox Opal in at my lgs when it was only about $50 foil. I was a noob and didn't know the legacy of the moxen

July 29, 2018 4:38 p.m.

TheDevicer says... #7

seshiro_of_the_orochi, I do hope you're just having a bad day and that your previous post wasn't a reflection of who you are most of the time, but I feel the need to point out that you were being unnecessarily mean spirited.

People care about lots of different things. I happen to value the recognition and respect people give me when I engage in talks about cEDH across several communities (or used to anyway) even if that respect only extends as far as leaving a comment explaining why they disagree with me. Being recognized as an equal is wonderful and I love talks about cEDH.

With that in mind, I do think it's understandable that a gaffe that lasted several years and was publicly seen seen by my peers is embarrassing. You may not agree with me, but it does not diminish my feelings toward the event and OP asked the people of TO what they thought was their biggest MtG-related mess up. I definitely feel like my Phyrexian Delver mistake tops off my personal list.

Strive to be better.

July 29, 2018 5:06 p.m.

RowdyMagic18 says... #8

I was playing against one of my friends during gameday Hour of devistation. I was at 1 life and was about to ultimate a Liliana, the Last Hope. I also had Dark Salvation in hand. So I made a evil plan... I would play Dark Salvation, before “ultimating” Liliana, so I could start an epic comeback by flooding the board with zombies. So I cast Dark Salvation thinking I just won the game, only to forget that my friend had casted a Kambal, Consul of Allocation a turn before! Killing myself... Oops! XD

July 29, 2018 7:03 p.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #9

I was once playing Modern at my LGS. I forget what decks we were using.

First game, my opponent exiled four of my cards. I ended up winning, and we continued onto the second game.

Midway into it, I realized I had forgot to shuffle those four exiled cards into the library when the game ended, so I was illegally playing with a 56 card deck.

Lol, oops.

July 29, 2018 8:10 p.m.

TheDevicer says... #10

Not me, but I was playing against Storm as UW control in modern at my shop recently and I had a lackluster hand in game 2. At one point, I was forced to Cycle a Spreading Seas on one of the two Steam Vents he has after a mediocre Serum Visions. At this point, I'm basically reaching for the moon, hoping I'm going to top deck a side board card like Rest in Peace or something fast. I'm running out of time.

My opponent untaps, plays is singleton mountain, and casts Blood Moon. What he forgot was that the Blood Moon's time stamp makes it apply over the Spreading Seas, meaning he was left with nothing but mountains. He just mooned himself out of an easy game. All that was left for me to do was to make sure I negated his manamorphose and cast all other Spreading Seas I top decked on myself and I was good.

He was so dejected. I felt bad for the guy.

July 29, 2018 9:55 p.m.

SynergyBuild says... #11

TheDevicer dang man, your story is way cooler than mine... when I first got into the game, i thought Disdainful Stroke hit less than four, (dont ask why, I just was stupid) and I ran 4 of it in a UW control build... I won more games the first few weeks of playing than I care to admit...

July 29, 2018 10:17 p.m.

Rushsilver says... #12

So when I first got into magic I played a UW Knowledge Pool hardlock deck in modern. I was up against Scapeshift. It was game 3 (I think) and I had the hardlock of Knowledge Pool and Curse of Exhaustion so I had the game in the bag. But for some reason, with the whole store watching me because we were the last game, I cast one my opponents Summoner's Pacts off of Knowledge Pool and died the next turn. Years later people still remember this. Pretty hilarious.

July 30, 2018 12:11 a.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #13

You couldn't pay the 2GG? If you had green creatures to search for, surely you had the Mana for them?

July 30, 2018 12:26 a.m.

TheDevicer: I feel obliged to answer, but I'll do it as friendly as possible: I didn't mean to insult you in any way. I actually didn't understand how this (to me) minor problem embarasses you that much. But given the topic of this thread and the background you explained, I get your point. I'm a quite empathetic person usually, so not thinking about ones motives when talking to them is something I normally don't do. So please accept my excuse and have a beautiful day.

July 30, 2018 12:40 a.m.

Rushsilver says... #15

TypicalTimmy No. I was a UW deck and I cast my opponents Summoners Pact off of Knowledge Pool.

July 30, 2018 1:22 a.m.

SynergyBuild says... #16

Rushsilver, TypicalTimmy is asking because Summoner's Pact only searches for green creatures, so he is asking why you would even cast it.

July 30, 2018 8:18 a.m.

MWorl91 says... #17

Before I learned how the stack worked I went to cast a spell my opponent cast a draw spell and then tried to cast a counter and I told him he couldn’t because I thought once something on the stack started to resolve then everything had to resolve before anything else could be cast. He just let it go without arguing and I won the game as a result. After finding out I was wrong a couple weeks later I’ve regretted it ever since

July 30, 2018 8:54 a.m.

FSims81 says... #18

Screwing up the way to kill indestructible creatures. I argued with my opponent for a good 15 minutes that damage that reduced toughness to 0 would still kill a creature given indestructible when I was really thinking about counters that would reduce toughness to 0. We called judges over and everything, only for me to realize I'd been arguing correctly in my head but using the wrong wording the entire time.

July 30, 2018 11:10 a.m.

JRaynor says... #19

I got really excited about the interaction between dark depths and knight of the reliquary for my modern zoo deck.... Bought dark depths and realized it was banned....

July 30, 2018 1:51 p.m.

TheDevicer says... #20

OOO, I got a decent one I just remembered. I was playing a UW control mirror in modern and we had both played pretty well so far, so the games had draw out. We were nearing the end of time in game 3 and it was looking like neither one of us could finish the other off.

My opponent plays and emblem's Gideon of the Trials with 3 turns left until a draw would be called. For some really dumb reason, I totally forgot how one of the key cards in my own deck functions and thought he couldn't draw and I'd lose. In the heat of the moment, I went so deep in the tank trying to figure out if I had any lines of play to eliminate the Gideon and what kind of counter wars would ensue, how I ought to sequence my plays, and so on. I probably pissed the whole store off by tanking on that play while literally everyone is waiting for us to draw and move on to the next round.

July 30, 2018 3:23 p.m.

shadow63 says... #21

This is a minor one but when I first started using Commune with Lava me and my friends thought they had to pick new targets and just found chose the creature I already burned or the land that was already blown up

July 30, 2018 3:35 p.m.

Phaetion says... #24

Mine happened just now.

I was goldfishing a Vaevictis Asmadi, the Dire EDH deck against a Sydri deck. I trigger Asmadi, getting rid of something and...they reveal Blightsteel Colossus off the top. I thought I had no way to get rid of it, and tried to keep the infect off of them both (opp. played Sculpting Steel). I won that game, but I looked at Asmadi's card again and it read sacrifice, not destroy. I could've gotten rid of the Blightsteel(s) the entire time.

...oops.

July 30, 2018 11:19 p.m.

bwanabeast5 says... #25

shadow63 the same exact thing happened to me, and I traded it to that scumbag of a store Advantage Games. The saddest day when i found how much it's worth 6 months later

July 31, 2018 8:49 a.m.

JRaynor says... #26

Yeah, I think every player has these Value-lost stories when starting. I had a foil godless shrine and several thought seizes I pulled when I first started, and let em all go for practically nothing.

Cards that do damage to you - pfft. lol

August 1, 2018 8:26 a.m.

Rabid_Wombat says... #27

True story that happened to a very close friend of mine when we were all in College living together in a Frat House.

Dave scored a Black Lotus back when they were going for around $50 (1995?) and decided it would be "cool" to put it on our fridge (sleeved) with a magnet holding it in place.

No-one else in the house thought that this was a great idea but Dave was adamant that it was the best thing ever. Obviously it drew a lot of attention and when people came over they would be like: "Wow! You gotta Black Lotus on your fridge dude, that is SO epic" etc..

So we have a Keg Party the next month and, sure enough, the next morning the Black Lotus was nowhere to be seen. I'll never forget a very hungover Dave desperately yelling: "It might have fallen under the fridge! Help me move this f**king fridge man!!"

For the record...it was black bordered - either Alpha or Beta.

August 5, 2018 7:23 a.m.

Please login to comment