Crush of Tentacles

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Hero Legal
Heirloom Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Casual Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Oath of the Gatewatch (OGW) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Tokens

Crush of Tentacles

Sorcery

Surge (You may cast this spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn.)

Return all nonland permanents to their owner's hands. If Crush of Tentacle's surge cost was paid, put an 8/8 blue Octopus creature token onto the battlefield.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

OGW

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Crush of Tentacles Discussion

Polupus on Balance of power

3 weeks ago

Crush of Tentacles would be great with the natural rebound

Austin_Smith_of_Cards on Jalira budget (30$ deck)

4 weeks ago

Looks pretty great; I built a Jalira list myself recently, and she's an absolute blast to play. I'd swap out Tromokratis and Lorthos, the Tidemaker since you actually can't flip them with Jalira (she specifies nonlegendary). I suggest including Inkwell Leviathan as a replacement beater and Talrand, Sky Summoner as an additional token generator. If you want other big creature budget ideas Pathrazer of Ulamog, Frost Titan, Stormsurge Kraken, Artisan of Kozilek, and Deep-Sea Kraken are all pretty cheap.

Definitely recommend some board clears to help stabilize yourself into the lategame so you can actually get the big dudes out. Whelming Wave, Engulf the Shore, and Crush of Tentacles are all pretty good in this respect.

There's also some cheap lands that can make tokens for you to sacrifice lategame to make sure you don't run out of gas; Foundry of the Consuls, Spawning Bed, and Cradle of the Accursed.

I'm gonna link my build here in case you ever want to go above $30 as your budget; don't worry, there's nothing crazy expensive in here except for the Blightsteel Colossus I opened in a booster pack back in the day: Jalira Big Dumb Beaters EDH

Argy on Admiral Beckett Brass EDH

1 month ago

Ooooo I like a LOT.

I have a few suggestions:

Hostage Taker is AMAZING when flickered, as you can keep strealing and playing Creatures, even Indestructible ones.

Deadeye Navigator would help you do this, and it's name is flavorful for Pirates.

Along those lines, I use Siren's Ruse and Supernatural Stamina in my Standard Pirate deck, to both protect Hostage Taker and flicker it.

Metallic Mimic would give you an excellent early play. It's costly to buy at the moment, but will drop in price when it rotates out. I like early plays in EDH that help to establish a strong board, as nothing much is going on for those Turns.

Vizier of Many Faces will let you make a copy of Hostage Taker or any other Creature you want. It also comes back from the 'yard.

Unclaimed Territory is a cheaper version of Cavern of Souls. Rogue's Passage would help to trigger your Commander's ability.

Search for Azcanta  Flip is my favourite loot and draw card, at the moment. It would easily help you to filter cards early on, then get the jump later in the game.

If you like Swan Song you also might find Reality Shift useful. Even the promo version, which I've linked to, is inexpensive.

You have no Counter spells, when there are some VERY good ones that cost peanuts.

Stuff like Cancel, Dissolve, Dissipate, Void Shatter, etc. Pirates need protection.

River's Rebuke is a nice card for interrupting one of your your Opponent's tempo, and putting you in the driving seat. Crush of Tentacles is also good, and suits the flavour. If you were going to use that card you might want some stuff in your deck that gives you no maximum hand size.

Tezzeret the Schemer looks like a Pirate, as far as I am concerned, and can help to Ramp. His Emblem would be fantastic in this deck, with all the Artifact generation you have.

That's all I have.

+1 from me for the Tribe.

Here's my standard version:
Ahoy, Me Hearties!

Sheld on I'll hold on to that for you!

1 month ago

Hi NV_1980,

I love this deck! I really like when people go off the beaten track and come up with something original in their decks and I also like when cards in a deck synergize well with each other instead of being powerful good-stuff cards and you certainly accomplished both of these with this deck.

It is hard for me to give advice on deck without play-testing, so I will just write down some cards that seem to fit your deck well, but you will know better if they are actually worth playing.

Gidgetimer on 2nd Octopus from Swarm Intelligence?

1 month ago

One would think that the fact that the surge cost was paid isn't a copiable characteristic, since such things are not copiable for permanents. However spells copy if alternative or additional costs were paid as well as what was used to pay it. This interpretation of 706.10 is backed up by the card rulings on Crush of Tentacles.

706.10. To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isnt cast and a copy of an activated ability isnt activated. A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs. (See rule 601, Casting Spells.) Choices that are normally made on resolution are not copied. If an effect of the copy refers to objects used to pay its costs, it uses the objects used to pay the costs of the original spell or ability. A copy of a spell is owned by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell or ability is controlled by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell is itself a spell, even though it has no spell card associated with it. A copy of an ability is itself an ability.

1/22/2016: If an instant or sorcery spell cast for its surge cost is copied, the copy is also considered to have had its surge cost paid.

Blo on 2nd Octopus from Swarm Intelligence?

1 month ago

Swarm Intelligence will copy certain effects, but not text-changing effects. The 'if it's surge cost was paid'-clause, isn't a text-changing ability though, it already exists on the card and upon resolving the spell, it will check what cost was paid, whether you cast the spell for regular cost, or suge cost. According to the rules below, this clause will be copied when copying Crush of Tentacles.

Then it should be noted that you choose which cost you pay before putting the spell on the stack. So in short, if you pay it's surge cost and it goes on the stack, the spell will copy the casted 'surged' spell. If you cast the regular spell, it will copy a regular spell but won't give you the ability to cast it for it's surge cost.

So in short, your assumption is correct.
Please note though, that your spells will not resolve at the same time, so you will bounce everything, create a token. Then resolve the second spell, bounce everything again (which should be just the token most of the time) and then create a second token. Net result leaving you with a single 8/8.

Rules text:"706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object's characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The "copiable values" are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by "as . . . enters the battlefield" and "as . . . is turned face up" abilities that set characteristics, and by abilities that caused the object to be face down. Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied."

chosenone124 on 2nd Octopus from Swarm Intelligence?

1 month ago

Here's what happens. You have Swarm Intelligence and you Surge Crush of Tentacles

In response to your Surged Crush of Tentacles, Swarm places a copy on the stack. According to the 1/22/2016 ruling, this Crush is also surged.

First copy resolves it bounces all nonland permanents and drops an Octupus. Your boardstate is: One Octopus.

Original resolves, bouncing your Octupus and dropping a new Octopus. Your boardstate is: One Octopus.

MilliNox on 2nd Octopus from Swarm Intelligence?

1 month ago

Hey there!

I'm rebuilding my EDH U/B Spells Deck at the moment and stumbled over a card interaction. Let's say I have Swarm Intelligence on the field, cast something like Ponder and then Crush of Tentacles for it's Surge cost.

Because of Swarm Intelligence I would get a copy of the wipe and also a 2nd Octopus token, if I'm not misunderstanding the rulings for the card on Gatherer:

"The controller of a copy cant choose to pay any alternative or additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any alternative or additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy."

Is my assumption correct?

Cheers

MilliNox

Load more