Master Biomancer

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Master Biomancer

Creature — Elf Wizard

Each creature you control enters the battlefield with a number of additional +1/+1 counters on it equal to Master Biomancer's power and is a Mutant in addition to its other types.

Rhadamanthus on Can a creature's own state-based …

1 month ago

It will just get 2 counters. Master Biomancer's ability is a replacement effect (uses "as/with/instead/prevent") that modifies how other creatures enter the battlefield. When you're determining how many counters Imperious Perfect should enter the battlefield with, it isn't yet on the battlefield, so Master Biomancer just has 2 power.

If Master Biomancer's ability was a triggered ability (always starts with "when/whenever/at") then this would work, because Imperious Perfect would actually be on the battlefield when you're figuring out how many counters to add, but that's not the case here.

vic on Can a creature's own state-based …

1 month ago

I control a Master Biomancer and I play an Imperious Perfect. Can I make the Perfect come in with 3 counters? (Boosting the Biomancer first, receiving counters second)

Last_Laugh on Atraxa, Praetors' Voice

7 months ago

Danny Pink is a crazy draw engine here.

Master Biomancer is a good source of initial counters.

Anduril, Narsil Reforged is another excellent way to get counters on everyone.

I personally run Reyhan/Ishai for a dedicated +1+1 counters build so same colors but different commanders since I didn't do the Superfriends thing. Feel free to check it out for ideas. Upvotes on any of my decks are appreciated. Little Rey of Ishine (Reyhan/Ishai)

Rhadamanthus on What happens if i play …

9 months ago

The reason it works the way DreadKhan found in their research is because Master Biomancer's ability generates a replacement effect (usually indicated by the use of "as", "with", "instead" or "prevent" in the rules text). A replacement effect modifies an event as it happens, so it needs to exist before the event starts in order to be applied. In this example there's only one Master Biomancer on the battlefield while the first group of token copies is being created, so they'll only get 2 +1/+1 counters.

The reason triggered abilities (indicated by starting with "when", "whenever" or "at") work differently is because a triggered ability triggers right after the triggering event happens. In order to work properly, they are able to briefly look "back in time" to see what just happened to determine if and how they trigger. This is why objects with ETB triggers that enter the battlefield simultaneously can trigger off of each other.

DreadKhan on What happens if i play …

9 months ago

When I was digging online, most people seem to feel that the Rite of Replication resolves by giving you 5 copies of Master Biomancer that each enter with 2 +1/+1 counters. From more digging it seems the issue is that the replacement effect is a Static Ability, which uses different rules than a Triggered Ability. TBH this seems unnecessarily confusing, if simultaneous creatures ETBing can 'see' one another for triggered abilities it seems weird to not have static abilities work that way, oh well I guess?

Anyways, in short, from what I found a kicked Rite results in 5 tokens with 2 +1 counters each. If you copied the kicked Rite, you'd have 5 copies with 4 power each already out from the first Rite, meaning a second would make 5 that have 22 counters each, a 3rd kicked Rite coughs up 5 copies with 142 counters each if my math is correct (2 for the OG, 20 for the first copies, and 5*24=120 for the second copies). Hope some of this helps!

carpecanum on The Miming Plasm

2 years ago

Rite of Replication maybe? Quicksilver Gargantuan

You have a bunch of Legendary creatures so maybe Spark Double, Helm of the Host or wasn't there an old artifact that let you ignore the Legendary rule?

Cloning the Master Biomancer makes a stupid amount of counters. Good call.

Possibly Traumatize, Fleet Swallower or Nemesis of Reason

Load more