Interactions with +1/+1 counters and Master Biomancer

Asked by wormhole65 4 years ago

If a creature says that it enters the battlefield with a certain number of counters on it (or I have a Master Biomancer ), does that count as counters being placed on that creature, for the purpose of triggering cards like Hardened Scales? If an evolve creature like Fathom Mage enters the battlefield with counters on it do its effects trigger?

For instance, with Master Biomancer on field, if I played Fathom Mage would I get a 3/3 and draw two cards when it entered the battlefield? Would it become a 4/4 and draw three cards if I had Hardened Scales? Would Prime Speaker Zegana or a hydra like Genesis Hydra enter the battlefield with an extra counter for free if I had Hardened Scales?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Link all cards in your question.
Hardened Scales

Always check Gatherer before asking a question.

From Hardened Scales's Gatherer page:
9/20/2014: Placed on a creature you control includes that creature entering the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it. If a creature would enter the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it while you control Hardened Scales, it enters with that many counters plus one.

From Fathom Mage's Gatherer page:
1/24/2013: If Fathom Mage enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it (perhaps due to Master Biomancer), its last ability will trigger once for each +1/+1 counter it entered the battlefield with.

January 8, 2015 2:43 p.m.

wormhole65 says... #2

Sorry about not linking Hardened Scales, for some reason every time I linked it I got a server error when I tried to post the question and it erased my entire question and I had to start all over.

Anyways I must have missed the ruling on Fathom Mage's page because that's the one I checked and I didn't see that ruling. I'll read twice next time.

Thanks anyways

January 8, 2015 2:49 p.m.

This discussion has been closed