mtg, mtg cards, magic the gathering, gaming, geeks
You may have Progenitor Mimic enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield except it gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this creature isn't a token, put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of this creature."
|Have (25)||wtt1913 , IonImplant , samk125 , cakrause86 , TheRedMage , Comicalflop , SirSpycrab , acbooster , gnarlicide , PrimeSpeaky , Butters01 , Nthnbnntt09 , NoOneYouKnow , blackmarker90 , ichiroftw , Joedragon3 , Putrefy , sbyt32 , CW , whiteunderfire , shaistyone , TitansFTW , itsfnycuzitstru , Jelatinator , dollfacerach|
|Want (14)||Draygo , SirSpycrab , capriom85 , VaultTechy , XxCataclysmiCxX , hamu33 , thyhax , TheFrozenFox , KevinLS , Wolfninja , Krayhaft , bhayes8 , sharkhunter66 , rockleemyhero|
After you use The Mimeoplasm 's replacement effect to make it become a copy of Progenitor Mimic as it enters the battlefield, it gains a new replacement effect that affects how it enters the battlefield. You can choose to have it become a copy of something on the battlefield (and if you do, it gains the token-making ability as well).
Just a bit of a hypothetical question that has been bothering me. As The Mimeoplasm enters the battlefield, I can exile two creature cards from graveyards and have him become a copy of one of them. Progenitor Mimic says that you can have it enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield. If I have Progenitor Mimic in my graveyard and exile it, making The Mimeoplasm copy it, would I end up simply with a 0/0 The Mimeoplasm -Progenitor Mimic with +1/+1 counters on it from the second exiled creature, or would I have the ability to have The Mimeoplasm become a copy of another creature because of Progenitor Mimic 's ability?
Progenitor Mimic is one of my favorite creatures from RTR block. Comboing it with Lavinia of the Tenth is probably one of the better uses for it since the legend rule changed. Another one it works well with is Prime Speaker Zegana . Let the original die when you cast the Mimic, and let the token die each upkeep. You still get the draw trigger from the token before it dies. Recurring card advantage at no additional cost.
JXB: Only one will die thanks to the change to the legend rule in M14. When a second legendary permanent of the same name comes into play under the same player's control, that player chooses one and puts the other into the graveyard as a state based action. Progenitor Mimic and Lavinia of the Tenth works exactly like he described
yes thanks maxon that is it. it works like this Master Biomancer is out, copy it with Progenitor Mimic , next token comes out, double Master Biomancer trigger making the token a 8/10, next token comes out and gets 12 counters making it a 14/16, rinse and repeat. lol