Double Major

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Double Major

Instant

Copy target creature spell you control, except it isn't legendary if the spell is legendary. (A copy of a creature spell becomes a token.)

joni1707x on Merfolks Counting

3 months ago

Rasaru Thank you for commenting and giving me some advice. I really appreciate this!

For my budget, I would like to include some cards that cost about 10€ each, in total I would say I can afford about 100€ +/-20 (the lesser the better).

After testing the Deck for my own, I agree that my manabase needs some fixes. I ordered some cards to upgrade this a bit (see below).

As I am trying to put as many counters on my board as possible, I feel, that the creatures that do not create tokens like Kumena's Speaker, could be excluded?

I got some pending deliveries. Here are the cards that I bought to upgrade it:

Lord of Atlantis, Master of the Pearl Trident, Snakeskin Veil, Realmwalker, Double Major, Forced Adaptation, Kiora, Master of the Depths, Deeproot Champion, Merfolk Skydiver, Primal Empathy, Vastwood Fortification  Flip, Oversimplify, Tangled Islet, Flooded Grove, Rejuvenating Springs, Utopia Sprawl, Dreamroot Cascade, Talisman of Curiosity, Simic Signet, Hadana's Climb  Flip, Barkchannel Pathway  Flip, Svyelun of Sea and Sky, Windswept Heath

I am not sure what to exclude and what to include.. (fyi I am playing for half a year, Thank you in advance!

Gidgetimer on Interaction between Araumi of the …

4 months ago

Encore creates tokens, what you are wanting to do with Mirkwood Bats works. I shouldn't have mentioned anything about when a token ETB isn't creating a token, but sometimes I worry about stuff outside the scope of questions.

If you cast a creature and then cast Double Major (as an example) on it, a copy of the creature spell is created on the stack. When the copy of the spell resolves it becomes a token permanent since there is no card representing the spell. However; for things that care about creating tokens, the token that the copy becomes was not "created".

Gidgetimer on Mutate, Mutate, Mutate, Mutate

5 months ago

When you loop Vadrok, Apex of Thunder via Double Major you only cast a creature with mutate once. The copies made with Double Major are created on the stack and are not cast. Having Pollywog Symbiote on the battlefield allows you to have the non-creature spell card in your hand or on top of your library in addition to already being in the graveyard. However; it does not allow you to loot through your deck.

G1ngr on Mutate, Mutate, Mutate, Mutate

5 months ago

Ooooohhhh also, thank you for explaining the mechanism of the Vadrok, Apex of Thunder Double Major interaction. I was completely lost on the order of operations in it! I do think my selections of instants are slightly silly given the mechanism involved in the combo, also wouldn't Pollywog Symbiote let you do this combo without needing to have played any instants earlier? If it's on the board while this combo happens it makes you draw + discard infinite cards?

G1ngr on Mutate, Mutate, Mutate, Mutate

5 months ago

Thank you guys for the suggestions! One note on the Migratory Greathorn combo, I was being a lil silly, and said that Double Major was important to it. It's not. You just need to play a Pollywog Symbiote turn 2 or three and have either a Migratory Greathorn and Double Major in hand, or just 2 Migratory Greathorn in hand. Obviously turn 3/4 isn't the fastest ramp ever, but in total it is 3 mutate triggers and any new mutate will add 2 more triggers on top of that, letting you functionally play 3 lands every turn. However this is a terrible combo with the way the deck is built right now. I will edit the quantity of basic lands and Migratory Greathorn in a lil while. I gotta go to school rn tho.

Gidgetimer on Mutate, Mutate, Mutate, Mutate

5 months ago

On the subject of Vadrok + Double major, it does give infinite mutate triggers (assuming you have a non-human creature on the battlefield). With any of the non-creature cards not named Double Major in the graveyard it gives infinite damage.

  1. Cast Vadrok, Apex of Thunder via mutate targeting the non-human.
  2. Cast Double Major targeting Vadrok
  3. Double Major resolves making a copy of the Vadrok spell targeting the non-human and going to the graveyard.
  4. Copy Vadrok resolves giving mutate triggers.
  5. Steps 2-4 ad infinitum. You now will get multiple copies of Vadrok's mutate trigger and can cast the other non-creature spell between double major casts.

The way each other non-creature spell gives infinite damage is:

The combo isn't really competitive Modern viable. But the tags say this is a casual deck, so it is a fun interaction.

wallisface on Mutate, Mutate, Mutate, Mutate

5 months ago

G1ngr if you're planning to Double Major Migratory Greathorn, you still need 5 mana to do so, which isn't really achievable for you until turn 4 at the earliest realistically (your odds of reaching either 3-lands and 2-rampers, or 4-lands and 1-ramper by this turn are still kinda low). That's already too slow. Keep in mind that if you cast Migratory Greathorn and Double Major it, it only gives you 3 lands - which is a lot, but also not great considering the large amount of effort and mana its costing you to have this effect.

The big issue with Double Major is that its just a lot of extra mana you need and your deck is already too highly mana costed to cast most of the cards normally. casting it on Auspicious starix involves needing 8 mana which isn't something I see you achieving realistically at all - and the payoff isn't particularly powerful considering the hoops you have to jump through to do it.

I have no idea how you're expecting to go infinite with Vadrok + Double major, and I also think maybe you're reading Double Major as doing something that it isn't. Can you give a fully-written example of what interactions you think are taking place here, because I'm getting the feeling you're doing some steps that shouldn't be happening.

G1ngr on Mutate, Mutate, Mutate, Mutate

5 months ago

Some minor counter-notes. Paradise Druid (less so than polly( and Pollywog Symbiote can easily combo with Migratory Greathorn and double major for fast(ish), 8 mana(over first 3/4 turns) for 6 or so lands, so you'd be up ~4 lands in most context. If I were to refine this deck I'd probably focus on that aspect, since this ideally would be a hard ramp deck into auspicious starixx and high cost other cards and ramp cards.

Auspicious starixx with double major is worth playing (play ur whole deck!)

also, while pretty complicated and kind of non-functional, Double Major with Vadrok, Apex of Thunder and a damaging spell, possibly Lightning Bolt or Lava Spike (probably lightning bold cuz cheap removal) can easily finish games or one shot depending on circumstance. The interaction here with the stack is pretty archaic, and the sources I drew from when building this were to say the least, unreliable (I was told you could infinite with Vadrok + Double major)

I do agree on moving focus away from my ramp sorc. tap lands, and tutors, since this deck could play early really well with some 1 cost instants and creatures. Also, draw is a problem for this deck as it is. If you don't pull a ramp combo or winning combo you basically just lose. I struggle to figure out how the heck draw and card management spells work, just as a being, so if you want to help more thank you.

Load more