Epochalyptik - The Highlander


General Information

Administrator

  • Forums
  • Q&A
  • Hubs
  • Card Database
  • Help Desk
  • Articles

Other

  • Resident EDH Expert
  • Resident Financial/Trade Expert
  • Pandora's Deckbox author
  • Community Discussion leader
  • TCGplayer.com Registered Seller - 100% positive feedback
  • Player of the Month - August 2011 & 2012




Articles






Bio






Administrative Roles






Trading






Player of the Month Reward Card






Notes

Please do not request deck help from me. Although I was at numerous times able to devote time and effort to generating feedback for specific decklists, I no longer have sufficient free time to undertake the project. I am available to answer general or even fairly specific single questions, particularly about Commander, but I can no longer evaluate and critique full decklists.

I only enable chat for specific reasons. If you have something that must be discussed privately, then enable chat with me and post a comment on my wall explaining that you have a concern that needs to remain confidential. If you just want to ask a general question about something, post it on my wall instead.

Profet93 says... #1

I see, once again, my sincerest apologies. I will keep that in mind. Thank you for your help

August 19, 2017 12:13 a.m.

Profet93 says... #2

I actually posted a similar question about that card in the Q&A section 1 year ago and they told me to put it in the commander section.

Link to year Ago post

I'm sorry if I violated any rules and will strive to do better.

August 18, 2017 9:57 p.m.

Fyr says... #3

Thanks for moving my post sir. sorry for enabling chat i just realised i can comment it this way

August 14, 2017 4 p.m.

thegigibeast says... #4

Sorry for the late answer!!! Sure I would like to help! I will have less time because school is starting soon for me, but I will try to give all the help I possibly can. Thanks for the offer and, it is accepted for sure!

August 11, 2017 9:05 p.m.

sonnet666 says... #5

A few weeks ago I would have said yes, but there's suddenly a lot going on in my life right now and I still have a lot of work to do on [List - Multiplayer] EDH Generals by Tier.

If your still looking for someone to upkeep the list in a month or so then let me know. I'll probably have more time on my hands and I'd be happy to help.

August 11, 2017 8:57 p.m.

maxon says... #6

Hey Epochalyptik. I've copied your deck to use as a basis for a Damia, Sage of Stone deck. I've always liked the idea of this general, but never had any good ideas for it. Hope you don't mind, and thanks for the inspiration.

August 6, 2017 9:43 p.m.

Entrei says... #8

So... remember the ixalan leak a while back? It was deemed to be not allowed to be discussed on t/o?

A large chunk of ixalan spoilers came through, and from cross referencing what was spoiled and the leak...the leak seems to be the real thing. Where does that put it in terms of TappedOut?

August 3, 2017 2:46 p.m.

JackDalgren says... #9

Do you have a "Pump" primer list?

July 29, 2017 7:41 a.m.

Yeah that's what I figured too but the paper prices for a lot of promos and the gurus has never updated as long as I've been on here. The gurus show prices of any garbage basic and the promos typically only show mtgo price and no paper price.

July 27, 2017 10:11 p.m.

Hey man, is there a way I or someone else can update prices for some cards? I've noticed a lot of promo versions (see Wheel of Fortune DCI version and Guru basics) don't actually show the right price.

July 27, 2017 7:37 p.m.

miracleHat says... #12

I was reading over the comments in the Wizards wants to screw with EDH some more forum, and was wondering if you write the same way to talk.

I ask because if the answer is yes, did you major in philosophy (and subsequently minor in statistics)? I also ask because it is the first time I ever saw words such as duplicitous and vilified in any online post (which makes me really happy inside).

July 27, 2017 4:58 p.m.

Please login to comment

Said on How do you ......

#1

The blue tags are "hubs." There shouldn't be any hubs that are also formats, though. Which formats did you see?

August 20, 2017 11 p.m.

Example of eternalize: Adorned Pouncer

No. Eternalize does not cause you to cast anything. Eternalize is an activated ability that exiles the card as part of its cost and creates a token upon resolution. As such, it never results in the card becoming a spell, so Rooftop Storm can't apply.

August 20, 2017 10:58 p.m.

Said on Civic Saber on ......

#3

No. Alesha, Who Smiles at Death has one color: red.

A card's color is determined by its mana cost plus any characteristic-defining abilities and color indicators.

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death has a red mana symbol in its cost and doesn't have any color indicators or color-setting CDAs. While it's color identity, which includes colored mana symbols in rules text, is black red white, its color is only red.

Also, note that Civic Saber gives +1/+0 per color, not +1/+1. Alesha, Who Smiles at Death will get +1/+0.

August 20, 2017 10:54 p.m.

Said on -1/-1 vs +1/+1...

#4

Yes. As a state-based action, if a permanent has N -1/-1 counters and N +1/+1 counters on it, those counters are removed until only one or zero types of counters remain.

August 20, 2017 6:36 p.m.

You're correct, although it's worth noting that the stack doesn't resolve all at once. Individual objects on the stack resolve, and there's a round of priority before and after each resolution. As the active player, you get priority first.

It's also worth noting that even if your opponent cast a spell or activated an ability to destroy your Key to the City, you could still activate its ability in response.

August 20, 2017 6:35 p.m.

Said on bzeisman...

#6

Hey, I noticed your recent question in the forums. We have a Rules Q&A forum that can help you get quick answers to questions like that. I moved your previous thread for you, but you can post directly in the Q&A forum next time you have a question about the game's rules or card interactions!

August 20, 2017 6:04 p.m.

Said on Jakethorn...

#7

Hey, I noticed your recent question in the forums. We have a Rules Q&A forum that can help you get quick answers to questions like that. I moved your previous thread for you, but you can post directly in the Q&A forum next time you have a question about the game's rules or card interactions!

August 20, 2017 9:47 a.m.

Said on Dr_Moosh...

#8

Hey, I noticed your recent question in the forums. We have a Rules Q&A forum that can help you get quick answers to questions like that. I moved your previous thread for you, but you can post directly in the Q&A forum next time you have a question about the game's rules or card interactions!

August 20, 2017 9:43 a.m.

Said on Looking for a ......

#9

Guile comes to mind.

August 19, 2017 4:06 p.m.

Good catch. I don't know why targeting completely slipped my mind.

August 19, 2017 11:04 a.m.

This thread was moved to a more appropriate forum (auto-generated comment)

August 19, 2017 9:19 a.m.

Said on imortal servitude...

#12

In the future, please link all cards in your question. It makes it much easier for us to understand what's going on if we can see the cards involved. You can link cards by using double square brackets:

[[Island]] 
Island

Immortal Servitude

If you declare X=0 (and pay the colored portion of Immortal Servitude's mana cost), you'll return all creatures with CMC 0.

August 19, 2017 1:02 a.m.

Said on Profet93...

#13

That comment was referring to the last part of your previous thread, which asks about strategies or builds for Word of Command rather than about the rules.

August 18, 2017 10:05 p.m.

Said on Profet93...

#14

Hey, I noticed your recent question in the forums. We have a Rules Q&A forum that can help you get quick answers to questions like that. I moved your previous thread for you, but you can post directly in the Q&A forum next time you have a question about the game's rules or card interactions!

August 18, 2017 9:28 p.m.

Said on Can I make ......

#15

You can still activate the ability, but it won't do anything at that point. Once a creature has been blocked, it remains blocked until the end of combat. It'll still be blocked, even if it gains evasion or if you remove the blocker.

August 18, 2017 1:11 p.m.

You're correct on both counts.

Because Quarantine Field enters with counters on it, cards that double counters on enchantments will apply. If you declare X=5 (costs are based on the value you declare for X, not the other way around), those 5 counters will be doubled to 10 as Quarantine Field enters the battlefield.

Strionic Resonator can be used to copy the exile trigger (note that the first ability, which puts counters on Quarantine Field is a static ability and therefore can't be copied) and exile another set of permanents.

Note also that the second ability checks the number of counters on Quarantine Field as the ability resolves, meaning you can use activated abilities and spells in response to the ETB trigger to modify the number of counters on Quarantine Field and therefore the number of permanents you exile.

August 18, 2017 1:09 p.m.

Flavor text is the italicized text at the bottom of the card. Text in parentheses is reminder text, which helps to clarify how certain effects work.

Buyback's rules are:

702.26a Buyback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities that function while the spell is on the stack. "Buyback [cost]" means "You may pay an additional [cost] as you cast this spell" and "If the buyback cost was paid, put this spell into its owner's hand instead of into that player's graveyard as it resolves." Paying a spell's buyback cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2fh.

This makes it clear that you only put the card into your hand if the spell resolves; it's a replacement effect that modifies where the spell goes as it finishes resolving. If the spell is countered, none of its effects happen and it just goes to your yard.

August 18, 2017 1 p.m.

Said on Almond1991...

#18

Hey, I noticed your recent question in the forums. We have a Rules Q&A forum that can help you get quick answers to questions like that. I moved your previous thread for you, but you can post directly in the Q&A forum next time you have a question about the game's rules or card interactions!

August 18, 2017 10:32 a.m.

Correct. You can use cipher's reminder text to help you: you exile Hidden Strings encoded on a creature you control, and you copy the encoded card when the creature deals damage. The spell with cipher is what's being encoded.

August 17, 2017 10:42 p.m.

Cost reductions apply to whatever cost you would pay to cast a spell, whether it's the mana cost or an alternate cost.

The formula for determining the payable cost of a spell is:
Cost = [mana cost OR alternate cost] + [additional costs AND cost increases] - [cost reductions]

August 17, 2017 9:54 p.m.

Followers

Loco-MotiveyeaGOArtemis_SwiftScarrFisHDismayBitWizardtimmyb18jcbattsM1keeNoviceMagiciandavidmasseeDeco_ybellator_sine_metuSephiroth1121KillTheIslandUserDeadlyhelloZifierWonderwill627symphoxjbsnvHeroFallenVillainArucardVampireArmyDekesterGervazquezDAFFY-DOOMmafteechrRiskmephisto_phelesDisfigurevoltaicclockrob_shifflettXunfor6iv3nXTheGamerIczerBelphegorgraftPsilosXPallyy6099poetryWumpusRXmarvinrebongragingpikeysRazor1194ThinkingAroundBoxesMegalomaniawayngchungharrison5371Balthasart3hSn0wm4nbluecollarman1tomuDeathsbaronNitsujinLemonDogPartyGoatt321livewireHjaltrohirceruleandayze33ChiefBelltlk_lone_knightdreamlikeamazechubthrasherCyrrusnyukon1JakeHarlowNixin72Its_Johnny_BravoSaintHipsterwikidpanda-the-bossLhurgyofPrecursorFAMOUSWATERMELONsnoticecanteenboy94turturBlackshadow415Bellock86FuneralofGodswalwellalexcrusifictonAshenor42jamesfiekkinggefForlornKULiiATheWanderingWizardSmith_and_TonicAguaTonificadaOKing91ATREYUtykusuriurizerkerosChrisKrowBiggsUnderbeltheavensfall3njcris25squadcarxmarZusaCRNarejEDsnowman2000musefreak14xaldin27bionicscullProfet93borayuceJosiahboytanong21ChamthebucketDou32ZerafiallBossLeisersabrepaisanoscaryufengMortisAngelusunsoughtzachiiLLuSiiiONzTimmWith2MsEnder666666merrowManianarutozachpermhole96OhthenoisesScytecShetasticSparda1127Zeke_0Jayman66QueimaturkinaaVmanDkknightbabos86DankeyEric1827Armored_AnthraxEmrakoolsharkhunter66undead2451T_RadcliffolowleyeGlaspoMonsterFinder221Regiment47PappavishnargSniperFrogelectric012mistergreen527FreedomWaffleRaging_SquiggleTHEROS_CHAMPIONanooshapaloozaLikeMikeTylerJohnsSydusPoptartz95Runngundominick4537kevjones71484WainwrightIgorKlownMartialArtDreadwhite509Dr_JayGoblinBushwackersaldagmacannuncirithAsteriskReaperMirranTitanyo_ninjaMisterTweetumsInnerFlameLaemonSwaggyMcSwagglepantschiccocesenathedoldiArtifactcraftmasterArrzyDread1187NinjaBunny01SyinideTJMadManChrisboxvoidkingn0vAcAtHarbingerJKspilacusmailsbraxtbmxExzlietejoodstryrRalZerekvctrhappyboyzNoPantsParadeGoldbloodedsfpsyopsauceKhanyevelademSwagridlazarusdraigonbeforecombatdamageLiquidKidBrimstoneWovenNebularogueknight0881Skunk_ApetoastymcslugnuggetDakkon4444NullBRMiniDragonViaggroAngelousDravenPlowerhouseGoldGhost012alexsmith21Lebrongoliath169RandomdeathxXCAETUSXxmistoryForPsionicsTransMarxzeldazachmiguel.antaoScionLockeKameroSmokTTacticsninja16782PookersGriffinRiderdethjakalaspooner2OverlandsirbarJexInfiniteJdvanliewsuperman101RedZebradrowninja123flinxDreno33CableguysirtrojanIbelinmatthew352WarbringerInitialDanOverlord844FancyTuesdaybtmankingbjfrtswymTheAlexGnaneureka7ALXMTG_PlayeronthestackShamaLamaDingDongDiJaxxBabypanth3rCaptainWandererDollfaceUSNVoxninjazombieGriimsev968RickyHoeppnerGigglestomphicksma88Hallowed_TitantrauknahameuserKyrsTdog7590NecroCyanideJedi117Moomey101AyuretNurmArachnarchistOpifexGarthaLeBleuGhosthunter39destined2destroyDriftWood96TDoubleELVL_666KcinGoldenNovagab80Xzallionfluvirus101burning_saintangelsanddragonsIHeartSlothsPTsmittyKarnagepoupy9Panda213SorinMarkov13JGreen13leviathan919JokernaughtthepaleskakidMetaphysicalxProdigySlug2211maiden77ZoolbarBlaze6181SarephandrelmtTrehiriSinisterkidemaskMunixConphasdmbb1239EternalBrewmasterThisIsBullshit

Decks

Dominus - Dreamcrusher Edition

Commander / EDH Epochalyptik

SCORE: 1039 | 2918 COMMENTS | 276795 VIEWS | IN 492 FOLDERS

List of EDH Staples and Power Cards

Commander / EDH* Epochalyptik

SCORE: 590 | 594 COMMENTS | 522292 VIEWS | IN 609 FOLDERS

List of Budget EDH Staples and Power Cards

Commander / EDH* Epochalyptik

SCORE: 200 | 129 COMMENTS | 90588 VIEWS | IN 220 FOLDERS

0% Basic

Commander / EDH Epochalyptik

SCORE: 176 | 140 COMMENTS | 14297 VIEWS | IN 37 FOLDERS

Finished Decks 10
Prototype Decks 8
Drafts 4
Playing since Scars of Mirrodin
Points 2814
Avg. deck rating 244.00
T/O Rank 41
Helper Rank 187
Favorite formats Commander / EDH
Good Card Suggestions 804
Cards Added/Fixed 1
Last activity 5 hours
Joined 6 years